Be sensible about slimming

in #life6 years ago (edited)

sensible slimmingTH.png

A new year, a new me... a 1930's me?

My great-aunt has an amazing collection of old newspapers and magazines, I was sat looking through them a couple of days ago when I came across this edition of Woman's Illustrated from 1937. My new find came at the perfect moment as I was considering a new healthy regime for 2018. I was confident that I would discover some great advice within the pages of this magazine.

womans illustratedM.jpg

The way to a slim and youthful figure

Looking for a golden nugget of wisdom I came across the following advertisement for salts that 'will dissolve pounds of loose, flabby flesh -and more, it will tone up your whole system and give life a new sparkle.'

The advert asked me which I considered the healthiest way to slim -pulling myself in with a corset, starving myself or taking special drugs. I would have to say none of these, but I might be wrong. I must say, I also hadn't noticed that doctors send rich women to the spas to 'reduce', I will have to pay more attention from now on.

sensible slimming.png

I'll be sharing some more of these 1930's treasures with you soon. For now though, I think I'll give the salts a miss and head to the gym instead.

All images taken from Woman's Illustrated -May 8th 1937 edition

Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Hahahaha! not only with salts we lose weight, also we have to do exercises.

Some women opt use the apple cider technique and lemon juice technique to get rid of unwanted cholesterol in the body. The acidity may affect the linings of the digestive tract even from the throat itself.

I still think i'll stick with exercise. We use apple cider in our cooking at home though, very tasty!

I agree with you.. I prefer the gym.

Great post! When looking back in history it is so easy to see the strange things we did to appease some sort of ideal. It makes me wonder sometimes what the future will think about the present ways.

Looking through the adverts (I'll share more soon) is very interesting. The magazine is aimed at women, and the language used to sell products is fascinating from a modern day perspective.

Yes, thats sounds fascinating. I am looking forward to it.

I've been telling myself to start working out, but ugh where do I find the motivation? And where do I find this miraculous salt? Maybe I can start looking like a pin-up girl lol. I love vintage, looking forward to the others you'll be posting! Ciao xx

Build a time machine and you too can get these products! They may still sell them, but this advert is over 80 years old.

congratulations dear friend @opheliafu for the discovery of these beautiful treasures and how well preserved they are.
Thank you very much for sharing all this information
I wish you a happy rest

Yes! She kept so many paper treasures, it is fun looking through them all.

I follow your share with pleasure
thanks for your support 👍Opheliafu

nice post. i alsofollow your share

@opheliafu would love to see a 1930 pictures all have seen here are just only on tv
nice post there

Maybe it's the right time for all of us to make the decision to lose those extra pounds. As we can see, personal appearance has been one of the great issues for people. I'm going to start doing workout. Greetings.

Nice 👍👍

Wow salt and water are all it takes to make yourself slim and freshly glowing in perfect health!

Yes! That is where I have been going wrong all these years.

I like to listen to the old radio programs on youtube, and I was listening to one from around the era of the Second World War. It had the advertisements in and I found it interesting that, instead of slimming tablets, they were selling weight GAIN tablets. It's interesting to know the ways our ideals have changed with time, even by culture. I think we nee to focus now on what our healthy size is and not on what actual size we are. 100 pounds, 8 stone, whatever your measurements, might look good on others but on me, I'd be too thin. That's no healthier than being overweight. I've found my ideal weight is the one where I can get out of bed without being out of breath, and the oen where I don't feel hungry and tired all the time. Healthy is better than thin/overweight. :)