You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tyred

in #life2 years ago

I've had a few flats in my time. I think someone goes around scattering screws on the roads near me. There was one blowout on the motorway that left the tyre well shredded. So I have had to change a few. Need to know the tricks :) I was once complimented on loosening the bolts before jacking the car up. Just have to hope the garage hasn't overtightened them with their air tools.

Duct tape would last about 5 seconds on the road if it even kept the air in.

Some cars don't even come with a spare these days. Use some goo to seal the puncture and use an electric pump. You would think we'd have self-sealing tyres as standard by now anyway.

We all know you're a real many anyway.

Sort:  

I have an electric pump. I just post any thoughts on my head when I saw the spare was flat! I was like heeeeelp

I had the goo but I used it on my bike. It didn't work too well.

I think a blowout on the motorway would be freaky.

Tis my first one, I hope I do better on my next! :0D

A flat spare does leave you pretty screwed. I used to drive a Beetle and that used the air pressure in the spare to drive the windscreen sprays. I assume it might need pumping up to compensate now and then. I bet most people rarely check their spare.

I must confess I have never checked my spare. I kinda assumed that it would be checked during my MOT but I think, like the Aircon fluid, it might be something that they don't do!