👨‍💼 My Entrepreneurial Revelation on the 9-5 Lifestyle

in #lifestyle6 years ago

9-5.png

Hey, Everyone!

This past week was my first week working full-time as a social media marketer for a logistics company in Southern California. What an amazing experience! I know most people that have full-time jobs would not necessarily consider their jobs to be an amazing experience, but I found it fascinating. Allow me to explain my entrepreneurial revelation.

****Drum roll please****

Building a business is hard.

Big revelation, right? To be more specific, building a business requires more money than I thought it would and it requires a lot more of a time investment than I thought it would. Before I started my business projects, I thought the concepts of "you need money to make money" and "building a business takes a long time" were just concepts waiting to be challenged.

I originally despised the thought of "working for the man." I never wanted to get a full-time job because I thought that meant I was giving up on my entrepreneurial dreams since instead of working 40 hours a week for my own dreams and success, I would be working 40 hours a week for the dreams and the success of another person. It was not a position that I wanted to put myself in. But after working on my business for some time, I realized that I was quickly running out of capital to invest. So instead of continuing the spiral downward, I decided to swallow my pride and take the next opportunity that presented itself for stable income.

pexels-photo-380769.jpeg

Part of the revelation was that it's okay for starting entrepreneurs to have a full-time job. After this experience, I would actually encourage starting entrepreneurs to make sure they have a job before starting a business venture. I say this because there is no guarantee a business will become successful and it's a lot better to have a steady flow of income instead of struggling because the business of your dreams is not providing you with the money you hoped. A huge part of becoming an entrepreneur is going through a time period of more failures than successes. But that's what makes us stronger and that's what makes victory sweeter!

All in all, I would say this 1 week of working full-time has truly humbled me. I honestly love doing what I do and so I don't mind driving to the office and grinding out 8 hours of work. But I will say that it has made me realize even more that I can't live this 9-5 lifestyle for my whole life. I understand some people will stay in a 9-5 job for their whole lives, but not me. I have an entrepreneurial mindset and my life will not be complete until I have a thriving business with a residual based income.

Revelation Summary:

  • A full-time/part-time job is sometimes necessary for starting entrepreneurs
  • If a young entrepreneur approached me and asked me if getting a job is worth it, I would say yes
  • Having a job allows you to network with other professionals

Honestly, I already knew these things before I started my current job. It just allowed me to open my eyes and get rid of my pride. It's time to build up my experience, establish long-term business relationships, and cash in some checks. If anything, this full-time job is providing me with a better platform to launch my entrepreneurial career. It's go time.

Best Wishes!

o n t h e r o a d (3).jpg

Sort:  

@masteranibal fantastic post. I completely agree with the idea it's okay for new Entrepreneurs to have a full-time job. Quite frankly I think it's probably actually the better scenario. If your 22 years old and fresh out of college fine, I suppose you can spend 6 months taking a risk and trying to hack it on your own, but I think most Entrepreneurs are going to find that Entrepreneurship and earning money outside of a 9 to 5 job is actually a longer learning curve adn someething your going to gradually scale up and earn more as you go until it gets to the point that you can leave your job, but I think very few people are going to go from zero to Entrepreneur in one swoop.

I ran my business for several years while working a full-time 50 hour per week job and I was doing an ecommerce business where I actually had to pack and ship and dropoff orders everyday, it wasn't something where I could take a day off or chill out when work and life got busy.

I did it for several years and my income from the business was making probably 3x what my job was paying before I left. I was probably overly cautious but I definitely think not having a need to bring money in asap is a huge benefit to a business and will allow you to make longer term decisions and plays as opposed to being in a rush to bring in money to support yourself and maybe being shortsighted in ones thinking and decision making.

Awesome post

I love this response. Reality hit me really hard when my business ventures didnt' reach the level that I had hoped. But it was a good reality check. I've been working with this company for a little more than a week and I have already learned so much about the crypto world. The industry is amazing and it's only the beginning. I'm extremely excited for what is to come.

Thanks for the comment, @clickfunnels!

@tts How do I get you to annotate my videos?

I've never asked for the audio service. I believe it's just a bot that goes around and provides the service for free in the hopes that the creator will get some upvotes from it. Pretty cool service, to be honest.

Loading...