The Myth Of Geographical Cure From Emotional Pain

in #life5 years ago

“Going away won't change anything if you're running from yourself.”

j3.jpg

You can’t run away from home. Because home is in you. Moving/traveling/escaping to somewhere else won’t make your emotional issues go away, as wherever you go, you take your baggage with you. Seeking an external solution to an internal problem is an approach that will ultimately resort in failure.

A band aid may cover up your wound, but it doesn’t heal it. The only way to go at it is to face the music. To feel every beat of it. To connect with each melody within you - even those tainted with sadness. It does not matter how far you go from where you are now. You’ll still be the same you, whether in Japan, Uganda or Australia.

Your internal reality won’t suddenly change because the external world around you is different. Just like self-introspection isn’t a way to escape reality, but rather a practice that helps us make better sense of it. Living life through the shadows of unconsciousness paves the way for a troubled existence. If you close your eyes to what desperately needs to be seen, how can you possibly grow?

We love to buy into our own very personal and filtered delusion, but the truth is that delaying our healing isn’t doing us any good. Just like the quite unpleasant process one has to go through before boarding a plane, we ought to take ourselves on the same kind of procedure to verify if our internal self does not have existing sources of foreign / toxic / dangerous materials inside it, ready to cause damage.

The same way that it is not safe to accept passengers who carry such things on aircrafts, it isn’t safe for us to walk around the world bringing with us unaddressed pain. Because as a matter of fact, our emotional issues will spill out in different ways, whether we want to admit it or not.

The bottom line is that you will always be part of the equation. You can add or subtract variables, change location, add people to the equation, numb yourself all you want, but at the end of the day it won’t change what needs to be changed. It will only camouflage what needs to be seen.
Your pain is calling you. Stop letting him hit the voicemail. Don’t block him. Don’t change phone number. Take all the inner strength that’s in you, and answer.

Sort:  

Changing places doesn't "heal" you, but it does get rid of a lot of outside stresses. You still need to address certain things perhaps. But of course, that might actually be easier in a new place. Sometimes others really are the problem. Sometimes the stresses of certain people and the place where you live and really wear down on you.

It certainly wouldn't hurt a lot of people to go to places where they can actually afford medical and be able to get help with mental care...which we don't really tend to realize that everyone kinda needs to a certain degree. Maybe everyone doesn't need medication or even a psychologist, but they do need guidance. It's just that often we rely on friends and family for some of that. But sometimes they suck at it or you can't really talk to them about it.

Or sometimes people can't get a good job where they're at.

Or they live in the middle of nowhere and it's a pain to even go to the store.

There are a lot of stresses that moving can change...even if it won't deal with your personal issues. Of course, it might allow you to deal with those issues, or at least recognize that no, it's not because everyone around you is a dick, it's you.

That is very true indeed @geekpowered. Sometimes the external environment can truly be the cause of one’s emotional issues. Especially when they have no control over it- or don’t have the possibility to escape from it.

You’re absolutely right to point out that we all need some form of guidance in life. One can’t possibly journey through life entirely alone. We are social creatures, and we need one another to survive. While I’m saying this thinking in the back of my mind how badly I’d love to live in a shack in the middle of the forest, i nonetheless recognize the importance of being well surrounded, even if it’s just with one person or two, that make life a worthwhile adventure.

Truth be told, this world would for sure be a much improved one if everyone saw a psychologist on a regular basis;)

thinking in the back of my mind how badly I’d love to live in a shack in the middle of the forest

That is perfectly valid. Yes, you do need human interaction, but you also need personal space. Maybe some day you could find a place that's on a large enough property that it could have a bit of nature and personal space, but still close enough to society that you can still get good internet and get to like the market and maybe a few other places.

Truth be told, this world would for sure be a much improved one if everyone saw a psychologist on a regular basis

I keep thinking about this lately. Like...I don't know if everyone really needs "therapy", but people need someone to talk to during a lot of tough times. And they need to learn how to deal with normal things and emotions. I've talked to you before about the whole idea with like school. I think maybe if we were taught how to deal with our emotions, and then just occasionally were able to talk to someone, we'd all be healthier for it.

If one of your internal pains happens to be, for instance, from unfelt/repressed anger - then there might sometimes be safer/better places to face that then your current situation.

It's always better to address what is bothering you before it gets to that stage...but I guess if you're already there, maybe taking a break and having time to address it would be really helpful.

If you grew up in a family situation that didn't allow you to express unapproved (although totally appropriate because of some ongoing abuse) emotions, then they can get all bottled up even though to outside observers it seems like an "ideal" family.

Oh yeah...that's not healthy. You gotta be able to address things. That's what makes people blow up.

You put it so well here @onceuponatime

I bet you say that to all the commenters :-)

I dunno if I could have cured you but seems like I could have helped you out in Michigan. lol

you're funny:P
With your apple trees?:P

Apple trees and a "little bit" of communication. ❤️

I'm a little low on Voting Power right now but hopefully I can upvote you in the AM. Steemit sure can be a pain to do right. lol

awww you're too sweet! Don't even worry about it:-)

I wouldn't have worried about it if I knew it was going to be worthless anyways. :( It's too late to use a bot on it too. This hardfork was not very nice.

It is very true that "wherever you go, there you are". And you can't run away from what is inside of you, because it will still be there. You have to turn around and face it.

BUT

You can move to a place that allows you to express more or more openly what's inside of you. After all, if I was wanting to express my "inner fisherman", and I was living in the Sahara Desert, I might have greater opportunity to do so elsewhere :-)

And if I wanted to express my inner love of solitude, the high Himalayas or a B.C. wilderness might facilitate me better than downtown Hong Kong.

You make excellent points that I can’t possibly refute ^^ rare are the “ BUTS” that are filled with such insights:P

But on the other hand now that I think of it, "BUT" sounds so rude. I shhould have said "on the other hand"

I enjoyed reading your posted content. I agree. It has been said that you can't change people, places, or things.

That only leaves yourself.

I have had three mentors in my time.
One, early on in a personal struggle asked me what was I running from? It made me aware that I was.

Another said, " in the meantime it's going to be a meantime.".

A third taught me how to live in reality. Describe yourself as if you were telling a blind person what you see.

Thanks for the thoughts. And thanks for listening.

Posted using Partiko Android

Powerful insights your mentors gave you. ✨🙏🏻 Thanks for your sweet words:) it means a lot xoxo

This is a beatiful message. I'm struggling with my internal problems and they are difficult to overcome because they have almost living with me all my life. But this is the real thing, to face them with love and cleanse my soul.
Thank you for these kind words of you.

Aw!💜 your message goes straight to my heart. I feel for you. Especially when you say you’ve been carrying them your whole life. It gets heavy. “To face them with love.” You said it best my friend ❤️
Love is the answer to so many things.
Sending much love and prayers your way 💚
Thank you!💫

Recieving all the love and prayers.
Thank you very much @steemityourway
Now I write with love and it feels much better.

Congratulations @steemityourway! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 comments. Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!