You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Am Strangling Myself to Death

in #life3 years ago

It's hard to support those who treat the place like a content dumping ground. Visit a few clone platform and see the same faces. I've written about it before. A content creator with a good mind for business will place their content in one location, then use the other locations to direct traffic to it. Since I own a piece of this platform, of course one can only find me here, as I do my best to corral all eyes into one profitable pool.

The most recent trending page dispute came from those stabilizer posts. They were going to clutter up trending with copies of the same post. I'm glad people spoke up and the common middle ground was found. It's bad enough people stopped looking at trending. No need to make it worse. We need eyes on it so our businesses can expand.

I've been trying to get around more lately. Leaving comments when I can. One actual human can only do so much though. I'm penalized financially for actually consuming, voting late. Some communities penalize you if prefer to use an all in one solution like PeakD. Consumer nightmare trying to visit all these different sites. So I just stopped caring about money... problem solved.

Sort:  

I'm the same, love the tokens but fuck em at the same time, I use one front end that holds it all and call it a day even if I lose out on other tokens, they are not pokemons, can't catch em all. At the end of the day it's about the content and the community we are building. Different strokes for different folks...same as the trending page. Many people still complain about it but it looks more organic than it ever did before the split.

The page actually does give off the organic vibe, more than it ever has. People were starting to pay attention to it again. I check it a couple times a day when I'm around. In the early days it was always good to mingle with the content on the trending page. Striking up a conversation or saying some ridiculous shit is a great way to get noticed around here. Unfortunately that all moved to Discord. Then people on Discord scratch their heads there, wondering how to improve engagement on Hive. Heh

LMFAO I know, much of the engagement that used to happen on the posts are now on discord. Blows my mind somedays but maybe they will see the forest thru the trees one day and bring it back on the platform where it belongs. I don't hang out on discord much.

I used to avoid the trending page like the plague but now I also check it a few times a day, there is readable stuff on there for all taste. I suppose saying ridiculous shit will get noticed just about anywhere people just naturally like different...keeps life interesting. I used to follow the high drama pop-corn eating posts to laugh at all the insults thrown around, even if it doesn't look professional. Love em or hate em, they brought eyeballs.

I'm not on discord at all. Can you tell?

I once found a post about couches on trending. I kept slipping in "Sofa King" and acting like I was disgusted with that company. Author either had no clue I was joking around, or just wanted to maintain composure. Sofa King funny...

lol a post about couches? Sounds odd for trending material. It's funny messing with people on the internet since they can't tell intent, tones and all other social cues we use. Posting on social media nowa days can be a scary thing, looks a little hostile out there, should be called anti-social media! Poor guy probably didn't know how to react fearing getting his ass downvoted🤣😝.

It was odd for trending. A generic article that when searched on google would lead to several almost identical takes on the topic. That dinosaur way of blogging with the SEO and trying to be google famous.

And yeah it's tough online, especially for someone like me. Often misconstrued, especially when being facetious. I add disclaimers now... LOL!

lol I don't add disclaimers, I'm mostly quiet these days but when I do come out it's generally in controversy and comes with heavy backlash. Apparently being a sensible human being isn't cool and makes my mental health questionable! 😂🤣. My favorite disclaimer is I'm sarcastic if I really like you, I'm also sarcastic if I really don't like you...good luck figuring out which one...I like leaving things in ambiguous fashion...hehe

I hate those generic articles, if I wanted to read them I would google them. I came across one on cooling fluid once, strait out of the textbook and the online instruction manual, person got into a pissing match with me claiming it was original content!! Yes just what I want to read about on my spare time, how and why to use coolant fluid, tres originale, merci! lol

I don't think trending is a good way to gauge people's interest. It's just a few accounts that dictate most of the visibility, and the dead bots that follow. We have some advantages at the frontend though, the fact that no AI computes who gets more visible than the rest. I wrote about how instagram factors in follower count, content views, likes, and etc within seconds to minutes of posting before shoving it at the back of the file if it doesn't meet the virality threshold. It's a different playing field here, a bit unsophisticated but I'll take it than some AI dictating how I can be visible without knowing it.

I tried to maximize my time with commenting and then trying to put some effort into the people I do follow or follow me, and curating random strangers off communities. Building real relations and not thinking of people as some fans. It's hard to balance irl matters, I'm even swamped with work and just trying to catch up with the people that gave me replies. Hive has been my social media and thought of the token value second.

I need this place as an outlet, gives me some push trying to pursue art as a hobby or get my writing exercised. Work just removes my creativity and all. I do get fed up with price talks, content dumpers that are really just blatantly out to milk em votes, feels like they just undermine the ones that are putting in the work trying to keep user retention.

There's something wrong with a person that calls themselves a content creator here if they're not bothered with their posts not receiving comments, or getting a growing network, or having stale content. I could understand improving over the course of the blogging series but if its been 3-4 years of the same scribble content and skill level, I'm just going to pass these creators as the meh. They'll go away once the money is gone dry.