You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Two Types of Ants in the Hurricane

in #life5 years ago

But it's true, the surge is more dangerous than the wind!
Haha I must be a hybrid ant too. Though the doomsday ants really pissed me off two years ago when they sucked up all the gas in the state three days ahead of Hurricane Irma. Who promptly changed course to head straight for my house. If we had been ordered to evacuate at that point, we wouldn't have got very far due to a million people who decided to get out when it was totally unnecessary to do so. Now I'm annoyed that the hype is already starting again, cause I need groceries and I suppose the doomsday swarms will be cleaning out the stores.

I have doubts that the people buying flats of 12oz water bottles are really from Florida. If there's one thing a Floridian ought to know, it's how to prepare for a hurricane.

Good luck, from the Gulf Coast

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Ha! Yea I largely agree with Over Confident Man. Rising water is undeniably the most dangerous. Where I live the Hurricane Matthew tide sliced the houses by the water in half. Such a bizarre sight to see. What I find annoying about Over Confident Man is that he acts like the wind of a cat 3 or 4 is no big deal. Wind that can rip off parts of your house or throw a tree on it is a big deal in my book :)

Oh yea, the gas is already gone here in North Florida and it is scheduled to hit in the south as of now. I think a lot of people are hoarding gas for generators. People testing them in my area make a hum in the distant air like a bunch of mechanical cicadas.

Good point, those water bottles are probably the northerners. I have looked at facebook off and on since the announcement of the storm since there is a lot of good local info on there. There are so many first-timer northerners freaking out.

Good luck to you too. Hopefully it will skip you and if it gets to me it will be a toddler instead of the body-builder at present.