DON'T TEXT & DRIVE - My son is the latest victim of distracted driving

in #life7 years ago (edited)

PLEASE RESTEEM & SHARE OFFLINE

Dear Steem,

This is why you DO NOT TEXT AND DRIVE. Don't steem and drive, don't tweet and drive, just don't use your damn phone and drive. Today my son was riding his bicycle with me and his older brother. The speed limit in our neighborhood is 30 mph. My kids are pretty well trained on traversing the streets with their bikes. We used to ride in downtown Houston along with other traffic. 

Today a neighborhood teen was on her cellphone and as we stopped at the stop sign, she did not. She ran into the back of my son and knocked him off the of his bicycle. Thank goodness he was wearing his helmet and pads because he could have died. His helmet did adjust during his fall and he received a pretty gnarly injury. We rushed him to the emergency room where they gave him an MRI and an X-RAY. He's being continually monitored for a concussion. The worst part is that they handed us a bill for $14,000. I have a vehicle that costs less than that and I've had it for years. That's the American Healthcare system for you. I know he is going to okay because he asked the doctor if he would still be able to play baseball. Please resteem, share, tweet, or whatever it is that you do to get the word out. STAY OFF YOUR DAMN CELL PHONES IN THE CAR!!!!!!!

There's Adventure in all of Us

I took you inside our 3rd homebirth experience
I took you gator wrasslin' in Texas
I took you on a day as Urkle
I took you to @ned scott's funeral (RIP)
I took you to #STEEMITGUNCLUB 

STEEM ON & I WILL TAKE YOU PLACES

...mostly in Texas LOL 

Animation graciously donated to @xtrodinarypilot by @xtrodinarypilot

Sort:  

You didn't get her id or insurance? She should be responsible for that $14,000.

I did get her info. You know this shit moves at a snails pace. Sometimes even slower.

I wish I could upvote this more than once.

This this this a million times this.

@novaatebatman you are welcomed to resteem just to remind people the dangers.

I actually have every intention of resteeming it. Though I was intending to wait until it's been up for several days to draw fresh attention to it.

Strategic tactition. Thanks for the support.

No problem at all! Distracted driving is one of the things that enrages me.

Luckily it isn't frozen before payout yet.

I've resteemed it.

Same question I am asking..

I can't imagine getting that call. Thank you for sharing and I hope he gets well very soon.
Make sure he is not concussed. Tough Kid!!
Sending Good Vibes!!

maybe this well help!! lol

PUT THE PHONES DOWN PEOPLE!!!

full_featured_double_rainbow_at_savonlinna_1000px.jpg

Everyone loves a double rainbow!! lol

Double rainbow is just what I needed. Lol

Using the cell while driving is so irresponsible and should be heavily punished. Lucky that safety precautions are well done by your son (while i say it's lucky, of course safe precaution is not a matter of luck) otherwise the consequences could be much more serious... jesus

So sorry to hear about your son and i really hope hes okay! Seriously people need to leave the phones while driving. I see it all the time and its really frustrating. 😔😩@xtrodinarypilot

Yes frustrating indeed. Thanks for the warm blessings and also thanks for resteeming this post. We always tell people not to text and drive, but no one ever sees it up close what happens.

And this is why I won't even answer my phone while driving. If someone else is in the vehicle with me, they answer my phone. Otherwise? It goes unanswered.

If they keep calling me, I'll pull over, and if it's not an emergency, I'll tell them that I'm driving and can't talk.

When driving alone, I only ever check the GPS (if I'm using it -- I rarely do) at red lights that have just turned red, if I even do that. If I'm someplace where I can easily pull into a parking lot, I do that instead.

The only way I 'actively' use my phone while driving is if I'm using the bluetooth to listen to something through the stereo. And even then, it's just playing. I don't touch it to switch songs or podcasts or anything.

Using your phone while driving scares the crap out of me. I don't ride with people that do it and I don't do it myself. You're putting yourself, your passengers, and anyone else unfortunately enough to cross your path in great danger when you drive distracted.

I hope you have the idiot's information. You have no responsibility for the hospital bill. It's her fault.

I wish hitting someone while distracted driving held a mandatory prison sentence, even if the person isn't killed. Because it's a premeditated act of (at least) assault, in my opinion.

Why premeditated? Because they made the choice ahead of time to drive distracted. Just like drunk drivers that drove themselves to the bar or club knowing they were gonna get drunk and didn't make plans to get home or to their next destination safely. Premeditated act.

These people have no regard for anyone else but themselves and they need to suffer the consequences of their dangerous actions.

Okay, gonna stop ranting now.

I hope your son is alright. That's a really nasty bump. Good vibes for speedy healing being sent his way.

You're no fun.. jk

Good points.. yes, i agree.. she should be liable for all damages.. but it's the insurance who will have the last say.. they fucked me over, horribly.. they will prolly do the same to @xtrodinarypilot... it ain't right

@@ -1,16 +1,20 @@
Yeah, I
+got
fucked o

How is your son doing my friend?

Well... Captain Obvious... LOL
He is doing well. there is no internal trauma and he is ok to go back to baseball next week. If you could, please resteem or share offline so people can wake up. We all know, but we all need to be reminded.

Will do. I have 5 kids. This post is close to my heart.

I see it every day on the roadways and it scares the shit out of me. I see some commuters actually reading the newspaper. People have to start showing their fellow humans a little more respect and pay attention while driving!

I agree wholeheartedly. We do need to be more subconsciously compassionate. I hope you can resteem and share this offline with others as well.

Will do, I hope your kid is doing alright.

yeah he is. he had a checkup yesterday and there's no internal trauma or concussion. thanks for asking

Oh good. Betcha that young lady driver will likely be putting her phone in the glove box from here on out.

So sorry to hear that. Really glad that he is a least okay. Stuff like this shows how easy it is for accidents to happen when not paying attention.

Exactly, the crazy thing is, I felt it when I saw her b4 she even got close to us. Hope she has trouble sleeping over this. Please share offline and resteem as well. More people need a reminder.

Sorry to hear about your boy. I drive a Box-truck everyday making deliveries and am constantly seeing people texting while driving. Not only that...but has anyone noticed when your on your cell phone and driving you're not really paying attention to the road. You may think you are...but nope...you're not. Please try not to use your phone for anything while driving. If you must use it...pull over to the side of the road...park it...then use it. Because this could've been anyone's child out here. Hope your boy feels better soon.

@cha-ching yeah ever wonder why it takes people longer to drive when their lights turn green? Also resteem just to remind people the dangers. It's like a PSA

Thank you. Will resteem. God Bless!

It's incredible how many people are driving around with their phone in hand. People that aren't any good at using smart phones or driving to begin with, somehow think its ok to try and do both at once. I'm glad your son's alright, I'd want to have a few "words" with the driver in your shoes.

I wanted to pound her face in... but then someone else would be posting about a police shooting in Texas. Black man in cowboy hat, shot by Hispanic, transgender police officer. Anything to sensationalize. Also, remember to resteem as a reminder to everyone what danger lurk beyond their phones

Very dangers, don't Drive use phone

Thank God he is ok. A bump on the head is not the worst that could have happened.

We live in a selfish world. Selfish acts can cause great damage.

Nothing internal and we are grateful for that.

Damn I hope the little guy is alright and you should have fucked that driver up!!!! I would have! I'm sorry about your kid. Damn please everyone resteem and upvote.

Yes little man is going to be straight. I've fucked the driver up 10 times in my head.
AND PLEASE RESTEEM so that people can be reminded. I wonder who's texting and steeming right now

yea i resteemed

How scary. I bet that will be the last time that person will ever text and drive. We are not always good enforcing the helmet rule. Thanks for the reminder about good bicycle safety, because you never know about the other guy...

Yeah absolutely. I hope everyone gets to read this story.

How terrifying for your family! I was rear-ended in my car due to the same horrible behavior. Got a decent spasm in my back afterwards but luckily that was the worst of it aside from our cars. Hope your son recovers quickly and people put down their phones while driving!

thank you for the warm blessings

Glad to hear he's ok. Concussions in children are very serious.

yeah they are, we were informed today, that there was no internal damage.

I use to teach kids English. One of my co-workers had a child hit his head on a bookshelf. He seemed ok at first, but like 30min later had to be rushed to the hospital because of convulsions. Serious stuff getting hit in the head.

Insurance sucks, but kid + bad publicity means maybe they won't drag their feet.

Best wishes to you, your son and your family.

Thanks @rt395 yeah anything to get the ball rolling.

:/ i cant believe it, so sorry you and him had to go through this.. terrible..

crazy how we can b eon top of the world and then all of a sudden BAM. It would be a helpful reminded for everyone if you RESETEEM. Also does Massachusetts have state laws of cell phone use and driving.

yes massachusetts i believe was one of the first states to implement the no texting while driving law in 2010. Screen Shot 2017-06-22 at 1.59.11 PM.png

That's great to hear. Texas just passed on about a month ago that has not gone into effect yet.

thats not right..

I totally agree. It really burns me up to see the younger generation driving with one leg while entertaining friends in the car, eating a cheeseburger and texting at the same time. They need to be focusing but instead think they know it all and are the best drivers when in fact that's not the case. Glad your son will be ok.

one legged driving... I feel like this was a tad bit of Karma.

Oh, poor him, I hope he is feeling better now. Be safe on the road.

He is feeling better. Thanks for checking up on him.

Ouch. That is a big hit. Hope everything is resolved soon.

yeah it was pretty gnarly. Guess now he has a story to tell

Ahhh wishing a speedy recovery!

Here in Australia our government is making a huge push to crack down on drivers using their phones. A friend of mine was even given a warning for it when he was pulled over and he had left it on the passenger seat.

It doesn't have to be in your hand to be a distraction...

That's a huge point. It does not have to be in your hand to be a distraction.

OMG!! I hope he's doing ok!
Poor lil guy. :(

thank you @sykochica He's doing ok this afternoon. He asked me if i was going to do a post. I told him I already did. lol If you can, please resteem or share offline. I hope more people can be reminded of the consequences of this behavior.

Wow, the ignorance of people these days! Texting is a big problem nowadays and it's more important than ever that we spread the message to NOT TEXT AND DRIVE. I'm glad you brought this up and hopefully this serves as a lesson to everyone to put your phone down, it can wait a couple minutes.

thank you @cyptodata It is a "yuge" problem especially with younger drivers. Please retseem. I'm on my Public Service Accouncement mission today.

It is things like that that makes me think in the future driving will be a thing of the past. Autonomous cars will be the rule.

I can't imagine autonomous cars being much better. But who knows, we would have to see first. Have you seen Fate of the Furious, terrible movies but it has a scene that warns of the dangers of autonomous vehicles.

ouch hope he is ok

Yes he is as of now. We have another check up today

Terrible. I see this ALL the time. People who cellphone and drive suck! I'm glad that your baby will make a full recovery!

Things are looking great for him. I'm sure he will make a full recovery. Thanks for the well wishes. Resteem or share off of steemit if you can

As a parent myself this is terrifying! Im so very sorry for your son but so glad hes ok! I hope this idiot teens insurance is footing out that hospital bill! It ticks me off to see people on the road all the time texting or whatever while driving & i have my babies in the car it makes everyone unsafe out there so frustrating for everyone on & off the road.

I certainly hope so. Thats our next step is to try to recoup that money via insurance. Insurance companies are notorious for taking FOREVER.

DAYUM that a nasty bump. That's a 100% upvote worth of nasty too. I sure hope he is ok. Resteemed of course. Keep us updated. Happy to see you posting again now too!

Will do @Old-Guy-Photos Thanks for sharing, hopefully people will read this and remember next time they start their cars.

Great lesson for the vehicles users...thanks for sharing in this community..upvoted

@bibek, thank you sir. It definitely is a lesson for anyone who drives.

You welcome: have a nice & safe stay:))

best wishes to your son. Hope he forgets about this soon

Thanks for keeping using in your thoughts. He's a champ, gonna be back at baseball soon

So scary!! I'm so happy your son is ok and recovering. Your post serves as a big reminder to Stay OFF your phone while driving!

thank you @yogattitude. please share and resteem as well. I'm mister Public Service Announcement every time I see his picture.

Damn upset texting drivers. Just send her car insurance your $14k bill.

better believe I will.

@xtrodinarypilot - Man! I hope your boy is OK! Upvoted and resteemed. Wish I could do more...
P.S. I recommend at least talking to an attorney

@dozjia thank you for sharing. There is nothing more to do than just get the word out.
You are the first person to mention an attorney. Can't believe that didn't cross my mind yet.

Glad I could help!☺
Breathe...

Thank heavens he was wearing a helmet. The knot on his head is the size of an ostrich egg.

It makes we want to be even better about making sure my actions to inflict harm on the lives of other people.
Best,
Isaac

thanks @isaac.rodebush We just can't keep the ostrich out of this lol. PLease resteem and share offline so that more people see what happens when we drive with our phones in hand

This is for a good cause you got my vote! & Resteem!

Ouch, poor kid. That looks like it hurts

Yeah @musicblog it hurts looking at it, especially in person

So sorry to hear that :( I hope you son is okay!

Yes we expect him to make a full recovery. THANKS

The issue with people texting, calling while driving is just on an alarming rate this days. And I think Sheriff and government agencies need to enforce and raise the sanctions of the violation of this code.
So that people can get serious about life and stop being messy. Am really sorry about your boy, quick recovery.

Thank you for saying that. And little man is recovering well.

All the best to your son. I hope he'll be feeling better soon!

For me living in a country with a healthcaresystem that pays almost any treatment without charging you more than a few bucks it's just unbelievable how visiting a hospital with a serious injury like that can mean such high cost... I hope you can get a refund from the girls insurance somehow!

Thank you for sending warm wishes.

Uff I hope your son is doing better! This text and drive thing has become quite an epidemic. They should put me in a ghost car. Do you have any idea how many drivers I see texting on the road, it's crazy!! If I was a cop i'd make my quota in just a few hours. : )

whats crazy is see the cops doing it as well.

Yikes, autonomous cars can't come fast enough for these brain dead millennials.

We have had a death here over the texting and driving issue. the girl was killed after running into the corner of a guard rail and it came up of the car in the windshield and smashed her in the drivers seat. she was killed on impact. up-voted and followed!

I'm glad to hear that there wasn't a serious energy but I can't imagine the trauma you all went through, especially him. I'll share this to Facebook. All the best to you and your family.

thanks for caring and sharing @crystalandbones hope to see you around steemit.

Bloody hell that looks painful , hope he mends quickly . Cheers mike

Soo sorry about your son. He is lucky! Texting and drive is worst than drinking and driving. It's an epidemic. I am a cyclist and this scares the sh-t out of me.

upvoted, resteemed and I am so sorry your son was hurt. I am glad to hear it wasn't serious

Thanks @tecnosgirl... im glad you shared it. My hope is more people get to see this and learn from our ordeal