Made It Out!

in #life4 years ago (edited)

Well I made it out of the UK Yaayy!

Presently sitting in my car on Le Shuttle having one of those taking the amazing engineering tech for granted while trying to figure out if the guys in the van parked behhind are gonna able to see me using my piss pot in a minute.


I'm writing this in notes on my phone - while the steering wheel is most useful for making the car go in the desired direction it makes using a laptop sitting in the driver's seat a bit too awkward.

I managed to get nearly everything I wanted to bring into the car - had to leave a few bits behind on order to travel a bit lighter.

It was quite a tiring day in all - Finishing off the packing, literally clearing the house of everything - a 4 hour drive to Kent and a 1.5 hr stop off to dump some stuff off at my Dad's and a repack of the car, headlight adjusters on (I think they're legal!?!), a moments annoyance when I realise I don't need my GB magnetic plates as it already has that on my number plates, and finally here I am en route!

Postcript...

Now I'm stuck in traffic on some A road in France - I mean I've been starionary for about 20mins already - probably some Brit getting confused about what side of the road to deive on.

At least it's given me time to sort my mobile data out and figure out my route - you drive off Le Shuttle and yer just straight out which is fije unless you've got no idea where yer going like me.

Yay!

Fist time using Dapplr btw I think it may have messed up the formatting?!?

Oh well needs must, in more ways thab ine!

Posted using Dapplr

Sort:  

have fun, just don't mistake the piss pot for anything else and drink it. Have a good trip. You fancy taking a detour to Switzerland for a few days?? more then welcome here

I'll try not too!

Thanks for the offer but I really want to get into Portugal asap!

!ENGAGE 20

Posted using Dapplr

Portugal? You heading to Penamacor to meet Alex? Nice.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Safe travels and don't slam on the brakes and spill your piss pot.

It has a very reliable seal no need to worry

!Engage 20

Posted using Dapplr

Awesome you made it out! Though for a Brit your driver's seat seems to be on the correct side. ;-) Or is the photo just mirror-reversed? Anyway, hope you have a safe and pleasant drive down to the end of Europe.

Right hand drive - defo the wrong side for France - I have to get out to get my toll tickets!

Posted using Dapplr

Congratulations @revisesociology! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Update for regular authors

Hmm...I see loads of room in that car behind you revise; You could have fitted that hoover.

Don't worry about the formatting mate, just a few typos is all...We get the idea though. Safe driving mate.

Hey cheers!

Posted using Dapplr

Kudos to you for going for it!! I hope everything works out and look forward to reading of your adventures.
PS Is that the kitchen sink I see poking out behind you?!!

Safe travels mate. Take plenty of breaks. Looks like typing on the phone is a bit hit and miss, but we got the message. Just stay off the !BEER when driving.

Bon voyage!

Cheers!


Hey @revisesociology, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Safe travels!

Hey cheers! Just had a bit of s nightmare with a flat tyre but it's getting sorted!

Posted using Dapplr

Have a good journey! Let's hope the rest of it is better than the first moments "in Europe" ;)

LOL, congrats on the escape :)

BTW in Portugal (at least in the South) watch out for the great shit-trap involving toilet paper! Most of the thrones are built with narrow piping, so TP is generally placed in a bin/bucket and not flushed down with the jobbies. Even a small amt of flushed TP could cause a blocked toilet and a messy overflow 😲.

Enjoy the drive South and good luck with getting launched!

OK thanks for the tip! I think that's the case in quite a few countries.