Sort:  

I once almost collided with a moose head-on, the memory is slow-mo but in real-time it felt like it was just a few frames, me noticing it standing there with that dumb face looking at my lights, me deciding to turn slightly left but not too much as I was driving 130km/h and hearing the collision of my right side mirror hit the moose.

That intense concentration due to slowdown and veering left may have saved your car + Mr Moose! My encounter was in the 70's yet I still remember it vividly, and have never had another since.

Yeah most likely my life as well, as a friend put it, their legs break instantly and you'll find yourself with the body right through the windshield in your face if you don't swerve. Funny thing is I stopped the car after it happened, made a u-turn to drive after the mirror and as I'm making another u-turn to go after some friends at the airport I was heading to (which is why I was driving so fast as it was 3 am and no other cars in sight), I saw it look at me from the hill it had run off to after I hit it.

I'm thinking Final Destination 2 now and the log scene through the car window. If you have seen it you will know what I mean, death may be chasing you.. for recompense!

In my memory, yeah, I can see the car hovering. In life it was overstimulating. Too much to take in all at once, yet there it is, but still managed to process it all. The adrenalin was pumping. That's what usually causes the slow motion effect, I think.

I have read about it since.. it is adrenalin., as a boy of 10 I didn't know what the fuck was happening to me. I can still remember the details of a car crashing, the driver's head smashing through the windscreen (no seat belts then), and seeing the blood... red and plentiful.

That's our inner wild man. That's what helped us learn to not go poke the bear. Someone had to get mangled first, then the mind and body chisels that image into your head. If you need to tell that story so it doesn't happen to someone else, you need those details. Some of the first artwork on those cave walls depicts those scenes as well.