How to trick your mind - Chapter 9

in #life7 years ago

Everyone who is following my blog know the series How to trick your mind. It´s about finding simple ways how to trick your mind in order to live a happier, more powerful and relaxed life. Since I am a big fan of illusions, I decided to write a post about optical illusions and how they try to trick your mind!



Optical illusions can affect almost all aspects of seeing. There are depth illusions, color illusions, motion illusions and a few more. In all these cases, the visual system seems to make false assumptions about the nature of the vision, as can be shown by the use of other senses or by removing the factors that trigger it. I personally love the challenge to find the truth behind all those illusions. I want to begin with a very popular illusion and the funny story behind this is, that I asked my family what color the dress had and everyone was answering "gold and white" although this dress showed a bright blue with black stripes in my opinion. This was the trigger for me to do a little research and show you some other optical illusions as well....


The dress

One year ago Buzzfeed posted a picture that went viral around the world. So many people were arguing about the colors of this popular dress. Some maintained that the dress is white and gold but others argued that the dress is actually black and blue. I read a funny story about this special dress...

The 21-year old Caitlin McNeill postet a picture of the dress a year ago. Her friend was getting married and the brides mother was sending this picture to show what she was wearing at the wedding but when the bride showed the picture to her fiancé, he truly disagreed in the colors. She saw white and gold but he saw black and blue. To make sure what the true color of this dress was, Caitlin McNeill posted the photo on Tumblr. and it went viral. What colors do you see ?



I see clear black and blue colors. There is no way to see something similar like white and gold. The manufacture confirmed that this dress is actually black & blue but white & gold was never available...


-------------------------------------------------------------------

The woman 

Now I want you to look 15 seconds to the point of her nose and after the time is over, look to the right and blink a few times... What do you see ? 



-------------------------------------------------------------------

Dirty mind ?

This is a great task to test if you have a dirty mind or not. Before I´ll give you the answer, look at those pictures and tell me in the comments what you think. Do not cheat!



Did you think about the lower body of women? This picture actually shows flowers blowing in the wind.... Next one 

To be honest with you, it took me quite some time to realize that its not just a womans body. 


In fact, these are just two men dancing around ....


-------------------------------------------------------------------


Nature 

Last but not least, the nature illusion. I am pretty sure that most of my readers see a beautiful lake besides a huge forest, am I right ?

The lake you see above is actually just a simple wall. 


-------------------------------------------------------------------


Move your head 

Now move your head back and forth to see the colors change size.


-------------------------------------------------------------------


Spot the number 

Can you spot the 8 ? And how long did you take, let me know


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Writing this post was so cool because optical illusions are always interesting and a lot of fun! What illusions do you know about?

Here are my last episodes of How to trick your mind 

Chapter 1

Chapter 2

Chapter 3

Chapter 4

Chapter 5

Chapter 6

Chapter 7

Chapter 8


Thanks for reading 


Stay focused

Love, Soldier 


*Disclaimer - Pictures taken from express.co.uk 

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

i can not find 8...

Paint or oil?

I would chose oil 🤔... If its painting, then its real good !!!

Actually it's paint!!! :D :D :D

No freakin way :D

Wow! I see it now, the white painted lines! great illusion!

I don't think that's paint

Great post.
Took me five seconds to find the eight. I thank my Quake3 childhood for that.

Anyway it took me about one minute or even more to (without reading the solution first) see the flowers in the wind, though. ; )

That wall photo was amazing. I only saw it after your revelation.

I would love to see more real-picture illusions of this kind

Thank you, glad you liked it!
Those illusions are truly mind fricking.... I would like to know in which color you see the dress I mentioned above

... White and gold. And even now, after several attempts, I just can't see it for its real colours. :s

in the dress i did not even see the black and blue o.O
Just white and gold, i'm normal?

Yeah you´re some kind of normal. 60% will see white and gold and 30% will see black and blue. The other 10% will see completely different colors. There are many scientific solutions out there but I dont know who´s opinion is right. Just so crazy that we see it differently. I see clearly black & blue

Thanks...for ruining my brain for the night! LOL

hahah your welcome ;)

Optical illution has been used for ages and this is coming in abig way in vr and augmented reality

I remember the blue dress thing was so popular like a year ago or the year before , it's literally mind fuc*ing :D

Yeah right ? Which colors do you see ?

Of course blue and black , no other way around it

white and gold! haha..here we go again!

hahah really? I see black & blue as well

I see black & blue too

it's interesting how everyone sees either blue/black or white/gold.

i wonder if someone has been in the awkward situation with a group of friends or family and seen a completed different set. interesting how the brain works!

I was the only one in the family who saw black & blue. Such a weird feeling :P

you tricked it hahah

Im so confused by that dress, so it's not white and gold?

What? You really see white and gold? I see clear black & blue colors

I thought the dress was black and white with a fucked up camera lens lol.

I saw lots of lady parts of course. This I figure they were flowers, then your post got a little borning lol

BRO!!!! Keep it up. I want to blog like you ;)

Thanks so much, glad that I can inspire you! Appreciate it

It took me about 2 seconds to find the eight, I was lousy with all of the others though, as for the dress I see it white and gold.

Just 2 seconds? Nice, it took me a little longer. I can´t believe it, the dress is actually looking white and gold for you? Thats crazy haha

The effect with the lake and the wall was really surprising!

Right? I was convinced that its a lake and shocked at the same time that its just a wall...

Super post ✅

Thank you so much! Appreciate your support

very cool. So what's the meaning if you see or don't see some thing.? Following

I´m not sure if there is a meaning behind it. These color illusions are just a matter of for example the lightning or your daily circumstances .... But I am not sure about other illusions, good question

The real question is: "How do I trick a girl to fall in love with me?"

haha, no tricks. Just be yourself and find someone who falls in love with the true you otherwise you need to trick her your whole life... Too exhausting :P

where is 8 in the text i can't found :)

Have a look at the 8th row on the right side ;)

I love this! In third grade I did a science project on basic optical illusions and color processing in our vision similar to some of these...

Have you seen the black orange and green US flag? If you stare at it for a minute, then stare at blank white space, you will see its negative as the standard red white and blue!

Oh yeah I have seen this one. Optical illusions are crazy. Thanks for sharing your experience from school! I would have loved to have this topic in school

Wow, nice trick with photo. Even though looking at her was pretty scary and
i will probably have nightmares.

Oh no, the picture you saw after it, was just a normal girl ... no nightmares please

it is lamp but ..

1_nachuncool.jpg

Haha I know tis picture ^^

Very interesting illusions!

Glad you like it

i like it, it was amazing made me stop and think on each photo. i am resteeming it. thanks for this post.

Thanks so much! Appreciate it

awsome this picture with the dress went viral on my country years ago

Yeah, it went viral last year right?

you like to be trippy and i like it

;)

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment

Thanks !

Very interesting soldier, the best for me is this. Great job

So crazy right ?

Yes soldier crazy but fun

Hi I am new to your blog, just started following you. This is very cool stuff, I look forward to more and checking through your back catalogue of course. Have a steemy day!

Thank you a lot, appreciate it! The other series are a bit different from the one you read today. It was like a funny edition, because I normally talk about more serious stuff

well I look forward to whatever you have to post and I hope you are feeling better from your sickness now.

Great post. It's really interest how the human mind and body works from a biological perspective.

Add conditioning from our past experiences and you get very complex and individual responses for the same scenario from different people.

You've touched upon a lot of the well know illusions and given great examples :)

Thank you so much, glad you like those illusions that I picked out!

Ah amazing mental brain fart post :)

Thanks !

That was amazing! Thank you for posting @soldier

Glad you enjoyed the post!

Mind Fuck :))

True, mine as well lol

You got me with the 'nature' picture and the wall. I would love to know how often our our mind gets tricked on purpose by advertising or the media in general, to make us behave in a certain way.

Keep on posting with such quality content and kind regards (:

This is such an interesting topic and I will do some research about it. Good point, we all saw the lake at the forest but thinking about the media tricking us same way is crazy....

haha love this one

lol @soldier who doesn't

Very lol way to trick the mind. Thanks 🐓🐓

Glad you enjoyed it :P

Thanks for stopping by. 🐓🐓

Don't trust whatever one sees, always get a second opinion. Whatever one sees is always up to one's prior assumptions and opinions.

Great write up of optical illusions. You manged yet again to produce an enjoyable read as always.

Thank you a lot. Really appreciate your kind words!

Finally, my brain starts showing some sign of movement. Thanks for sharing your hard work and helping my brain to move.

Your welcome :)

Very nice post I loved the dress it brought it back in my mind and made me laugh:)

What colors do you see ?

Here's another way to trick your mind.. .get drunk and talk to girls who aren't very good looking. What's your opinion of them after you get drunk?

Love this post, @soldier! I'm definitely following you now! Reminds me of the original painting I posted yesterday! Check it out: https://steemit.com/art/@stanhopeofficial/frequency-rising-original-painting

Fantastic as always! Keep it up really enjoy reading your posts! My brain might has taken some damage, but that's okay...

Really interesting post! I once had someone presenting something similar like this in college! Could keep on reading... You got a new follower :)

Oh man! What a post. You literally punctured my brain! Upped and Resteemed!
I liked this one! Because it is a nice meme too!

haha, hilarious. good find @ahsansaeed .

Thank you!

Nice and very interesting , yes this post is trick my mind. Lol. nice piece of thinking , love it

Great post. I seen the eight.

There are 2 pages
Pages