The Mediocre Pumpkin Has Landed ~REDUX ~ Original Photography of Jack-o'-Lanterns, and Deep Philosophical Gleanings, Just Ripe For The Season ~

in #linusvpeltsgotnuthinonme5 years ago (edited)

P1410924-1-1 96kb.jpg


"There are three things I've learned never to discuss with people: religion, politics, and the Great Pumpkin."

                                                     -Linus Van Pelt

It's Here. It's Here !

Be still, my flitting heart! It's Thursday in the early AM, on the 31st of October. How in the world am I supposed to wait until 8:00 tonight? For the seasonal showing of the best Halloween picture-show ever created: "It's The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown". A veritable silver-screen classic of cutting edge, sometimes scary, always entertaining, cartoon-arific joy. Charlie Brown, Lucy, Shroeder, Snoopy, the Red Baron, and of course, the fresh, ever-philosophical wisdom of the most brilliant sidekick to the hapless C. Brown...Linus Van Pelt.

Deep anticipation at the wait hangs heavy in the crisp, fall air, like a 6 pound Golden Delicious apple, plumped and ready to plop from the branch onto my head. A true mustn't-miss moment in the start of the emerging, often-too-early holiday season. And I'm supposed to wait 10 more hours for this? Come on, people!

Hey, Go Find Your Own Patch!!

Luckily, I stumbled onto my own patch of pumpkin providence the last few years, here in my home town. Cleverly disguised as a Halloween nature walk through the park for oodles of small, highly energetic, sugar charged children. There were carved and 'candled' pumpkins all OVER the place! Orange orbs set 'just so' to border the paths in the deep woods in the dark. All lit up and lined up for the taking.

Who Is That Man Lying Down In The Dirt, Daddy?

I quickly disguised myself as a youngster in an older adult body, grabbed my camera, and tried to fit in with the surroundings as best I could.

And let me tell you, it wasn't easy. Lying around in the wet grass in the dark with my camera, dodging all sorts of short goblins, pirates, fairy princesses, and other noisy, wild little things I couldn't have identified in GOOD light.

Luckily no one was injured tripping over my prone body, or stepped on my hand or camera, or worse, in all of the holiday mayhem swirling about, and I captured a whole pumpkin-patch of jack-o'-lanterns for this project you see before you.
(Truth be known, I'm the official volunteer photographer for the event. I just had to divert myself from required duties for awhile in somewhat clandestine style. No one was the wiser, except maybe when I was in the way, on the ground.)

So, WITH further ado, I present to you:

"It's The Mediocre Pumpkin, D.D. Schteinn"

Complete with exceedingly profound sayings about the holiday that will be falling around us very soon. (Actually, looking out the window just now, it looks to be pretty well descended by about this time. Luckily it's still October 31st in SOME parts of the world...).


P1410937-1 101kb.jpg

"If life gives you pumpkins, carve them "



P1410945-4 146kb.jpg

"If at first you don't succeed, get a larger carving knife "



P1410955-2 110kb.jpg

"If you truly love something, pick it out, carve it, and put a candle in it "



P1410979-2 243kb.jpg

"Two eyes, a nose and a mouth. Two eyes, a nose and a mouth. Two eyes, a nose and a mouth..."



P1420001-3 207kb.jpg

"Time waits for no hand-carved gourd "



P1420002-1 176kb.jpg

"TRUE beauty shines from within. (I think I need a bigger candle!) "



P1420062-1 147kb.jpg

"A pumpkin, like many things in life, is only fully appreciated near the end of its existence "



P1420016-2 187kb.jpg

"Be Warned -- Do Not steal me, toss me in the street, drop me off of balconies, or roll me in front of passing motorized vehicles. I know where you lii-iive! "



P1420021-1 211kb.jpg

"A pumpkin is a lot like a man in the 1940's. He wouldn't be caught dead on the street without a good hat "



P1420029-1 265kb.jpg

"Every creation is beautiful in it's own way. Even the droopy, ten day old ones that don't smell very good "



P1420031-2 342kb.jpg

"The secret to a fine, holiday gourd is to carve away everything that doesn't look like a Jack-o'-lantern "



P1420037-2 267kb.jpg

"Boycott Pies!! " -S.P.R.G.V.

(Society for the Preservation of Rotund Garden Vegetables)


P1420064-2 183kb.jpg

"A good carving pumpkin is a lot like a homemade Jon boat. Start and end with a flat bottom and you've got it made "




P1410973-1 175kb.jpg

"True happiness is a large, round, orange vegetable with a candle inside "



P1420044-1 183kb.jpg

"The creative design possibilities for carved pumpkins are truly infinite"

~ Finto ~


Thanks for stopping in and viewing the "It's A Mediocre Pumpkin, D.D.Schteinn" of Halloween, 2019. If you have any thoughts about this holiday in general, creatively masterful pumpkin carving, Linus Van Pelt and his passion for the Great Pumpkin and the creative word, or anything else this post reminds you of, feel free to comment away in the spaces below. I'd love to hear from you.





"Each year, the Great Pumpkin rises out of the pumpkin patch that he thinks is the most sincere. He's gotta pick this one. He's got to. I don't see how a pumpkin patch can be more sincere than this one. You can look around and there's not a sign of hypocrisy. Nothing but sincerity as far as the eye can see."

-Linus Van Pelt



Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

__


Please Don't Forget: "Every pumpkin deserves appreciation"

Posted: 10/31/2019 @ 1545

Excerpts From Late-Night Conversations With A Mechanical Cat

Fact Number 160

issac newton - Mechanical Pencil Followup.PNG

Sort:  

KKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKKK

Hi ddschteinn,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Love the cat pumpkin... the pi one is 3.14 scary! :D

Some of those are actuallky pretty nice! The one with the sunglasses is fun, for sure!

Mine was a bit lame this year, from the carving standpoint. The thing was tough and brittle; kept breaking.

You made me laugh a lot with the title. The post is very good and very creative. Your pumpkins are fantastic. Regards @ddschteinn

My pumpkins still sit on the front steps, uncarved. But they are decorated with a bit of snow. Your pumpkin photos are not mediocre!🎃 I will give mine to the local wild wildlife. Your pumpkins were all a bit more celebratory!

A warm welcome back!

I'm very happy that you decided to start posting again on this special day, Halloween!

Yeah! It's my heart that is flirting right now, too! I wish to be there to experience these amazing "Pumpkins" by my own eyes in the Halloween night. That would be an exciting moment for me. In the meantime, some of these would probably scare me if I walk among them that night.

Very creative and excellent idea! I especially like the "cat". Really cute!

Your description matches well with each pumpkin. Well done!

Ah! I very much enjoyed watching these magical pumpkins as well as reading your article. Thanks so much for sharing. I hope to join you on Halloween night one day! ;)

@ddschteinn Look at all those votes from you! Thank you! I thought of you when I did my Subaru post this week!
!tip

🎁 Hi @ddschteinn! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: 245Th Steem Torch Carrier Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Congratulations @ddschteinn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 25000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 26000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!