Sort:  

I'm just wondering how the surname "Assman" got started.

That is a good question.

From wikipedia(linked in post):

Assman or Assmann is a German-language surname derived from the name Erasmus[citation needed]. Dick Assman himself, who took all this ribbing good-naturedly, pronounced his name "oss-man", as it is pronounced in German.

Actually bought fuel from Dick back in the day. Straight across guy. Thanks for getting him on the blockchain.

You met Dick Assman!

... that's incredible. It was my pleasure to share this here today. People like Dick are few and far between.

No biggie, just filled my tank wasn't a star yet. I don't know, but I think there are plenty out there. We just gotta open our eyes and see people for what they are, instead of what we are told they are.

We just gotta open our eyes and see people for what they are, instead of what we are told they are.

100% agree. Look at them with your own eyes. I met so many interesting people, especially on the sidewalks of Edmonton by simply allowing them to exist.

in a way I feel sorry for the dude. Clearly he is a nice guy. But think of the humiliation he went through throughout his life with a name like that. Then to be humiliated on national television. Of course the trade off is fame. I hope he got some royalties for the humiliation. So nice of him to go along with it. It makes you wonder what the hell his parents were thinking when the named him. Perhaps the fame was his reward for a lifetime of humiliation. Thanks for the intriguing post and video. Those folks in Hollywood sure have the attitude.

The name was pronounced "oss-man".

Of course people can't see past that and would prefer to ridicule. He didn't feel humiliated. He played along. His words. That is a powerful man.

That's right, Dick played along, and chose not to be insulted. It's all play in the end and what we make of it. I think, by Far Out association, of a favorite quotation:

'Do what you do more as play than as work, which does not mean that it is not serious ... That is the real tragedy of war and weapons: the tragic false seriousness.' —Thomas Merton, Letters

Heaven save us from 'tragic false seriousness! Thank you, @nonameslefttouse, for this introduction. Here's to humility, light-heartedness and keeping your wits about you as the world is losing theirs..

Cheers,
Yahia

You, nailed it. I don't need to say anything more than that.

I will encourage anyone who reads this message to visit this man's blog and have a look around. This one is going to do well here.

Cheers man!

It means a lot to hear you say that :) Thanks, man, for this warm endorsement!

You're welcome.

My husband is 40 and he still giggles when I tell him I'm watching the Dick Van Dyke Show.

That's a really interesting story. I've never heard of this before. He seemed like a really nice guy. It's a shame his name was something others could make fun of him for. It's good he saw the good side of the fame he got from Letterman teasing him about his name. He could have easily felt embarrassed but he was super nice about it all.

He understood that they weren't teasing him. Good friends pick on each other, especially guys. I think everyone else wanted a piece of that connection, reacted naturally, but those who know everything tried to take that away and make it something it wasn't. It wasn't the people laughing with him that made it ugly. It was those jerks and their opinions.. acting like they're protecting something.

I'm glad you picked up on the list of other Dicks. Those names are just as humorous as Dick Assman. Who's laughing at them? Did they have the courage Dick Assman did? I don't know.

Thanks for sharing the story, and the video. This is my first introduction to Mr. Assman.

You know, that guy at 4:52 seemed a right miserable fellow. That is my least favourite type of person-- someone who goes around explaining to other people why something is not fun, funny, or otherwise worthy from their subjective point of view. I wouldn't be tempted to smack them though... There's always going to be people who are unable to see the light in anything. I wish them all the best. They're already suffering.

Also I think it's kind of funny how when someone says "Dick Assman" really fast, it's possible to think he said "the gasman." Especially when that's his job ;)

You're welcome.

That man, I know those type all too well. That is a censor. They've tried to hold me back before too. You're right. They suffer miserably. Imagine a world without laughter.

Thanks for meeting Dick Assman today.

So everyone's name mean something in life, even if it means being the joke of the century, it is sad in the one hand but in the other hand he became famous and enjoyed the ride

My name is Damien. Growing up and even today people think I'm some kind of fucking devil. I embraced that rather than shelling up and feeling sorry for myself. When you point one finger, you have three pointing straight back at you.

There aren’t no butts about that dick.

I feel bad for this man. Canadians are already known worldwide for saying “sorry” for just about everything and anything. This man must have died when it engrained in his skull. Perhaps that was the cause of death. He reached his limit.

I don't think someone becomes a star for no reason. Not like that, out of the blue.

I would only hope so after your parents named you that. At that point you have nothing to lose!

He was born Richard. He called himself Dick.

One would think with a name like Dick Assman that I would remember this? Sadly I do not but thank you @nonameslefttouse for bringing him into my consciousness :) Having been teased greatly because of my name when I was a kid, I can truly appreciate what this man went through.

What he did was prove to the world that the teasing had nothing to do with your name or you. He turned that energy into a positive. The moment he embraced it, he became famous. His name was pronounced "oss-man". Anyone who was laughing at him and not with him tricked themselves into looking foolish.

All I did here today was hide something nice under something perceived as ugly. Maybe I wanted to see if the world has changed, yet.

I don't think the world has changed much...except perhaps that our youthful mistakes aren't trending online somewhere.

How do they get that shit to trend anyway? I can't even get people to share my stuff on Facebook... Yesterday's post should be viral by now... tick tock tick tock tick tock

I think kids get stupid shit to trend because they're little assholes and they outnumber us.

Share button happy. We're share button sad.

How the hell did you got paid so much for this post!

I don't know. What did I do? An appealing title. Motivational opening line. Interesting looking cover. The colors represent Dick's work uniform. A unique introduction. A play on words to ease the reader into realizing it's only natural to find some things funny. A curve ball. A properly sourced image with link to more information. A video presentation and commentary that follow the guidelines of fair use. Credit to the reporter who wasn't even named in the video and a link to her profile. An opinion followed by standing in defense of a kindhearted man. A lot of work went into this, I think people enjoyed the story and wanted to learn more. He might be one of the only people to ever go through what he experienced. I'm quite proud of this piece and I'm grateful for the show of support. Just going with the flow.

What the hell, I open this post expecting to finally see a monumental huge proud cock and there is some red black and white mixed together and the story of Dick Assman.
I am very very very very very disappointed of you!!!
(auhauhauahuahauhauahuahauahuahauh)

Tough crowd! Thought I'd try my hand at some comedy history reporting.

Nice Dick’s history.
I’m glad I’m not one of them!

Are you sure about that?

🤣🤣🤣👏👏👏

😭 😭😭I’m not a ....

Just messing with you, talking lion.

Kind of reminds me my friend his name is Michael Butler.

Nice guy?

Nice guys are endangered species, but yea he is funny!

That's my daily routine actually. Dick - Ass - Man

Usually, I know what to say. This time, I don't.

I got you good, batman

I once worked for a woman named Barbara Bloir. (Pronounce blower.) She was married to Richard, who went by Dick. They had a son and named him... I shit you not...
Little Dick Blower Junior.
Here is hard proof, right down to the wife's name!
https://www.findagrave.com/memorial/32039299

Oh! Oh! Click the "read more" and Junior is mentioned too! They were awesome people, the first to crack the joke! Joseph, OR, that is where I lived when I knew them!

Thanks for sharing! May he RIP.

In the part of the world where I reside, due to too much emphasis on morals, people that answer the name 'Dickson' may frown at it when they are called "Dick", it also a sort of swear-word too. Obviously, Dick is a diminutive of Dickson but the part of the body which it's associated with makes it a kind of bad name.

The surname too ASS man...oops ☺

Thanks for sharing Dick Assman's story 👍

You made me realize something here. There are places even to the south of me in the USA where people would be literally afraid to say this man's name. Wow. That is the darkness disguised as bright in full effect. Intriguing.

I can relate to that. That's one of the effect of cultural variation. Every region or race has its own cultural values that they protect. That's why we are different, that's why we are humans.

Best wishes @nonameslefttouse

interesting article, A$$man. Reminds me of Seinfeld and the Assman.

Explain how this reminds you of Seinfeld.

Without cheating and looking it up, I think it was someone’s license plate on the show. It was either a proctologist or Kramer.

I guess I hid another message here. I looked past the man's name and tried to explain what was there when I looked. Many people weren't able to look beyond that name. Seems to be happening now because it has nothing to do with his name. The whole time, it wasn't his name that actually made him famous. This entire article might end up being just another classic case of judging a book by it's cover.

We mustn't forget Tricky Dick Nixon on that list of famous Dicks. What a crooked Dick, indeed.

It’s hard to come by well-informed people about this topic, however, you seem like you know what you’re talking about!
You should be a part of a contest for one of the highest quality blogs online. I'm going to recommend this post!
A motivating discussion is definitely worth comment. I believe that you should write more about this issue, it might not be a taboo matter but typically people don't discuss such subjects. To the next! Best wishes!! Thankx!

It would of course, be a Canadian, sorry, not sorry, lol. I've never heard of him before. Truly would have missed this jewel if not for you linking me to your post, very on point with all your points, so I won't point out any more points since you've pointedly pointed them all out.

Gotta say, really have noticed how you are your own person and cut your own path with your own style that's impossible not to notice. I enjoy that, thanks.

It's both a gift, and a curse.

Yes, that's how it is. Always better to cut one's own path, it's worth the thorns every time.

Did you steal that line from a fridge magnet?

I only have earth magnets, nothing with cheesy expressions, those are banned. I have thorns on the mind from talking about barberry shrubs and designing a mace made from them. 😂

Fridge magnets would be way more popular if they came with lines like that.

When stuck with thorns, pluck them out, make a mace and smite thine enemy.