You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Having a hard time. Got some very heavy news this week.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I am really sorry to hear about what you're going through brother.. Sorry to hear what your mother had to go through more than two decades.. But one thing you'll remember and tell your kids someday is that she never gave up the fight.. The doctors did, science and medicine did, but she didn't. Your kids and their kids would know someday that this family once had someone who lived a soldier's life.. One doesn't necessarily have to be on the battlefield to be a fighter or a soldier.. what I just read here in your post, this is what makes someone a fighter. Most of us give up, our willpower gives up.. the urge to live and keep fighting gives up within us. But your mother, against all odds, kept on marching right ahead for more than two decades.. It is so easy for someone like me to just type 'two decades', only your mother knows what she went through during all this time.. And of course you, your family, who have been there for her ever since.

I can imagine what it must be for you and your family throughout these years.. and how you all must have coped up with the pain you saw in her eyes every day and every night. I thank you for having the strength to share this with us. Cherish all the time you have with her now.. Make each moment count.. Pray for her, as I pray for her, too.

"To him we belong and to him we shall return" -- This is what my religion tells me.. this is what I have held on to the few times I witnessed a loved one saying their final goodbye to us. Not being religious in any way, just letting you know that you, your kids and your whole family will have all the wonderful memories of your mother with you, forever. Hold on to that, keep telling the world about this story.. Keep showing the strength she had, the strength you had while writing this post.. the amazing strength that runs in your family.

My prayers are with your mother. Thank you for sharing this with us.