You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Abused & Rising Above: Picking A Partner is Paramount! Part I

in #life6 years ago

This is a sad story but an important one. You have obviously had a hard life and dealt a poor hand.

It is true that your life is because of your choices and only you can do something about it now, but its also true that you were who you were because of them and it is their fault.

It doesn't help to be angry anymore or to blame and use it as an excuse but its important to realize that al they gave you for an example was dysfunction and there for all you could emulate was dysfunction.

That is why I try and educate as much as possible, show real living examples of functional living and inspire solutions for life problems.

At least now you are safe and don't have to worry about being teased by peers, beaten by parents or husbands or even half to work a job just to support your family. Now you can actually live.

∞§∞Blessings∞§∞

Sort:  

Yes, and even more important that just living I have the most amazing opportunity to thrive in the remainder of my life - thanks you to @quinneaker! Even more important than what I wish for myself is that my children won't have the previously shit example of me and my ex as their ONLY example of what life can be like. Not only are they surrounded by much better people then they have previously encountered, but I know even my own energy is getting better as my dysfunction ebbs and resolves. I of course want great things for me, but knowing the impact this will have on my children's entire life means even more! Thank you for spending the time educating people - especially me - on the better options available. These last few weeks especially I can't tell you how many times my default reaction to something Patrick did was to be irritated or upset and I just thought about what you said and I would repeat to myself, "Be exemplary and be the better example for them." It really helps put things in perspective!

As a side note I'm really not mad at my parents anymore. They made bad choices, and they continue to make different bad choices and because of that they no longer have a daughter. Just because I have come to resolution within myself about who/what they are doesn't mean I would ever want that crazy back in my life lol. I know now that I get to choose who is part of my existence, and I damn sure am not going to waste my time on people who won't appreciate or deserve it! Thank you!