You can be happy not being the center of the Universe

in #life6 years ago

My friend's birthday was a few days ago. But she wasn't as happy as she would be expected to be. She was talking to me about the love she's giving others and she isn't getting any in return.

I understood how she felt because I could relate. But when I talked to her about why her perspective was a bit twisted, I realized we are all the same in this. Once in a while, we need that reminder that we are not the center of the universe.

You are not the center of the universe


Source: Instagram - TheGoodQuote

"I'm grateful for every single thing. Every. 'Cus when I sit down and observe them carefully, there's nothing I've done to deserve the good things I have. Nothing. It's all God's divine provisions. He has many reasons to take them back. I'm always grateful.

My last birthday, I was working. The bathroom at my place of work got flooded and I was cleaning it up. My boss didn't even say "happy birthday". Even when I gave him 1 week, 3-day and 1-day notice.

But I kept the attitude of gratitude. Like, I was laughing while cleaning. 'Cus I know that no birthday ever in my life will be as bad as that again. I have that crystal-clear and surefire assurance. Like, it is absolutely impossible.

With gratitude in your heart, you can only view your life in an upward spiral.

But when you're seeing the glass half empty all the time, you pull yourself down. Downward spiral. It's literally a weight in your head that pulls you down.

No wonder happiness is described as uplifting. And when you're sad, you say "I'm down".

What am I saying here?

Be a glass half full person.

Appreciate the little things.

You know why you are upset? You believe you deserve something and you're not getting it.

Look at it well, we all deserve nothing. But we get things anyway. Express gratitude for what you get.

As soon as you do that, things start falling in your lap. You'll be too happy to notice how big your bounty has grown."

Sort:  

I take things as they come. Entitlement is a big part of expecting things to go your way I think.

Yes, when you feel like you deserve something and you're not getting it. It's like the easiest way to be unhappy.

With gratitude in your heart, you can only view your life in an upward spiral.

👆 👆 👆 👆
I won't forget the above line in a hurry.

We owe ourselves the duty of being/staying happy against the odds. Even when the people we care about seem to care less about us.

But there's a better way to ensuring happiness -
it's almost unbelievable though. It's simply to give out positive vibes to the universe 🌌 🌍. That way it's gonna ricochet back to us.

Summarily, 'what we give is what we (will) get'.

@fada-emma Thank you for your contribution. You make a lot of sense.

You're welcome Sir @uwemedimo.

Meanwhile, I'm undergoing some sort of personal therapy. This therapy owes its birth to an incident similar to the one you've highlighted in your story - being in charge of your happiness and by extension, your emotions. I've been doing this for over 30days now and the results are amazingly awesome ☺.

The therapy is simply to;

"smile 😂 at things that would naturally make me angry 😡".

PS: it's not as simple as it sounds. You'll need to employ a conscious effort in doing this successfully.

Have a great day!
By the way, where are you from?

This is really great @fada.emma. Do well to keep a journal during your personal therapy. So you can share your findings with others and help people too.

Good job.

I'm a Nigerian. You are too right?

Yes o. From the beautiful state of Akwa Ibom.

To love is to give unconditionally. To find own peace is to create own happiness. I do hope your friend will not stop loving just because there is nothing in return. Keep up the upward spiral. =)

You're actually on point. She mentioned that she was going to quit. Thanks a lot. Let's stay happy.

A lot of people need to read this, excellent man.

Very nice post bro keep it up

That got me! It's a nice one.

Thank you very much @ammyyd