Golden Tip on Task Management That Will Benefit You A Ton

in #life6 years ago

checklist-2077020_1280.jpg

We all feel pride in saying that we are busy. It gives us a sense of importance and self worth because we feel like we are contributing something and not simply wasting our time. How much work we are actually doing is another thing altogether but still, we are ‘seemingly’ busy nonetheless.

Therefore we hear about a lot of time management tips from experts that can be really helpful if you can follow them to the word. I however, have taken a simple approach in life and that has worked out pretty well for me. Of course, I am not discouraging you from following any sort of time management techniques but I would at least advice you to give this one a try.

Basically, I consider this a task management technique rather than a time management technique because it’s a simple way to distinguish between the several tasks that we all perform in a day. If followed properly, this can also help you immensely to balance your work and personal life. So, what is this technique?

Eisenhower’s Decision Matrix

MerrillCoveyMatrix.png

I have been using this principle for too long now, without even knowing that this already existed as a pretty popular technique to manage your tasks. This particular decision matrix was given by Dwight D. Eisenhower and is perfect if you want something simple to follow.

Basically whatever the task at hand or in the future, all you have to do is decide in which of the four categories that particular task falls in and then you can decide when and how to handle it. Seems pretty simple right? That’s because it is! Let me explain how exactly it works.

So, there are four categories at play.

  • Important and Urgent
  • Important but not Urgent
  • Not important but urgent
  • Not important and not urgent


multi-tasking-2840792_1280.jpg

This is also the order of priority that one should take. Tasks that are “important and urgent” like any unforeseen circumstances that need your attention asap, fall under this category and are to be handled first. Sometimes you also have to reschedule other tasks for these ones.

Then come the second type of tasks where they are important for our long term goals (hence important) but they are not necessarily urgent. This may include exercising, creating a budget plan, some quality family time and stuff like that. Even though these tasks are not urgent they come in the second order of priority as they are vital for your longer term goals.

The third type of tasks include what I like calling the “nuisance” tasks. These are not important at all and yet you have to give immediate attentions to them. They can be the number one source of distractions for you and it is better to finish them off as fast as possible.

The fourth tasks are neither important nor urgent and this category is where most people spend their time. Wasting your time on social media and other non-productive things are all included in this one and you should dump them all in this and simply lock this one out as much as possible to increase your productivity.

So, those were my quick words of wisdom for you guys about how to do better task management. I have used this technique and have been using this for a long time. I hope you do the same and let me know how it works out for you. :)

Sort:  

Time Is Like The Sward If You Not Cut it,it Cuts You

I agree with you @reemy. You have to respect time :)

Yes, Time management and task management, both are totally different aspects and in my opinion, time management is, evaluation of wastage of time, then we have to use that time into productive work and in case of task management, we have to prioritise our task as per the urgency and importance. Thanks for sharing this post and this is surely helpful. 🙂

Stay Blessed.

Yep! They are different things and it is important to do both.

Agreed. 🙂

Any idea what to do if you have too many urgent tasks to do? How to get rid of them? You didn't mention that

I guess, you sort them out in the order of urgency too and just do one by one. If you can multitask, you could try doing 2 at a time, if you really have to.

This ideally should be the focus but then at times I realize stuck with so much around that I pick less time consuming one so at least I have 1 less from my list. that's not right but then you just tend to give up managing everything at once

Yeah, I totally understand that. I have been in the same situation as well. But we should still try to stick to this as much as possible.

life is so borring... when I can't earn :(

Effective task management requires managing all aspects of a task, including its status, priority, time, human and financial resources. But I think it differs from one person to another.

Yep, that's right. I agree with you there.

The third type of tasks include what I like calling the “nuisance” tasks. These are not important at all and yet you have to give immediate attentions to them. They can be the number one source of distractions for you and it is better to finish them off as fast as possible.

You just saved me from a lot of time-wasters I have on my to-do list.
Thanks for this @travel-cuisine. You're a life saver

haha I am glad! Thanks for the appreciation :)

Time management is crypto. The smarter you handle it, the more profit it gives you in the future.

I think being smart is the general thing to do when it comes to anything, really.

That time which we spent is non countable,,but if he/she does the best use of that time,she/he will prefer the title of "GENIUS"
#upvoted #resteemit

I agree. We should all use our time effectively as well as efficiently.

This is an amazing tip. I'm going to try it out as well.

Time is precious more than anything else in today's times. Managing it and keeping ourselves busy is an art that every individual should possess.

I totally agree. It is like an art and that's why most people don't really master it that well.