You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DON'T TEXT & DRIVE - My son is the latest victim of distracted driving

in #life7 years ago

And this is why I won't even answer my phone while driving. If someone else is in the vehicle with me, they answer my phone. Otherwise? It goes unanswered.

If they keep calling me, I'll pull over, and if it's not an emergency, I'll tell them that I'm driving and can't talk.

When driving alone, I only ever check the GPS (if I'm using it -- I rarely do) at red lights that have just turned red, if I even do that. If I'm someplace where I can easily pull into a parking lot, I do that instead.

The only way I 'actively' use my phone while driving is if I'm using the bluetooth to listen to something through the stereo. And even then, it's just playing. I don't touch it to switch songs or podcasts or anything.

Using your phone while driving scares the crap out of me. I don't ride with people that do it and I don't do it myself. You're putting yourself, your passengers, and anyone else unfortunately enough to cross your path in great danger when you drive distracted.

I hope you have the idiot's information. You have no responsibility for the hospital bill. It's her fault.

I wish hitting someone while distracted driving held a mandatory prison sentence, even if the person isn't killed. Because it's a premeditated act of (at least) assault, in my opinion.

Why premeditated? Because they made the choice ahead of time to drive distracted. Just like drunk drivers that drove themselves to the bar or club knowing they were gonna get drunk and didn't make plans to get home or to their next destination safely. Premeditated act.

These people have no regard for anyone else but themselves and they need to suffer the consequences of their dangerous actions.

Okay, gonna stop ranting now.

I hope your son is alright. That's a really nasty bump. Good vibes for speedy healing being sent his way.

Sort:  

You're no fun.. jk

Good points.. yes, i agree.. she should be liable for all damages.. but it's the insurance who will have the last say.. they fucked me over, horribly.. they will prolly do the same to @xtrodinarypilot... it ain't right

@@ -1,16 +1,20 @@
Yeah, I
+got
fucked o