If you can't say something nice. . .

in #life7 years ago

When it comes to saying things about people, I know I need to try to be Thumper from Bambi


source


But sometimes I am Clairee from Steel Magnolias.


source


Truthfully, I am somewhere in the middle of these two characters. I know it's better to keep silent when you have something to say about someone, and sometimes I do, but geewhiz, is it hard!

It's especially hard for me to keep silent when my feelings have been hurt by someone, or when someone does something that affects me or my family. 

I feel like there are people in your life that you're allowed to confess to, like your husband, mom, best friend, etc. Because sometimes when you say something that you are feeling out loud, they can help you cope with it, preventing you from hurting the person you are talking about. Sometimes it's healthy to get it off your chest to someone you love and trust, rather than let it eat at you and become worse.


source


I appreciate this quote by Mother Teresa. My favorite line is, "from the abundance of the heart, the mouth speaks." A heart filled with love will speak love, and I desperately want to be that way instead of someone who always dwells on the negative parts of people and speaks negatively about them.


What about you, are you a Thumper or  a Clairee?


Blessings!



Sort:  

You know I love you more than my luggage

Nice post! What will happening, if someone resteem your post?

I guess I am more of a Thumper... perhaps the result of having spent far too much of my life around people who seemed determined to go on "fault finding witchhunts," perhaps as a means to avoid their own insecurities. Perhaps you know the type: A person has 20 positive attributes and one negative... so they'll point out the one negative and pound it to death till everyone feels sad and miserable.

Thoughtful post-- thanks!

I know what you mean! That's a great perspective!

Most people say not nice things about other people. But they at least have the decency not to say it to their faces.

Such is the happy medium that society has stumbled upon.

I know, it is kinda silly, huh?

This post has received a 48.00 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @gringalicious. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

stay in a positive mind

That's very honest of you to admit that you tend to give into such a trait)) As strange as it is I feel like this thing we have in common. I would also like to be more like Thumper, but most of the times I can't keep my mouth shut and find myself saying things I can't take back...

Yes, it can be a problem to have a tendency to speak out about others. I am trying to be more like Thumper. 😄

Nice post.. I love your pictures. Check out my post too @jakemore .. Thanks

I think that it is natural to feel the burn in your heart from being verbally hurt and have the want to do the same to the other (like Clairee). But it is also natural to "want" to be a Thumper. I battle with this like any others, but I do find that when I am around some people in my life who are like Clairee, I almost get sucked into it and begin to be the same. I have to shield myself from it as much as possible in order to be the Thumper I want to be. I'm not sure if my reply was productive or not in helping you but it's just basically me saying "I know what you mean". :) Nice post!!

I agree with you! Thank you for your comment. :)

Beautiful post. My grandma used to say these things and they are so true.