You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Six Greatest Failures Of The Self-Improvement Movement: How Self-Help Can Become Self-Destruction...

in #life7 years ago

I have been on a journey of self discovery for a couple years now. Something happened one day and I realized that I don't enjoy the cubicle life... Hell, I don't enjoy being employed by someone who inherently believes he has some superiority over me based on his position and pay rate received from their employment. I don't like someone treating me like I am less than them just because "they are my boss." That's what lead me to self employment. There is literally endless opportunity on the internet. There is literally a market for EVERYTHING! And that means that you can literally make an income and job out of anything that you are passionate about. It doesnt matter if it is cats, dogs, snakes, trees, gardening, weight loss, smoothies, recipes, vegan, woodworking, smithing, weight lifting, hunting fishing, camping, survival.... IT LITERALLY DOESN'T MATTER WHAT YOU ARE PASSIONATE ABOUT, YOU CAN BE YOUR OWN BOSS!

You can make blogs, make social media accounts, build webpages, make youtube videos, make pinterest pins, and the list goes on and on! There are so many things you can do to put products in front of people using the internet. Most people don't even realize it, but every time you share nearly anything on mainstream social media you are sharing it and making the creator money off ads and affiliate products.

I only go in so hard about self employment because it wasn't until I was self employed that my vision truly changed. I see the world differently now, but before I got here I was blind to all this. It's very empowering and I wish that it happens for anyone with the determination and drive to make it happen. After all, there is no difference between you and the people that own these businesses. Maybe some formal education, but as an autodidact myself I believe you don't need all that to get where your going. Best of luck to everyone.

Sort:  

I hope my vote, can be the vote to get you out of your cubicle!

I appreciate that, I didnt mention that as of April 1st, I have been self employed through the internet for 2 years. Now, my cubicle is my house, but I like it this way. I get to be here for all the important things with my family. No one is ever telling me when I have to be where and what I have to do. I get to be my own boss. Of course, if I don't work, then I don't get paid. But I greatly appreciate your wishes and intentions! <3

I once read a personal development/self improvement book that contained the sentence, "From the cradle to the cubicle..." It was the most depressing thing I've ever read.

You actually "get it". I teach, you help yourself by helping others. If we concentrate on quality of life rather than quantity of monetary rewards, we get to enjoy both. I really enjoyed your post.