You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How A Medical Mistake Changed Our Lives Forever

in #life6 years ago

Seriously, after what they put your body through, how could they have tried to say "postpartum depression because of age"??! Incompetent MFers! I'm so sorry you had to go through all that. It's fucking madness how incompetent they were!
I'm so glad you are in a better place. I relate to the fog. I live in one almost all the time. I twice had a moment of crystal clear clarity such that I was trying to describe it to my therapist like a spontaneous high. Nope. Just for a moment, a window of no fog. I honestly hadn't remembered what that felt like. But I don't have a real diagnosis. I mean, I have psych diagnoses, depression, PTSD. But that is not all of it. When I found out the weird times (that I thought meant I was losing my mind) I was having were seizure symptoms, I finally got to see a neurologist, who said, well, that would be really rare because that would mean seizures in different parts of your brain, so I'm not even going to test you, I'm just gonna call it a migraine. But let me know if that changes.
I gave up on trying to get answers or seeking help at that point. You have "mental illness" on your record and that's code for "every doctor will think you're a hypochondriac because you can't be depressed AND have other problems at the same time, apparently." There are days I can't walk without slamming into walls and I lose hours of time, but okay, I'm just depressed.
I don't understand why doctors become doctors if they don't give two shits, they could just become banksters if they want money, but I digress.
Sorry, didn't mean to rant, there.

Sort:  

Don't be sorry, ever!
Crap, I am so sorry you are struggling with morons. Sounds like they are dropping the ball (which doesn't surprise me) with you.
Truthfully, I have made the most progress on my own. Only one doctor presently will admit that my state today is a direct result of their mistakes, but the last few months having to re-explain what happened to new doctors.....I see their faces. No one can believe it. They are just people, they make mistakes on us just like we make mistakes at our jobs. And some people suck at their jobs.
I am so here for you. I am here to talk anytime...about anything. Much love to you <3 xoxo
*** oh...the postpartum diagnosis?? Literally from a book. He was showing me how "classic textbook" it was. The combo of the three made it a sure thing. Pills would clean it right up...ugh.

"truthfully i have made the most progress on my own"

this is so good for me to read. i've had chronic PCOS and issues with my periods ever since starting at 14 and the doctors have always failed me. lately the issues have gotten worse and i am SO tired of going to the doctors i just haven't (have tried natural doctors too)... i am getting strong intuitions to just go at it on my own... rosemary gladstar and other herbalists are allies... don't mean to hijack this comment thread, but that phrase really stuck out to me. thanks.