This series of stories will be titled 'I'm surprised I turned out as well as I did, given my childhood ...' 43

in #life7 years ago

We had our kids at a relatively young age – I was just 24 when we had Dani and just 27 when we had Haydn.

Dani adored her little baby brother even though some of the attention was diverted to him.

We had to grow up and fast. Now that was a culture-shock!

I was really poorly when I gave birth to Dani. I had a bad time of it (birth is never a pleasant time of course). I had to stay in hospital for six days and was only allowed out when the hospital authorities were convinced and persuaded that I had care 24/7 when I did go home.

I’d had a massive black-out, never-to-be-remembered, panic attack just after we’d got to the ward after her birth and I think they were more concerned that I’d have another one than anything else.

I came home to… my Easter Egg missing, gone, vanished – eaten! (I’ve never forgiven him for that, he doesn’t even LIKE dark chocolate!)

Dani grew, as kids tend to, and we decided to take another go on the ‘baby-go-round’.

You remember that Dani was born on a number of my relations’ birthday?

Well… Haydn was due on or around my grandmother’s birthday (yeah… I could see that conversation… “Are you going to name the baby after me?” “Grandma, calling my baby boy ‘Irene’…” well, you know.)

Back into the dim and distant past, we go.

Trev (@s0u1) had an uncle that committed suicide. The uncle threw himself into the reservoir behind their home. He died exactly two years to the day that Trev was born. On Burns’ Night – that’s going to have to be a celebration sometime soon - @meesterboom, are you up for that?

The new baby’s birth was close to both my grandma’s birthday and Trev’s. Everyone was laying bets on when the baby was going to be born – on whose birthday would he/she land.

My grandmother’s birthday came and went. I’m pretty sure she was a little put-out because she probably thinks I did that on purpose.

Trev worked all-hours, especially coming up to the birth because again, he was going to take three weeks off – there was no paternity leave, he’d had to save up his holidays.

So, on the very morning that he had a chance of a lie-in, on his actual birthday, guess who decided to make an appearance?

My brother and his wife had called ‘round to see us the previous evening and everyone became really worried. We watched a film – something with Bruce Willis… dating or something. It was hilarious! Every time I laughed, the baby took a kick… we thought about stopping the film, but what the hell.

So I couldn’t get to sleep. I couldn’t get comfortable and I had heart-burn (a sign that the baby has lots of hair… so they say) and indigestion. I don’t think I’d had anything to eat… so that was a sign if ever there was one!

At around 3am I managed to find that comfortable-spot and fall asleep.

4am my waters broke.

Haydn arrived around 7 hours later. I have to say, that’s a LOT better than Dani’s 22 hours of labour.

His birth went a lot better than Dani’s and I could come home a couple of days after. I had a repeat of the terrifying panic-attack I’d had just after Dani’s birth (that’s a story all on its own) but apart from that, making sure the contraception was in place (two bricks-job), I was good to go.

Dani was a good little girl and we had few issues…

She ruined the wallpaper at the top of the stairs (again, another story) and she decided to befriend a strange man (I never saw him, he was invisible) but all-in-all, super-peachy.

Until the day we couldn’t find her anywhere.

She’d been playing quietly. I was taking care of Haydn. She couldn’t get out of the house, neither to the front nor the back, so she was safe, but I could NOT find her.

Upstairs, downstairs, nowhere to be found. I didn’t know if she was upset with me or if she was playing hide and seek – or even if that invisible friend had come and persuaded her to go with him…

The house was child-safe at that time. Cupboards locked, fire-guard etc and she couldn’t open the door to go out to the dogs (not that anything would have happened, they adored her).

Panic-mode!

I looked in her bedroom again. Have you noticed, we look in all the same places just to see if the thing we’re looking for magically reappears?

She wasn’t playing there… but she had moved Haydn’s old Moses basket, she used it to play with her dolls and teddies.

She’d taken it out and put a sheet and blankets in it for her teddy to sleep on.

There she is.

My kids – wonderful experiences, but heart-stopping moments!

Sort:  

@Michelle.gent truly birth is never a pleasant time for women's I feel your most empowering moment from delivery was when you saw your daughter's face for the very first time. Knowing that you grew this actual person inside of your body and seeing her on the outside, living and breathing, really drove home how amazing your body is.

I know you may feel tired for the first few days. Even just walking and moving about can seem like hard work.

And the last your daughter's is so much cute like you. As always spectular story!

Big thumbs up!

I used to communicate with my babies before they were born. Stroking the skin of my belly and touching a limb, dripping water onto my skin while in the bath was also fascinating. Dani loved water (well, that's my translation of her movement when she felt the droplets).

It took me more than 6 weeks to be able to walk out of the house.

Yes, she's worth it and I went through it all again less than three years later ;)

You were pretty in your childhood as you are now @michelle.gent.

That's my daughter. I don't have any pictures from my childhood - yet another story... ;)

She is very cute and just like you .Super peachy Dani .

I believe Dani deserves a whole story of her own, starting with the invisible man to the basketful of sleeping teddies.

Hahaha! Oh she does!

The best thing is... she'll probably get them too... the memories I have just keep expanding - each one spurs another and another.

Nothing else can produce the joy or broken heart that motherhood allows. I couldn't imagine going through life without feeling that spectrum of emotion. There are wonderful days when I feel my cup runneth over. There are days that I want to run away and question every decision I have ever made. Feeling it all, good or bad, gives my life purpose. Motherhood is walking around with all of your nerve endings raw and exposed. It is the most extreme measure of being alive.

U5dtRHCiYbKc1Xt9Yec4aqRtJWvybL2_1680x8400.jpg

damnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn cute @michelle.gent.

Yes, she's definitely cute... in her Maid Marian dress I made for her :)

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @blocktrades valued at 81.25 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

Funny how, now, 24 and 27 are considered early to have children. Just one generation earlier, my mum was married at not quite 19, and had me before she was 20. And earlier generations might have thought she dragged her heels a bit!

My nieces and nephews - two of them have had children quite young (and unexpectedly), but the four oldest at 31, 26, 26 and 25 are not even thinking about children yet.

My mother was 22. My father had just turned 21 and he used to tell me about how he had all baby stuff for his 21st birthday! :D

What we mothers go through to have children...but I wouldn't trade it for all the tea in China. They truly are a blessing. And that's why have I grey hair. I have earned each and everyone!

Haha! Mine is going a bit 'faded' around the edges too!