You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The pain of insect stings - Die Schmerzen von Insektenstichen

in #life6 years ago

Very interesting. I love Justin O. Schmidt's description of the pain. I know it was an ex[experiment, so he probably was bitten or stung in the same area. But, thinking back to when I have been stung, it occurred to me that certain areas of the body are more sensitive to pain. The most painful sting I ever received was to the roof of my mouth.

There was a bee in my Pepsi, when I took a sip. The bee wasn't happy and displayed her displeasure by stinging the roof of my mouth.

Sort:  

Ouch! I've only ever been stung by a honey bee (and it was entirely my own fault), and I've never been stung by a wasp. I'm guessing you aren't allergic? Otherwise that could have been very serious.

I'm not sure exactly which insect he uses - I think it might be the honey bee - but Schmidt does actually write about testing different parts of the body and which is the most painful location...I'm pretty sure the mouth was high up in that list.

Yes, thankfully, I am not allergic.