First Think Then Eat - #BecomeHealthy

in #life6 years ago


My #BecomeHealthy series is becoming more and more successful on Steemit. I have gotten tons of questions on how to build muscles, how to lose / gain weight and I haven´t studied this topic in college but I think the best way to learn something is to actually do it. I would like to spare you years of searching for the best strategy and introduce you to what works best for me!

I need to separate the posts and cut them into three parts. Build muscles - Lose weight - Gain weight

Everyone has different goals which means they need to do different exercises and eat divergent nutrition as well. Today I want to start with gaining weight since this topic was asked below my very first post of #BecomeHealthy.



G A I N    W E I G H T 

Some people are easily gaining weight and some just don´t. It can be as difficult as losing weight even if it sounds weird. Every person has a different metabolism which means that not everyone can easily gain weight. I have gone through this all. Most time of my life I was skinny because of the sports I did. Gymnastics, swimming, soccer, cheerleading and dancing. Those were the main forms of sports that kept me in shape. I even had times where I wanted to become a little bit more curvy but it was so hard to get this mass that I literally tried everything from shakes to fast food and so on... 

Going through all of this made me realize that no matter what your goals are, eating healthy is the first priority when it comes to a great physical state! 

I will do a separate post about the mindset later on because you can not start a new lifestyle with the old mindset. But first let me list a few things that will help you gain weight for sure! 


Homemade Protein Smoothies 

Eating to gain weight does not only require upping your calorie intake. In order for you to gain more mass, you should increase your protein intake as well.  While the average sedentary person needs just 0.36 gram of protein per pound of body weight, people who strength-train -- which includes those trying to gain lean weight -- should eat 0.73 to 0.82 gram per pound. It is important to meet your protein needs so that part of your weight gain comes from muscles but eating extra protein than needed can be stored as fat! Homemade smoothies are one of my favorite choices because they can be a highly nutritious and are actually a quick way to gain weight!

Please be aware of not buying smoothies from the grocery store because they are made out of added sugar and lack of nutritions


-These are some of my favorite recipes for weight gain -

( You can also choose vegan based protein which is my favorite but most people use the whey protein )


  • Chocolate banana nut shake: Combine 1 banana, 1 scoop chocolate whey protein and 1 tablespoon (15 ml) peanut or other nut butter
  • Vanilla berry shake: Combine 1 cup (237 ml) of fresh or frozen mixed berries, ice, 1 cup (237 ml) high-protein natural yogurt and 1 scoop of vanilla whey protein
  • Chocolate hazelnut shake: Combine 15 ounces (444 ml) of chocolate milk with 1 scoop of chocolate whey protein, 1 tablespoon (15 ml) of hazelnut butter and 1 avocado
  • Vanilla blueberry shake: Combine 1 cup (237 ml) fresh or frozen blueberries, 1 scoop of vanilla whey protein, 1 cup (237 ml) vanilla yogurt and sweetener if needed



Nuts And Nut Butters

Nuts have a huge amount of protein by still being very healthy without any artificial ingredients. Just one small handful of almonds contains over 7 grams of protein and 18 grams of healthy fats. They are very calorie-dense which means two handfuls per day with a meal or as a snack can quickly add hundreds of calories! But it is very important to look if the nut butters haven´t any added oils or sugar inside!




Don't Let More Than Four Hours Go By Without Eating

Your body needs a continuous supply of energy since it's like an engine that's always turned on! When you skip meals, you deny your body the fuel that it needs to keep going. The best way to prevent your body from losing mass is to eat regular meals that are spaced about three to five hours apart. It is very important to stay consistent in order to achieve your goals!



Do A Mental Check

Many people are losing weight during times of stress or depression. There are several tips that I can give you but it will only work if you are living a well balanced life. Make sure that you do not feel stressed all the time or find ways to deal with depressions. It is a serious topic but nothing is impossible and there is a way out! I will do a separate post about the mindset as I mentioned earlier but the mental check is important before you start to change your nutrition!



_______________________________


Above I mentioned my favorite tips and tricks on how to gain weight. There are a bunch of other examples but this is what worked best for me. Currently I do not only want to gain weight, my main focus is on building muscles and strength. I am looking forward to the next episodes of #BecomeHealthy and let me know if some of these listed tips helped you out! 


Thanks for reading

Stay focused

Love, Soldier 

Sort:  

Thank you for that, it might help me to gain weight. I'm struggling with this for a very long time! :3

I completely agree with you ma'am.
"First think and then eat"🤗💙
Great and amazing post.
Very informative.
I really appreciate your work ma'am.
All these things which you suggested in this post are so important for keep our health fit.
I prefer to drink vanilla berry shake.
Its my favourite shake. 😍😍😍
Take a proper diet is so important for good health.

Thanks @soldier for sharing this post.

Upvoted + resteemed your post.

The best way to gain weight is to eat 6 high-calorie meals every day. Add food like cheese, olive oil, nuts , and pasta

I am skinny at last I saw a post that are not for losing weight. Many people told me to eat this and that, your post confirmed what really is good for me. though some of the food here are not available in my town. but thanks.

So true, We should first think then eat..
Great advice @soldier... Thinking about working out burns 0 calories, 0 percentage of fat and accomplishes goals

I used to take only banana shake to gain weight but now I will try your diet chart. I like your point that we should not skip any meal specially breakfast. Thanks for giving us every minute detail about gaining weight. I like your this series on health.
Have a great day.

When I have food I never think
Just never eat
Nuts are very wonderful I really love them very much
I wish you all the best

Really first we should think about that food and body after we should eat that if need. I am 100% agree with you.
Thanks for advise . Well done

@soldier Great Blog again about healthy living/eating/exercising -- Question - I recently started the Apple Cider Vinegar Detox/Diet aid and have blogged about it - Any thoughts on the topic - I know it got really popular about 4-6 months ago it seemd.. Thanks Soldier

Beautiful, sexy, slim, healthy and liked by the crowd, it's very cool :)

Its funny I've been googling this similar topic and found a pretty decent calorie calculator designed for gaining lean muscle https://ketogains.com/ketogains-calculator/
thnks for the post I need to try some of the smoothie recipes

Nice place and serene as well.
Healthy habit bring joy to the soul.
Keep on steemin’

Upvote & Follow! Nice post and some good advices. Feel free to check my posts as well! Best wishes from Germany

Yeah exactly @soldier everything is possible, there is always a way out. Good tips to gain weight but mostly people prefer to have lean body . Every one have different metabolism and its easy to gain weight then to lose it. Awesome blog

I am very grateful to enjoy your incredible content. I think a healthy lifestyle and exercise is everything :)

Wow this post is really helpful, 😂😂like am really skinny and I would love to put on some weight .thanks for sharing another wonderful post. I hope to gain some weight soon 😁😁

Thanks for the healthy recipes mam.... I will forward it to my sister... my sister also wants to gain weight. She tried from many days she try many things but no results. Lets see your recipe will work.☺

Sir Very Helpful Post ....Thanks for share

I Pray for you as if your health blog series is becoming more and more successful on Steemit.

To lose weight in just a few days without any effort, to lose ten kilos in one month without taking them back, or to lose 15 kilos quickly can not under any circumstances be the subject of a serious diet. No miracle diet of this type exists. On the other hand, chaining bad diets can lead to increasing weight and obesity.

cryptohealth :)

Great informative post
it help us

Good work and wonderful photography

Please Stop

In your your last 100 comments you used 30 phrases considered to be spam and you made this exact same comment 1 times. You've received 4 flags and you may see more on comments like these. These comments are the reason why your Steem Sincerity API classification scores are Spam: 76.60% and Bot: 3.90%

Please stop making comments like this and read the ways to avoid @pleasestop and earn the support of the community.

Great post, I love my home made smoothies and always try to always make healthy choices. Thanks for sharing your insights.

Awsome animation and photography........

Nice informative article........
Thanks for sharing.............

Eating healthy make us healthy and fit!

This is great photography and wonderful work

Incredible blog post the way you expalined here is awesome.This is just like starting from nothing series if we impliment this we will be healthy as its a tough part to implement.

Here the thing is opposite :/ I want to lose my belly fat :/ any thing for that?

This is amazing the quality you produce is awesome cant get better than this great work @soldier you are making steemit a healthy community.

Oooo i really need this! I have been making protein smoothies for the past few months and i can see that im gaining muscle but not weight. I think my problem is my small appetite.

good post, cheers I always forget to eat every 4 hours.
forgot are you a vegan/ vegetarian/ pescatarian?

food goals right there and that too healthy such an excellent post your shared for a foodie like me :D

Loved your post @soldier you were right on target with your suggestions.

One of my newest clients was asking me for tips on weight gain. I really love your shake shake recipes. I will definitely suggest your recipes to him.

Thanks sharing 💪🏾