You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Content Consumers: They Spend the Money Anyway

in #life5 years ago

I remember reading your post in July and it definitely had a profound impact on how I view things as a music and travel content creator. This is the kind of message we need to send out to these average Joes but in a catch all, short snappy phrase.

"Invest in Content" but written by someone who can do "words that sell".

I'm trying to slowly but surely bring people in but the trouble is, things need to be made real simple for AJ to stick around, the content needs to be good for them to consume and there's still a lot of germs around, with not enough variety on trending (which is improving but a long way to go).

Still, things are changing, different and I'm hopeful that the ship will turn around!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

There must be a product for the average consumer to buy into. Huge variety matters. Plenty of junk spread around since some still carry that perform in front of bots that can't see mentality rather than the show people something cool thought process. More and more good stuff is rising to the top. Steemfest content is suffering from severe overexposure though. It's much like seeing the same ad, twice, during every commercial break on television. A lot of folks around here don't think of that overexposure stuff though. Much of that content will be irrelevant and outdated soon, while the timeless stuff still struggles. I respect the Steemfest stuff but they need to know how bad it looks where there are several posts taking up top slots. CHB artist had no clue what overexposure was...

I want steemfest to be done already so we stop seeing posts about it! Make it stop! Please? For the love of varied content! Of course, it's important to get steemfest news out there but like you say, maybe just one or two permanent posts up there, not the whole of trending all the time.

Don't get started on chb artist, seems like he vanished like the bid botted posts that got him there. Still, he milked the system pretty well hey! Never listened to his music or whatever it was he was trying to promote actually just because it was obvious what was going on.

We'll keep chugging away hey

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't mind it either and support the concept of Steemfest. I hope everyone has fun there. I'm just seeing a post about it with only four comments. That's what happens with overexposure. People lose interest in the posts, even when produced by many different people, because it's all the same and there every day, sometimes multiple times. That effort should have been coordinated, scheduled, and various elements combined into fewer posts. CHB was up there sometimes 5 times per day. That annoyed people for sure. This post was high up at one point, so I made damn sure to take some time off in case the next post goes up high as well, and I'd hate to see them sitting side-by-side. Two in the top ten is overexposure. Do that daily and people get angry, along with a few other things.

I know, the lack of interaction on his and all these new trending posts that have over $60 payout is disconcerting really (if that's even the right word).

The post I made that went supernova recently (and I'm grateful for the reaction it got, truly), was probably one of the most genuinely commented on posts and had over 170 comments, didn't even make top 10... Compare that to those that have 4, 5, 6 comments? The trending mechanics need to change or we need to have filters to see engagement as that's what this is about right? Social-economical platform, both factors should be taken in to account, not how fast you get a whale vote or in an upvote ring... Starting to see the same faces now all the bid botted posts have been killed off

My works moves up. I feel I've earned it and I won't complain. Is it odd to see my stuff sit high, be the lowest paid of the bunch, but always has the most comments. I had a lot of comments even with $5 next to my posts as well, before things changed.

Ugh... Bidbots. Everywhere I go I get accused of using bidbots now...

And I'm really REALLY stoked for you that you're seeing the just rewards since the hard fork - congratulations 🙂

I have noticed my posts are starting to get more payouts too (even with author rewards going to 50/50) and that's made me smile, a LOT. However, the interaction has been steadily growing o over the last 12 months, whether there's been cents or up to the dizzying heights of $1 (which felt like euphoria). Depends what motivates you I guess but it really is possible to have your cake and eat it here (good payouts and high number of comments/interaction).

What I realised is that communities, networking and consistency is key here and I'm sure you know that too. There's still work to do to bring more people in and those who have been the consistently engaged ones will prosper.

Seem to remember someone saying our profiles on here are like businesses. Just need to maintain integrity really which is easy to do if you're honest as the blockchain keeps a permanent record hey. You know you've never used bots, jeez, it's for everyone to see by going to steemwallet so you have nothing to hide - F__K 'em. And that your rep is one of the few accounts that is truly community voted for is rare - if I can get to 70 before my 2 year steem birthday in March it will be happy days!

Posted using Partiko Android

So strange. Someone reblogged this post, so I came back here to see wtf I was talking about on this day. I can't believe it has been this long and I'm still trying hard to point this out to folks. I must have tried every possible angle... ugh.