Sort:  

lol, I love it.

And I thought so, seemed like you might've been inspired by him in some way. he definitely had some writing chops, as do you. Thanks again for a great read. :)

It's nearly impossible, yet I still try to avoid all outside influences when developing a writing style. Same with the art. I'll be browsing some digital art then suddenly my mind is all like, "Hmmm. I could do something like that." Then I'm all like NO

NoNamesLeftToUse - Carry On.jpg

Hold on. Not a good idea. Look but don't touch.

I respect the aim for purity, but avoiding outside influences sounds pretty close to 'avoiding media / the creations of others' entirely, sooooo... uh... good luck? Sounds tricky as hell, but if anyone can do it... :)

Suffice to say, any similarities I saw to Mr. Thompson are purely my own (likely biased) perceptions and are intended only as a compliment you in that HST was able to keep me riveted on the edge of my seat with his writings, and so are you.

😁

It is difficult but I do manage to shut it all off and walk away. But then what right? That's only temporary relief.

I took that as a compliment. A good one. One of these days I'll learn to simply say, "Thanks!" But for now I'll continue to be terrible at small talk.

That is the question, heheh. I guess we'll see! :)

And yeah, I've experienced some challenges just saying 'thanks' myself, I'm sure we'll both get it eventually, lol. Who wants small talk anyway, right? 😁

Speaking of small talk, just wanted you to know I think you've been doing some cool things around here.

lol, well I should probably just say 'thanks', given our recent convo, heheh... but I can't tell if this is a joke or not, because:

A. I respect you and your insights and appreciate any kind words or support coming from you. (Not small talk :D) and B. My posts around here likely wouldn't be called 'small' talk by anyone. (also not small talk)

Either way, thanks for continually brightening my experience here on Hive, bro. It's appreciated. 🙏 😁