You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: IN MEMORY OF MY FIRST BORN SON JASON RAPP

in #life11 months ago

Thank you Rick, and thanks for reblogging it! I appreciate this. I am working my way through this and my days are pretty much preoccupied right now, desperately wanting to time-travel back to happier times ..... so many photos I had lost on crashed drives when I didn't know any better to do backups. When last we talked, there were plans for him to come to Austria for a visit: my sister was going to help finance it - my sis, who just lost her husband a few months ago. It has not been a good year .......

Sort:  

It really is true that when it rains, it pours. And it can be really hard to see through the fog during these times. Do you still have those drives? Did they completely die?

yes, I still have them. Maybe I should see if they can be recovered. One is a laptop, and two external drives.

Yeah, it really depends on how the drive is damaged, as to how easy or hard it is to fix it. For instance, I have had some old western digital drives fail where won't even power up. I bought an identical drive, removed the circuit board from it and installed it on the broken one and it worked right away. You have to get the exact same model drive though. If it has broken internally, this is more complicated, however.

WD is one of them, Lacie another. The laptop is a Acer.
The drive that works best for me is a 2TB Seagate. Thinking about getting another Seagate, maybe 5TB.