My Steemit Journey Begins from Now On

in #life5 years ago (edited)

My Steemit Journey!

Do you have some time to spare? Would you read my story to discover how I got on steemit? I would be glad to hear about your story too and learn from you in the comment below.
For the first 20 years of my life, I lived in a house with my single mum, who has been a lifelong hoarder though I was definitely not aware.
For years at a time, nothing that came into the house ever went out because everything was made to appear important and useful then or later and this can mess with a person in even more ways than you'd think.
You Grow Up With A Shame That Never Leaves You
There's a distinct anxiety that some kids have and others will never know: The abject fear of friends ever seeing their home.
By the time I was in primary school, I had learned every excuse in the book to prevent new friends from coming over. But teenagers aren't stupid; they could only hear the same things so many times before they started assuming I was getting up to something really freaky back at my place. They thought I had a dark secret, and they were right. Every time a relationship would get serious enough to necessitate to take them to my house, will be evasive, telling them that my mum will not be cool with me going home with my friend and if I did, she would beat me.
The Effects Aren't Just Psychological
I am in my 30s and I have never smoked, but my respiratory system is pretty compromised. I have all sorts of issues with dust. My childhood home was full of surfaces and crevices where dust could settle and collect, and one of those surfaces happened to be my respiratory system.
I Have Grown Up Terrified
Yes. Because very much, my idea of space was very much warped because things filled everywhere so as I write, I am very much agrophobic.

Because I lived alone with my mum, there was no opportunity to propose clear outs like we see in the reality shows because everything was made to feel important for later use. There was no way for mum’s friends to see and propose clear out either because everytime someone needed something and came over to ask, she always had some handy for the person so my house was a kind of pawn shop of antique.
I have grown up a hoarder myself
Due to the fact of my growing up in this environment, by practice and initiantion, i have grown up a hoarder because I have not grown up with a sense of disposing off stuff. It seems everything will be of need in the near future for me. I am having issues with my girlfriend who wants to dispose of everything whenever she comes around. I remember my first days in Europe and my first job for a clothing line. In our shop, when clear out sales were done, most of what remained were given to workers to choose from and the others given to charity. While others picked just about two or three and others none, I always went home with full bags for days till the things are shipped to the charities.

I am aware that I am a hoarder but i just can’t help it because I don’t have that voice within that tells me to throw something away. I am just attached to my things and I feel it is normal but I know that it is bad. Because I have thing this shame so much that I still don’t invite people over because my room is always messy. My woman, every time she is visiting, gets me to sit up and clear and hide things but I just can’t help it for now. I love her and I hope she will help me out.
I Still Love
I love photos and photography. Together with my favourite cousin, we have set up our photo studio(Elevation Photography) and I will be showcasing some of our works over here from time to time. I hope you guys will upvote our works to give us some boost in morale.
I love to love and help people who need my help and I am always ready to help. I love to argue and pitch my ideas against others. And I believe that we can defeat poverty if we all help pull others up.
So far this is my journey and steemit is a new chapter for me too to grow and expand and network. I know it is going to be a great ride after hearing about it on Youtube.
LOVE
Benek

Sort:  

OK HERES SOME HONESTY, YOU ARE NOT A HOARDER, THAT IS NOT A HOARDER... IT CAN GET THERE THOUGH.. IT'S JUST MESSY. IF YOU CLEAN YOUR ROOM, I PROMISE IT LOOK BEAUTIFUL. I SEND LOVE TO YOUR MOM. IT MUST NOT HAVE BEEN EASY FOR HER. RAISING A SON, THE SHAME OF HOARDING AND SHOWING YOUR CHILD THAT. MOMS DO THE BEST THEY CAN. SHE MUST HAVE HAD SOME LOSS. NOW THE POWERFUL THING ABOUT YOUR LIFE IS THAT IT IS ALAYAS ABOUT CHOICE. YOU EITHER CHOOSE TO THROW THAT ON THE FLOOR OR YOU PUT IT BACK WHERE IT GOES. I KNOW IT ISN'T EASY BUT YOU HAVE TO TRY IF YOUR SO PASSIONATE ABOUT NOT WANTING TO BE ONE. IN ANY RATE MY NAME IS FRANCESCA @PRETTYNICEVIDEO. IF YOU VER NEED ADVICE OR JUST HAVE A QUESTION, DONT HESITATE

Well, thanks very much but I am really working on myself to deal with this issue.

IT LOOKS PRETTY NICE TO ME.... DARE I SHOW YOU MY CLUDDER AND HOARDER SITUATION!!?? 😂😂 I HAVE A THING FOR OLD BOOKS. (NOT SHOUTING, JUST BLIND)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi benek
Thank you for your honesty ! And offcourse
Welcome to Steemit
I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you.
Blogging is what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money.
I have been here for a while and love it!
But be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !! They are yours.
For safety tips visit the white paper.

The Steemify App I use is also great, it is available in the Appstore and free, you can See Whats happening in your account. https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote

Also Appics and Steepshot are handy apps and Free. I wish you good luck steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Your value and input is appreciated and if you have questions let me know.
We (@xcountytravelers and I ) are presenting New comers in Our @Heyhaveyamet blogs, and There is a Discord called SteemTerminal for newbies and All questions, join in, I am on steemit everyday ! You can always leave a comment.
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands

Hello tuttobenek thanks for making Steemit your choice for Blockchain social media entertainment we appreciate that you took time out of your busy schedule just to join us and sharing this great post welcome your a Steemian now so please feel free to explore post and enjoy your new Steemit account with more of your awesome creativity because we encourage sharing so feel free have fun tuttobenek see you around all welcome enjoy

Welcome tuttobenek!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello and welcome to Steemit! Please edit and add the introduceyourself tag as well. It will get you far more attention. You wrote a very long post to start. Be careful about how many resource credits you use in the beginning. You may run out of them and be unable to post for a while.

I see lots of books and other materials on that desk. What are you studying? Are you going to a school for something? The pictures show a messy place, but I don't see any hoarding.

I used to do locksmith work, and I went into an apartment once of a hoarder. The place had narrow walkways through each room, but every other space was taken with stacks and stacks of waist high junk everywhere. It was disgusting because trash was part of it.

We reported it to the building managers, but I don't believe anything was done. There's nothing in a normal lease that prevents someone from being a hoarder apparently. From what I see above, you don't look like you have followed in your mother's tracks. That's a good thing, right?

In addition to adding the other tag please read this post for more tips and tricks:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@finnian/welcome-new-steemian-account-creation-steps-introduction-and-tips

Thanks so much for all the hints you have given me. Yes I am studying. I am doing Masters in Philosophy. I am still trying to wean myself from my mother's tracks

You're very welcome and good luck on your studies!

Congratulations @tuttobenek! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Welcome to Steem tuttobenek! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Welcome to steemit @tuttobenek.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Hi, welcome to Steemit, I joined this year and love it ! It takes time to get used to it here, but one thing I have found is it is good to post consistently and make comments on posts that interest you. hope you have fun on here, good luck !

Welcome enjoy engaging with the great community here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to the Steemian family! I enjoyed your first post. If you want to hear about a story of a lady who was a hoarder, she goes by the name "tiny dreamer" on YouTube. She went from being a hoarder to downsizing and living now in a tiny house! Her story might be a good inspiration to you. Thanks for sharing your story.

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to the steemit community @tuttobenek!
We sincerely hope you find all that you are looking for here, and have found a new home.
I found this post because @xcountytravelers and @brittandjosie at @heyhaveyamet promoted your post to help you grow quicker, and should you have any questions or need some guidance, you can go to the Steem Terminal in Discord here:

SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Have fun and happy steeming!

Hello @tuttobenek

Welcome to Steemit & Wish you luck - success with Steemit!

Currently, We're supporting for the Planktons by our small upvote. If you follow @haccolong you will get free upvote of 20 users. You may like it, Check statement here.

To get 3000points and receive additional rewards from your activities on Steemit, you can use Partiko app for your phone.

Please ignore this reply if you do not need the above.

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steem, Benek! There's no shame in being honest and in stating that there's something in your life that you'd like to change. A hug to you for growing up without being able to have friends come over for, though it was for different reasons, whenever I did have someone that I wanted to become friends with, they weren't allowed to visit my home. You're right, after awhile, people become suspicious and often (in my experience anyway) judgemental. Have you been able to reach out to a professional to assist you? It may be beneficial to have the aid of someone trained in helping you through this. Someone who truly wants to help but isn't emotionally as close to you as your girlfriend. I wish you success with your studies and hope that you find happiness in your journey on our platform. Should you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask.


We encourage everyone to explore the various posts and to leave personal comments on those that you wish (for example - thoughts regarding the content or a sharing of a similar experience you've had). This platform thrives through interaction as it's the best way to build relationships with other Steemians while finding communities and initiatives that peak your interests.

We like to advise bloggers to cite if images, videos, etc. used in their posts are of their own creation. This practice gives the creators an opportunity to have it clearly labeled that the works portrayed are the rightful property of the party posting it.

Another tip that we share with everyone is to be careful of copyright infringement when using material that is not of their original creation. Content (for example - images from a website) that grants permission for reuse is acceptable for content creators to utilize within their posts provided there is appropriate attribution to the source. Here's a link that will provide you with more information.


You've Been.png

We wanted to let you know, we have given you a 25% upvote, are now following you, and are introducing you to everyone we know. You can visit our post HERE.

You can also visit our discord server, The Steem Terminal, which is your one-stop location for learning about destinations on the Steem Blockchain & Discord. Here you will find people who are willing to answer the questions you may have as a new Steemian, documents to assist you, a place to learn and practice, and find out about the many opportunities to connect with other Steemians!

Welcome to the Steem Community.