You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why some people should never have children!

in #life6 years ago

I think a social worker would be the worst job to have, because that is where you see true neglect. I have to live with the example of neglectful parents in my everyday life. My husband's half brother is a disgrace, and has managed to produce FIVE children. (One of which they sold, to put it bluntly.) I always wish there was a licence for parenthood!!!!

Sort:  

OMG I would have ended up with 13 children...no being a teacher is just like being a social worker these days. We see the terrible neglect and we have to start feeding schemes at school because of parents that don't properly look after kids. I applaud that and I honestly believe that if they bring in a rule that says that people are not allowed to have more than two kids then everything would change. You know what it looks like here in SA. Kids all over begging on street-corners, and it is absolute disgrace to live here sometimes. I just know that one day we will all have to please explain why we allowed this to happen and then it is going to be too late. Life is so screwed up!!!!

I was supposed to teach, it was where my degree was meant to lead, but I knew that was not the life for me. I feel the pain so much when I see neglected children, and even worse, the sense of powerlessness to do anything about it. Also, most teachers are not like you, they simply don't care about anything.

I had an epiphany about why my kids feel so much stress at school. At home we don't shout and scream, but yet this is how most of their teachers communicate. I think we would have a lot in common to talk about!!!

I honestly am tired. In the beginning it was totally different to be a teacher but now kids are basically equal and they will interrupt even while you are busy with a lesson. The classes are too crowded and most teacher shout and scream to just try and get a chance. This is not all students of course, but plenty are ruling the classes. Have you given any thought to removing your kids from school?

I've given it a LOT of serious thought, but in the end I feel life is tough, and although the last thing I want is for my kids to experience to experience the negativity, I fear they won't cope when they go out into the "real world" without encountering all those difficult experiences while I am there to guide them through it, and shape their thought processes about it. Thank you for your support. I don't know how you cope in the classroom. Hopefully you can retire soon!