You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How do you deal with someone that's always late?

in #life7 years ago

I don't view time quite the same as many people do, but I'll share mys perspective if you'd like. :) I feel that we are all always where we need to be when we need to be there. Those that choose to share time with you obviously value you and dictating when and how they share that time isn't exclusive to either party. I don't promote vindictive behavior, but if you feel it's disrespectful or bothersome to you, then you need to discuss it with her and if your perspectives don't align then maybe it's time she is the one left showing up after you stopped waiting around a few times until they come back into alignment. Just my thoughts.

Sort:  

Well I am a Buddhist and I believe that at least in part..... time is an illusion. However, I cannot deny the fact that there have been times when I have been left waiting.....which is especially bad in the hot Texas weather. She and I have had the talk and the basic decision was that if she's 20 minutes late or more she will buy lunch. I personally would never make a date with someone and be 20 minutes late but then again we are different people.

LOL this coincides with my post from today perfectly. How much is that free lunch worth?

Spending time with my mom is priceless because one day she will be dead and I will never be able to have lunch with her again after that day. That didn't stop me from accepting the free lunch today though even though it was only $5. 40 minutes in the hot sun? Probably worth about $25 to me if I had to pick a number.

It's good to know that they time we share with others is priceless. Keeps priorities in perspective.