It's All About That Deck

in #life3 years ago

1627242586612.jpg

In what might be the most boring post I have ever done I must announce. I finally finished the Deck I was building.

As the last screw turned in its hole, I fell back on my haunches and called the Good Lady to admire the magnificence of my wood.

OH MY GOD. IT'S AMAZING!!

She had yelled, hands clasped to her cheeks like a Tokyo housewife eating a hotdog.

I reclined back, my De-Walt swaying in my hand.

Come on out. Touch it.

I had said, nodding my head to the side like Tom Selleck riding a bicycle up a hill.

You know, there was a point where I thought we would have to pay a man to do it.

The Good Lady tippy-toed back and forth like a ballerina on the deck, twirling occasionally and giggling.

I looked at her her and raised my De-Walt, pressing the trigger a couple of times to make it menacingly whirr.

Sweetcheeks. The day I let you pay a man to fiddle with my wood will be the last day either of us draws breath.

She laughed long and hard. I joined in and then we tumbled to the smooth wooden deck so artfully erected by my hands and made sweet love.

Alright. That last bit didn't happen apart from the laughing.

Here are some pics instead. I don't have the strength to type!

20210725_160842.jpg

20210725_161205.jpg

20210725_160930.jpg

And finally. The view from my stoop. As they say in the deep South.

20210725_193637.jpg

I'm off for a beer. Cheers!!

Sort:  

Wow, you even bought the fancy wood.

I went full on fancy!! Fancy cakes are looking at me in awe wondering how they can top that!

Neighbor's deck must make him feel inadequate now.

Only because he realises that's not a deck

I will swim in his tears

If I didn't see pictures, I'd have assumed we were about another wood...lol

I am awfully glad I put them in!! ;0)

Well, let's hope this De-Walted wooden venture still will have left some shitcoins available in your wallet after investing so much time & sweat fiddling with alien wood & nails risking your fingers at each stoop. Hahahaha

Cheers! Enjoy those beers!!

You know, it was ridiculously expensive for the wood!! I even got a discount through my bro and was horrified at the price after the discount.

Wood, I tells ya. It's the next bitcoin!!! Cheers dude!! :0D

Wood, I tells ya. It's the next bitcoin!!!

IKEA.jpg

Shedloads of it!¡!!!

So you woke up with wood. :-)

Congratulations mate! Now that is one fine stoop you've build there. Enjoy your beer, cheers!

Posted using Dapplr

Cheers mate. I am watching the sun go down with a beer in hand. Woot woot!!!

To the deck! 🍻

1627245531623-01.jpeg

Hurrah!!!! You are all sophisticated with a glass and I am supping from a can like a wood-sore man!!

20210725_214259.jpg

Cheers!!

Olah Señor Boom esta cerveza de Espanol! (Lidl?) Ole!

You're drinking yer ale like a real carpenter. While I have no wood to work with 😅, I went all hoity toity. Having a Leffe Tripel that way is quite nice though.

Now joined by some Greek flatbread to eat.

To life!

Posted using Dapplr

I like a bit of Spanish in me!! Beer of course!! It's quite cheap in the local supermarket, not our Lidl, they actually have fancier beers.

I wholeheartedly agree. To life!! Engage!!! :0D

That is a beautiful looking deck!!!!

Everything about it is awesome. The fact that it's the full width, the planter boxes, and the skirt in the front so you don't have to see the bodies underneath.

Pat yourself on the back, then ask one of the little one's to get you another beer. You've earned it.

Remember to invite the neighbour over for a couple pints of the good stuff!!!!

I am very happy with the final look although I must confess the planter boxes were purchased prior to the deck being a thing! I have made another couple though with old odds and ends from the decking boards. Will have to get a pic

He has been invited and is proud of his share. lol. Couldnt have done it without them doing the base!

But please .... no pics of the bodies hidden underneath. Save that for the forensic team.

Haha, no bodies defo.

That's why the side boats are on, to stop foxes getting in. Otherwise it works be bodies galore!! :0D

We have a lot of skunks in my neighbourhood. So, it either has to be sealed up as tight as a tadpoles ass ... or you have to leave it wide open (so they only visit, then leave). With three dogs, a frequent visit from a skunk would be upsetting.

Skunks! Yikes! I am glad we just have foxes, although I have been told that if they set up home under there it can smell a bit. Its pretty secure. Will just have to keep an eye on it and make sure they don't dig their way in somehow!

Looks great :D Enjoy the deck and don't forget to invite the fence jumping billion year old neighbour over for a beer too ;D

He is coming tonight!! Part night was the weep with exhaustion and delight part. Tonight the deck is being christened!! :0D

Awesome! Have a good deck warming 😝

Now you need to protect it!

Next year, next year I can ruin it with some oil!

Deck looks awesome.. when are you starting the pergola.. 🍺🍻

Haha, next year!! It I might just buy one of those big ass umbrellas! :0D

Nice job! I wish hubby was handy like this.

So, I've always wondered, what's underneath the deck (aside from some pesky, 'missing' bodies)?

He is probably as handy as me. My neighbor did most of the underlying frame and I took 5 weeks to do the boards on top. But it's done, hurrah!!

Well, it's not utter shite. Kudos.

I am off exactly the same opinion! ;0)

One word.

Impressive!

Also you have a very nice backyard out there.

My backyard is awesome. Which kind of makes up for my house being a bit shit! But when I got it, it was all about that backyard! :0D

Wow that is some good looking wood there. Just remember if it stays hard for more than 4 hours you might have a problem.

Shengus!! It's been quite some time now.

Oh well, at least I get to say what I have always wanted to say...

Houston, we have a problem!

This is Denver. Houston is on fire and will no longer be available for problem solving. Recommend contacting Miami. Over.

Miami Miami... 104 repeat, I have a 104!!!

This is Miami. Tsunami incoming and we will be underwater soon. Recommend contacting New York. Over.

New York... New York...

Hang on, am I Sinatra?

That’s an awesome looking deck man! I’m jealous! I’m itching to build things like this. My wife isn’t the most enthusiastic about me doing work like this on my own but screw that as a man we can do it! Ain’t no sissies.

The texture looks like shiplap but I didn’t think they made it for decking. Is it pressure treated?

Cheers man!!Yeah, pressure treated! It's that ridgey stuff if that is what shiplap is!

It was a cow to build. But my neighbours helped with the posts and the concreting. After that it was much easier.

A very cool decking nicely done love the wood patterns 👍

Cheers!! I am quite pleased with it!

Good job done 👍

whoa dude that looks awesome. Is your next door neighbor super-jealous and is now going to build one as well? It looks like your house is attached to theirs so they probably have to build one now :)

Cheers mate!!!

Lol. They might feel the need, that is half why I went for the high partition between us! :0D

Lol. They might feel the need, that is half why I went for the real partition between us! :0D

Lol. They might feel the need, that is half why I went for the high partition between us! :0D

I am so late for the deck party!!! Congratulations! You did it!! I must say that I love the view from the stoop! It makes the expanse of your lawn look even better than it already does.

Heart On A Course (L).png

I hear that you have been out there partying with the neighbors. Lucky you. Seems the CDC wants us to wear masks again as the variant is surging here, I can't believe that will not go away quietly.

Enjoy your deck and thanks for the pictures. It looks awesome!

We are almost mask free!! Of course the case numbers to heights never seen before so soon we will no doubt be locked right back down! Gaar!

Its lovely. Now I have been dragged out to but decent furniture for it. Boo

We are mask free and now it's back on. Mine never came off. It's not gone. Just waiting in the wings. I'm so tired of this and cancelled another cruise and a vacation to Spain. Boohoo! 😭

Le sigh.

Oh, no!!! I hope you found some! That can be a weeklong project! How did it do?

Hi @meesterboom ,we made love sweetly haaaaaaaaaa, I imagine, you can't even write haaaaaaaaa, your work is very good and you saved money and above all you looked like a prince in the eyes of your good lady, I too will drink a beer
Rest and happy start to the week :)

Cheers mate! It was a very happy ending! :0D