Reflections on a cup of tea

in #life2 years ago

I am having a lime blossom tea, bought by a Spanish friend in London from a local Polish shop :D That is one of the perks of living in a multicultural capital.

as-verna-5kb0HwTHqTg-unsplash.jpg

Credit Photo by As Verna on Unsplash

I had a long talk with a good friend of mine that used to live in London and now is living back in Romania. He is trying to change his job and has received an offer to work for the same company that decided to kick him out during the pandemic. We touched a lot of subjects as both of us like to talk, and he was asking my advice on the offer. I am quite often a practical creature and my friends cherish this quality and they ask my advice from that space. His opportunity probably is a good one but for me living in Romania just does not click my heart anymore.

I used to love the peculiarities of my people, the mountains there still make my heart sing, but slowly slowly I grow out of it. I dont miss it anymore, I have my family that I deeply love and I will visit them often, but that chaos does not suit my lifestyle. I love my typical coffee Saturday in a country where no one will ask my age on a job interview (or my gender) or look strange as I like often to eat alone in pubs. For me is less and less likely to go back, even when I will retire (if ever)

However one of my most important points is that in a big conglomerate truly international city is difficult to find love. Is less likely to bump on the streets on your next partner and nowadays the dating life is a complicated set-up that does not necessarily fulfill our need for deep companionship. I have not lost hope, but somehow my effort towards finding it, the true and only love has lost its drive. I am very picky in my search for the right partner, but I have the luxury to have plenty of real friends that somehow can make up for the missing part. As I said to my friend, job sure is an important criteria, however, for him having a deep connection with some lovely female might be more valuable in the life balance.

In the end, money will make the difference only if you have all the other inner needs fulfilled. Still to be so blessed to have good enough friends that are willing to share scares and dreams over a cup of tea, from somewhere far away on the world map, is sometimes too good to be true.

Hugs,
Teodora