You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Book, The Bible, Cannot Be Proven as the Infallible Word of God, Therefore the Argument is Pointless

in #life8 years ago

Here is an excellent documentary I just finished watching about how we got the Scriptures (and efforts to undermine them going on today).

Rev 22:18 For I testify unto every man that heareth the words of the prophecy of this book, If any man shall add unto these things, God shall add unto him the plagues that are written in this book: And if any man shall take away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God shall take away his part out of the book of life, and out of the holy city, and from the things which are written in this book.

Sort:  

Are you the same guy that already shared this with me once?

Probably not. I did see it elsewhere on this forum which is what led me to watch it myself last night. It will now be the subject of my Sunday School lecture this week.

I also plan to share it everywhere this issue comes up. It is a truly powerful explanation of the forces at work both preserving and corrupting the Scriptures. In these last days, it is very important to be able to discern which is which.

Check the sources on this. It's not a scholarly work, it's a defensive political maneuver to protect a certain set of ideals as "the only real truth". The Holy Spirit guides into the knowledge of God, not man, not man's consensus, not orthodoxy. Jesus said this, "My sheep know my voice and a stranger they will not follow." Are you following Jesus, or men?

Jesus quoted Scripture in all that he taught and told us that His words would never pass away. If you find yourself disagreeing with Scripture, you will be criticized by Jesus the same way He criticized the Jewish leaders of His day:

Do not think that I will accuse you to the Father: there is one that accuseth you, even Moses, in whom ye trust. For had ye believed Moses, ye would have believed me; for he wrote of me. But if ye believe not his writings, how shall ye believe my words?

Okay, done playing with you. If you keep preaching condemnation at me, I'll flag every last one of your comments. So, state your opinion, bring your argument, but judge me again and we're done. Jesus and me are just fine, and when Jesus mentioned scripture, (pay attention, this is essential NONE of the NT had even been written yet), so step off your moral high horse, don't put words in Jesus mouth. Do you see that what He actuallly did here is not criticism, he says if they want to claim the law, they will be judged by the law. Since we are no longer under the law, there is now no condemnation. Good luck with that judgmentalism. Maybe he'll set you free from it some day.

How do you know that you are following Jezus and not men?
You believe that you are following him.

I obey His commands. That's what he asked. I do justice, love mercy and try to walk with humility. I work to love God with my whole heart and my neighbor as myself. He said his yoke is easy and his burden is light, so if someone wants to pile a heavy pack on your shoulders and expect you to carry that on your own (rules, extra-Biblical interpretation, judgment) then you are listening to a Pharisee, not a Christ follower.

Good for you. If you believe, you can act as such.
It all depends on the community, how long you will follow him and if you one day will realise that we all are poor people. Keep it up as long as you can, for your own happiness.
I remember from my time as a child, that I had to lie when I had to go to the confession (how many times did I do that little sin / 5 or 10 times/ who cares!). Those priests in the confession-chair must have had good times, when they see all those children practice to become good liars.