You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm Afraid Of Eating In Front Of People...

in #life6 years ago

I believe everyone, or at least almost everyone, has some type of fear. Mine is, and always has been, being able to talk correctly. I had a really bad lisp while growing up. To the point that I had to go see a speech therapist. So, because of that I felt I was different than all the other kids.
That there was something wrong with me. I believe that to be my reason for shying away from interacting with others, among my fear of others.
Even to this day I only hang around a few people. I still fear judgement from anyone I talk to. Because I focus so much on what I say, I tend to trip
over my own words, and find myself getting tongue tied. I watch the reaction in the faces, to see if they "thought" I must be stupid. The only ones I am relaxed around, are those I have known a long time, because I know they are ok, and understand..
Maybe someday, we will all find ways to conquer these fears. Honestly, I too hate eating in front of others. I hate the way I chew, I guess.. :-)