You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Update On My Curation Habits and Why You're Better Off Buying Your Votes and Earning Peanuts

in #life6 years ago (edited)

You are only considering a few vote buyers and a few bots in this view. MOST bot users are just trying to gain visibility out of frustration with the lack of engagement and votes. The bots are great for keeping some of the minnows around they send. .03 cents and they gain a little bit of traction. Oh, how I wish we had them when we were little minnows.

There are some scammers and some who do things I would consider abusive. I flag them when I see them, because I am not a pussy and I don't care about missing out on a few cents in curation.

I am way happier with the trending page now than I have ever been. It is a surprise every day, and every single user can make a decision to put a real investment into their content to get some attention. Most of those users believe in the future of the platform enough to risk or even spend moeny on the bots. That is who I want to retain.

I LITERALLY don't care how awesome you think your writing/art/singing or how much you hate money or whether or not you want all these other people on the site who are moving money around on the site. I don't care. That isn't what it is about for me, and believe it or not I find no moral conflict in that. I do care very much about my character. I just don't care what you think of it, based on some weird arbitrary idea you hold.

If we take the bidbots away, we go back to the old crew on the trending page. I am not for that at all.

If people want to ban themselves from using the bots due to idealization of some absurd moral rationale, or commitment to a certain of content, fuck 'em.

Sort:  

I can only speak for myself, but things were better for me, personally, in the beginning - before the vote bots. I’m much worse off now.

Though a lot of other things have changed, as well.

I’ve never cared about the trending page, so I’m not sure where this weird attack is coming from.

The only thing I hate about the trending page is the fact that I’m not there. But it is what it is.

Other than that, I just find it boring. It’s always boring. But I recognize that I’m the problem because I just care about things that are pretty niche. Other people may find it fun, I dunno.

I only care about a few things here:

  • What I’m making, first and foremost. Most of my frustrations are due to my lack of rewards.

  • The few people who legitimately read and care about my content.

  • As a continuation of the above, I care about what they’re making. And want them to do better for purely subjective reasons.

Nothing else I really care about.

The attack wasn't personal, it was a list of all the weird things people say to justify hating the bots.

The reason your rewards are down is you are always telling your followers to stop upvoting you. Do you ever wonder if that is part of it.

In my opinion we have 2 big problems... Distribution, like 12 people have enough SP to give a decent vote. Which is what created the demand for the bots and engagement. So, here we are engaging. :)

I said nothing about hanging the bots. I just said I don’t get their point.

The engagement gained from them is fake. Those people don’t read, they’re noobies thinking commenting on a high paying votes will make them money.

People can use them all they want, I just see it as a waste of money, which I don’t understand.

But then again so are Toyotas, in my opinion.

Yep. I misunderstood. See my other reply. :)