You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your "hero" is my villain

in #life4 years ago

I get you girl. I have high regard to doctors and nurses, but I had my fair share of trauma with them.

When I was admitted due to dengue back in second year college, the nurses who looked like interns could not mount the needle of the dextrose well on the veins of my arms. They kept injecting everything that my mother got angry as she saw that I was in agony because of the repetitive injection. They just couldn't get it right. When the head doctor saw the situation, she took over and with just one injection, she got it. I didn't really mind it at that time because I was really sick.

When I was having a medical check-up for my employment, we happened to talk about the experience with doctors and nurses and injections and stuff. I shared the experience and said that I really felt like they were practicing on how to properly mount the dextrose. A nurse at the back heard it and interrupted. Maybe because he was offended by my remarks.

I couldn't blame him because it was his profession, but I can't just invalidate my remarks either because I experienced it firsthand. To agree with him means I was okay with what happened to me.

Which brings to your point. It really depends on the personal experience that we have certain biases. They're still commendable especially during this time, but there are experiences that made us feel uncomfortable around them.

Sort:  

A basic task they need to do but unfortunately is a common problem. I can relate :/
That's actually really painful and could also lead to patients developing phobia with it. Well, it is true and the nurse shouldn't try to invalidate you. I can understand that these interns still needed to practice but they need to know what they are doing first before getting to do that task.