You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Update On My Curation Habits and Why You're Better Off Buying Your Votes and Earning Peanuts

in #life6 years ago

It's fun watching people attempt to justify how they'd prefer to pay a toll for this road rather than travel for free. They'd prefer to be taxed or work so someone else gets paid. It's fucked because the other option is right there, on the table, shiny and bright, there for the taking, but they don't want it. Too many years of being brainwashed by governments.

There are two apples. One is free. The other is the same, but costs money, because someone said it's better. I can fly, though I don't have wings, but they'll pay to see it, because I charged a fee.

Sort:  

I think a lot of it is still "scarcity mentality" which shocker didn't go away the second an online utopian paradise began to grow.

People want it and they want it now, even if there is more to be gained by networking, growing, and waiting...even just a little bit.

Now. Now. Now.

If people don't start making money the minute they get here, they either leave, or they start Googling:

"How to make money fast on Steemit"

You'll never guess what comes up!?!

It reminds me of the Marshmallow Test I was reading about the other day, in how to determine someone's success from childhood on.

These psychologists took a group of children and asked a if they wanted one marshmallow now, or two if they waited a couple of hours.

Sadly, a lot of children in poverty took the marshmallow right away, because that's how they were conditioned. If you don't take it now, it may be gone (scarcity).

Without a doubt though, the children who waited for the marshmallow were statistically likely to do better, as they checked back in on them in their life.

I guess it depends on what kind of personality you have, but for me, just having made quick money, but no meaningful relationships on here isn't enough.

To some it will be. I would really like to do both, and it's ok if it takes a little longer. I just wish more people could see the advantage to just being like even a little bit more patient.

I know all about that marshmallow test and I see people failing at it here on the daily. They're told they won't get any later if they take it now, but they still take it.

What about the whole give someone a fish, they'll eat for a day; teach them to fish, they eat for a lifetime.

I can prove I know how to fish, I try to teach people; and they keep eating the fucking bait, not even the fish. And they can't figure out why they're so hungry, yet they were given the rules to this game long beforehand.

I honestly can't keep doing this though. I could sell my vote and make more. After all this work, there's less demand for my content and more demand for my SP... so what the fuck am I doing... This is stupid already.