You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Treating yourself the same way you'd treat a stranger

in #life3 years ago

Some good reminders here, I've been rather harsh on myself these past months even though I am still alive and somehow able to eat and sleep witha roof over my head. When we are unfair and harsh to ourselves we tend to lose sight of all the good things we do have, making it worse as you said.

I find it's more and more about becoming aware of the need for balance. You mentioned your creative hurdles, I feel the opposite way actually: I have not done anything creative in months because I was obsesseing over trading and charting, and that yielded very poor results compared to the effort put in. With just a little bit of effort in that I could have benefitted way more, and would have had the time to pursue creative things as well, in a more balanced way.

And it's funny because it's in the air. These days I realize the same thing you have written here, and it shows up in my feed from all you loveyl people I follow. Check:

https://peakd.com/philosophy/@vieira/the-perfect-push-up-or-the-art-of-doing-less

That's what I get for actively seeking more balance again and trusting that it will get me further than obsessing over a single thing biting my teeth out.

All the best to you in these crazy times!

Sort:  

Sad to hear things have been rougher for you, and I'm glad you pulled through, I hope everything will get better and better for you :)

Balancing everything is indeed the "key" to living better and having a more meaningful experience in general, with life, but I cannot blame anyone for not being able to focus on that balance, especially in these rough times.

You became obsessed with trading and charting and lost sight of balance.

I spent two years working at a job I despised just to get some money and make things better for myself and my family in this pandemic.

We both lost track of balance and obsessed over certain things, with good reason.

From what I experienced in these past two years, I realized that balance is never a destination. You constantly have to seek it, to look for it. And when you finally achieve balance, it is only temporarily within your reach. It soon goes away, when you stop paying attention to it, and then you struggle to find it again.

Also, great article you shared there, really enjoyed it!

All the best to you too! :)