Dog walk diaries: Snowed in

in #life5 years ago

When I first moved to Finland I had the impression that with the amount of snow there'd be, a few snow days here and there would happen. I remember that the first time it snowed very heavily during the night I was wondering what would happen when it came to getting to work the next day. It has been 15.5 years, still no snow day.

Supposedly in something like 25 years, the Helsinki Airport has only been closed for 20 minutes due to weather conditions, which is pretty incredible considering the massive volumes of snow that can fall in a very short time here. However, over the last 5-7 years, the clearing of roads in my city has been increasingly relaxed as they introduced cost cutting measures. It is actually a little silly because the additional wear and tear on cars as well as accidents carry a much higher cost but, the government doesn't have to have the costs on their books.

These are some pictures from around our apartment as I took the dog out this morning. The dog hates the rain but loves the snow and unfortunately eats a fair bit of it along the way meaning, he has to go out again not too long after. It is hard to see from these pictures but it has been snowing quite heavily and there is a lot more snow than usual.

These are the views from inside our apartment at the moment and as you can see from the last one on the balcony, the snows have been piling up against the windows. A lot of people in Finland dream of owning their own house but, I am not so keen on having to dig my car out and do all the snow work each morning to get to work. At least for now, an apartment suits us well enough.

While we aren't actually snowed in, my daughter has got another flu which means that our Daddy / Daughter Sunday coffee might not happen. Spending a few hours away with her one of the things I look forward to in my week, as it is one of the rare times that there is no work to be done and I can just enjoy sitting and talking with her over a coffee and a milk and playing through the shopping center stores. Hopefully next week.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]


View this post on Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Sort:  

Oh my what show of snow, I can regrettably say that I haven't seen snow, photography work is definitely top knotch

There are pros and cons to the snow. After 15 years, I wouldn't mind a little less sight of it ;) Hopefully, one day perhaps you will get a chance to experience it though.

Hi Taraz. Snow is good for photographs and a holiday, but living with it is totally different. I used to moan about deicing the windscreen and couldn't imagine shoveling the snow first. I suppose it would just get time to get used to it and adapt.

I don't like the snow work or housework in general. In Australia I had my ow house but it was pretty low maintenance. The way they build here in my opinion is much too much with the wooden housing and extremes in temperature. People spend the whole summer fixing their houses and cottages, waste of time :D

Ha. Love that opening shot. Little dogs in snow are great.
Power to everyone's health.

He is low to the ground and picks up everything :D

Where I live in the east coast of Australia if it even snowed the place would stop. Sounds like they have the snow thing handled the in Finland.

I remember watching a Rugby game from Canberra where there was snow on the ground. It was pretty funny :)

I guess you are already travelling around countries and here I am still waiting to travel out for the first time.

I have travelled a fair bit in the past but not in the last few years. I hope you get the chance to travel one day.

Great pictures! I have often said that I love snow but only when visiting or going to ski but can’t imagine living with it every day. Getting to work in that must be awful! Hope your daughter gets well buddy.

Posted using Partiko iOS