You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Phone Addiction Paradigm

in #life6 years ago

I agree. I like what @diana.catherine says, but even too much water will kill a person :)

I just think it doesn't have to be one or the other. Dwelling in the online world doesn't have to mean losing some basic motor skills that will probably come in handy in life, as we still know it.

For example, a couple of years back I stumbled upon an article, saying there was a study that showed kids aged younger than eight years of age had no problem understanding computers and mobile phones, but most of them can't tie their shoe laces. Now, of course it's not about tying shoe laces, per se, but I believe that kids will also greatly benefit in life by developing some basic skills like that...

Sort:  

Oh well I completely agree about kids these days not being at their best. But I believe that concerns their parents. Even though my husband and I work day & night at computers, I'm sure that I will educate my children to be completely responsible, self-sufficient and interested in many things other than computer. But as we work in this area especially, he would probably be more accustomed with computers than other kids. If he sees his parents reading, painting, singing at an instrument or just taking a walk in the park, I'm sure that he would take that example. But there are still a lot of people that are complaining about how kids are stupid because they only play or such. On the contrary, I sincerely think that they are a lot smarter than we were.

They see the world through our eyes, what we show them is going to affect them.....kids will get impacted by the surroundin...so the better and clear we provide them will benefitted them....multumesc🙏

Well I believe that's generational. Every generation thinks (and will think) that the kids are dumber and did't have a proper childhood, there was a philosopher breaking it down I saw a long time ago :)

But the truth is of course, they grow up smarter than us, it's just the way it goes. Or at least with a larger potential than us, providing we allow them to think freely.

They will adapt to the new world, as for them it's only new, and for us (the older generations) is new AND different.
While we grow older and, so to say, weaker, they grow into their prime. So, statistically, I think we don't stand a chance on the long run :)

And I also must agree that setting a good example is the best way to go, as they will never listen to what we say, but they will look at what we do.