You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't Be A Fool, Drop Out Of School! Advice To Young People On How To Live The Good Life

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I'm a high school teacher (Spanish, Business Spanish, Medical Spanish) that introduced his class to cryptocurrency last year.

My students learn things and experience things.

We're not all brainwashers.

This! ☝️

Thank your for saying something out loud here that I was angrily thinking reading in my head reading this post @nepd. I'm so tired of the over generalized "school sucks" narrative I see pushed sometimes. I don't discredit people having negative experiences in school. But, I generally do discredit those who assume that everyone has such experiences and characterizes all education as "brainwashing".

School taught me to think critically about life situations and carefully weigh every side of an issue, not make overgeneralized assumptions about things of which I am not an expert. And that's exactly what I've taught my students as well.