Severed Hand Beer!

in #life4 years ago (edited)

1586006926-picsay_20200425160250624.jpg

It's day gabbillion and tenteen of Lockdown.

I'm bored. I'm over it. It's shit. It's not even fun teasing folk at the supermarket by coughing like an asthmatic Grampa winding up the purple monkey anymore.

Fortunately, even in the midst of this drab locked down existence, there is still beer!

Although, if you read yesterday's post you will know that I am not entirely certain that tonight will score as a good beer.

It's a frightful looking thing I have to drink, fruity and sour and aged in bouron barrels.. I can't quite wrap my head around the barrel-aging of a fruity number.

Would I get the same equivalent by stirring some whisky into a cup of jam?

That, incidentally is most definitely not a euphemism for me dipping my Scottish Lightsaber into the Good Lady's dreich dark depths when the sharks are circling.

Make of that what you will!

So, what is this fetid skank-ho of a beer?

It is Viola - a sour ale aged in bourbon barrels for 14 months. Which of course sounds flipping lovely, until you read further and see the bit about cherries and blackcurrants being added after blending.

I mean, one or the other but both?

Yurgh.

I kinda feel like that time my mate and me drank raw eggs and chillies whizzed up in a blender with milk.

I shan't describe the aftermath in great detail.

To say we had mouths like a randy leper's vagina's after it would be a dramatic understatement.

However, once more, I digress.

Let's get to that tasting!

139117-picsay_20200201104054020_20200208161309907_20200404144526360_20200411101038170_20200425160336441_20200425192014723.jpg

I think it is called Vild Viola or Viola Vild. The bottle has an alarming design which gives little away. I am scared to look and see if it is still in date.

Some things are best not known.

There is nothing I can say that I have not already said so let us shake our bacon!

Hot fucking donkeys. It's got a cork!?

20200425_193243.jpg

This bodes ill. What kind of beer has a cap and then underneath that a cork!?

Oh noes. I feel tense.

20200425_193421.jpg

I am not sure I like what I see. It is a reddish-purple with a slight fizz. It looks like lightly carbonated red wine.

Or plum juice. And I don't mean Scottish plums which tend to mean testicles.

It is a bit whiffy.

Still, the sun is still out. It might suit the day.

Here goes!

Good lord, it's like whisky wine with a dash of vinegar. I feel my eyeballs puckering inside my head. It is a strange sensation, Like licking the skin of a mackerel plucked straight from the sea.

My mouth feels tainted with the tang of balls and sorrow. It's fucking awful. It tastes like old fruit picked up from a barbers floor and muddled under dirty feet.

0/10 booms!!!

0/10 booms!!!

Boak. I feel sullied. Like that time I stayed in a friend's house overnight when I was a teenager and they put me up in his sister's room who was a nun and I ended up being forced by myself to wear one of her habits and chastise myself.

Life can be a strange thing.

Still, fuck it. I have many other normal beers. I'm off to get lockdown humped on the beer.

20200425_193524.jpg

Cheers everyone, have a good weekend and a safe lockdown!

Sort:  

I went to see a doctor today ,
he offered me a beer , witch was a real good one , as the doctor comes from Germany , and the Germans know good beer , so we sat down in his backyard had a chat while enjoying the views on the near sea and mountains .
It was the best cure a doctor ever gave me .

One day ill visit my neighbor again ;-)

That's my kind of doctoring!! ;0)

I do love an outside beer with a view

Your face that first instant the taste hit you! Gold man.

Faith was watching the video at the same time I was...She goes, yeah, and he keeps drinking! Lol.

At least you have the ability to wash the taste away with a real beer. I hope you managed to wash the taste of being mouth-fucked by Viola away.

Hahaha!! I do keep going. I worry that I am not giving them a fair go is I just try once!

I think I over washed the taste of mouth-fucked by Viola. I feel very tender!!

Haha, a bit dusty this morning are we? Lol.

Well, you might be feeling bad, but I wonder if that poor plant you poured the Viola onto is even alive?

Feck, I hope so. The good lady world be miffed if I go around killing the fauna!!!

It's her fault though...For selecting the Viola off the shelf. Probably don't tell her I said that...Scottish/Celtic women have a reputation for ferocious behaviour, as the Romans found out.

etain.jpg

Mrs Boom?

Mrs Boom is a fine lady but if that was her I might be even happier than I am! ;O)

Hmm, yep I get it...That's Olga Kurylenko...Not Scottish or Australian...But 100% legit.

Sour ales are the best! This sounds like something I wish I could get right now. We have a good sour ale house that does similar types of beers. They use corks because a lot of people age their beers. It's a better closure method vs. a cap.

Is that why! Aahhh!

I have liked sours in the past but it's a 50/50 thing I find. This was one sharp and sour beastie!!

I’m into the blow your face off sours. A lot of breweries are doing these kettle sours that taste more like a sweet tart than a true sour. I’m also a fan of BBA sours because it adds more earthy notes to the flavor profile.

I agree! I have had sours that pull your cheeks in so far your are practically inside out but not the slightly sickly sweet ones. I live barrel aging of anything normally. There wasn't even a hint in this one!

That’s actually pretty crazy becuSe sours always seem to pickup that barrel flavor pretty easily. I had a tequila ages sour a while back and good lord was it tequila barrel forward.

I remember the tequila one!

I was surprised too. 18 months I think they claimed

I’m glad some people read my stuff! Wow at 18 months of would of expected more. Now I’m wondering if I should be disappointed or impressed.

Lol. 0/10 is a record even by your some what kind/lenient standards. I was watching my brother in law play beer pong with his mates the other day lock down style over the internet. I would seriously cheat so they would not want to play with me. Have a good one and don't rush off to work on Monday.

Ain't back till Tuesday, yeehaw!!

It was a new low. I don't think there have been many with zero. Maybe only one.

I have seen those games being played, I would probably cheat like feck too. Lol. Have a good one yourself mate!

So what's being sampled next weekend? Diesel?

Hehe, in Glasgow we call cheap Cider and blackcurrant diesel!

It's all the rage with the students. Could take a trip down memory lane!

In Canada it's fuel and I can send you some to try if you want.

Fuel, eh? It's it negatively priced? ;0D

Negatively priced? Even better!

You can trade your piss for it.

I knew that yellow gold would come in handy for something!

Bought me a new urinal mining rig!

Hello dear friend @meesterboom.
I admire the sense of humor that we possess to carry these difficult days, to be honest, it sounds fun to go out to cough in people's faces, especially those who want to collect what they owe them.
Hoo Damn beer, I think this is one of the worst of your tastings.
I really appreciate the sense of humor that you put into your post
I wish you a wonderful weekend
salut

Hola @jlufer! Qué Tal!!

I enjoyed this one even though it was rubbish. Nice to see you about, I hope you are well?

Thank you very much for asking, now I am a little better, I am trying to catch the rhythm, but this time with more calm, I do not want to go through the same again.
I wish you a happy rest dear friend

Hahahahhs I guess some things are as advertised. Did you choke down the whole thing or ditch it quick? I hope your little one who chose it sees your reaction vid

Ditched. Flung away! It was horrible man. Like horse's feet?!!!

Came let her see it for all the swearing, lol!

Sometimes the descriptions you offer give me reason to wonder if you've had these various things in your mouth at some point or another....horses feet indeed 😅

A vivid imagination!!

My mouth is a prim little thing. Always well behaved! :0D

You have indeed one of the most vivid imaginations on planet earth!

That to me is a fine compliment!!

Hahaha. vlog i like it :) makes me smile

I like to mix it up :0)

Oh noes! Another shocker!

These beers during lockdown have been a bit hit and miss haven't they!?

A cap and a cork - were they trying to protect punters from what was inside?

To the plants it goes, and to the fridge you go - I shall join you :D

Join me!! This bad beer menace must be fought!

This was particularly bad. I can't believe it was so mine. I am on the brewdog now!!

I need to get to a beer shop in person and see what is to be seen!!

Brewdog's are a winner, I have some Shipyard IPA's to demolish - 3 for a fiver not too shoddy.

Sad for these small businesses right now, I bet beerman was doing alright prior to coronavirus - will he even be able to re-open ? :(

They are a good beer the brewdog. I like a dependable brew.

It's a working thing for small business owners. I mean how long can they go without any earnings.

I hope he is alright, he is a good guy. Maybe he is not gonna great it looks a long holiday!

Deffo good to have solid fallback options.

I hope he's alright too, for your sake too!

I fell back too hard. I am as rough as old boots!!!

Cheers for the tip!! So cool! Will have to try that out!

My first try, worked a treat :D

Not even a score rating.., a 0/10 maybe? A cork in a beer... that's a first.
I can see you are WFH, lost the razor!

Oh my god man! You're right! It was so bad I didn't score it! Zero score incoming!!!

Yup. The razor is on strike till I can't stand it no more or everything returns to normal!! :0D

Eldest is supposed to be in bed but decided to watch with me and it's the first time in a while I've watched one of your beer drinking things and WHY DID YOU KEEP DRINKING IT we were laughing at your face from the first sip XD

Eldest says it was a pretty amazing reaction XD

I've probably asked you this before but do you have a plant in the garden you're trying to kill or are they all drunk?

Maybe all the plants are drunk!! It never seems to harm any of them although sometimes I get the fear that the alcohol will!!!

I have to keep trying just to make sure I've got it right!! :0D

Maybe it will make their sap alcoholic for whatever next eats them XD

That will learn those alien bunnies that come and eat my greens!!

This was soooo worth the wait haahaha

Lol. I'm glad you enjoyed!!! Yuk, it was bad!

Anyone still drinking amazing beer these days is to be envied :D I miss the fruity feel of a great IPA!!

Me too. I am going to get some half decent shit online this week!

Lol boomy baby, see you doing alright on hive, thought I would give it try also.

Shepzy!! Hello!! Glad you came over, this is where it's happening!

Cheers mucker, I gave up on steemit months ago, gave the account to my daughter, eldest one, she gave up on it day 1. Seems a much better vibe on here, like it so far.

Aye, it's more relaxed for sure. Defo a bit less skullduggery I think. You made the right choice!

For a second I read the headline "Second Hand Beer". :)

Yikes! That's one I would not be wanting to try!!! 🤣🤣

Who would, although some people say that's what most mass marketed beers are. :)

I would agree with that. Maybe that's how they make it! Hehe

What do you have against the Good Lady's flower bed?

I shall likely drink a Guinness Extra Stout this evening. Quite satisfactory.

I like a Guinness!

That's my flower bed!! :0D

My mistake. Pour away!

Heheheh! :OD