Sort:  

Oh yeah, you need those for a chainsaw! It is the simple things always. I'm assuming said chainsaw was used in cutting trees, not doing large sculptures.

That was exactly what they were! Kevlar lined rigger boots which could withstand a good chainsawing. I loved them things!

Haha, yes, those are beauties, nothing beats work boots like that. Even with them, I'd never trust myself with a chainsaw, the one tool I won't touch. 😂

Funnily enough, I am with you 100% on that. I nearly chopped into my leg with an enthusiastic hedge trimmer and have had enough close shaves with that yo not fancy having a close shave with anything that could actually remove a limb!

That's the only tool that's given me pause. The thought of missing limbs did it. I admired the way my father made it look so easy, but at the same time he was long skilled with that being a woodsman. Hedge trimmers I've left to others, although I've tried them out a bit. All those teeth and I'm no Edward Scissorhands!

I have a corded one and have cut through the cable three times. Needless to say, I have gotten a bit more careful now. You just have to be with whirly bladed madness!

The cord, three times, well, you know what? That's something easy enough to do. Were there sparks? I'm a bit jumpy regarding electricity (some stories there). Yes, one must be paying attention. Seems the more dangerous it is, the more I pay attention. Ordinary everyday things are what take me down (broken ankle, ripped ligaments requiring surgery from walking on the street and turning a corner too fast at the wrong angle).

I apologize for the delay in replying. When I do that, it's because real life things require my attention. I won't get into that since it's thoroughly unpleasant business (when isn't there some of that for all of us?).

I do have to tell you, as I was walking buy a house, I saw something special the other day that reminded me of you. Most everyone here puts a great deal of effort into their small gardens, so it's quite enjoyable to appreciate this on a walk. So there was this guy, voraciously hacking away like a madman and I wondered, what the heck requires such physical effort to do battle with in terms of greenery. All on one side of the walk to the front of his house, was a very small micro forest of bamboo! I've never seen someone with that here, so I thought it must be similar to what you described having to deal with. It was so interesting to see. I didn't know it would grow outside in the ground like that and survive.