Hemp and the East Coast Cannabis Conference

in #livesustainably6 years ago (edited)

EastCoastCannabisConference.jpg

While attending the East Coast Cannabis Conference in Portland, Maine, I learned a lot about hemp and was really inspired. Hemp could do wonders for sustainable industries and the economy! The Cannabis community in Maine is budding and growing quickly because they are well on their way to legalization. Under state law, it’s now legal for anyone to grow up to 6 Cannabis plants. New businesses are popping up and people are moving there to participate in the industry. There's even a "Ganja Girl Gang" in Maine.

At the conference, I discovered a bunch of great hemp derived CBD products, including body products made by The Healing Rose, which I’m in LOVE with. Also CBD suppositories, whooaa, has anyone else tried those?!

Hemp East Coast Cannabis Conference.jpg

Hemp is a powerful plant can be used for A LOT of things. In his book Hemp Horizons: The Comeback of the World’s Most Promising Plant, John W. Roulac says “Hemp is the world’s most versatile fiber. Almost any product that can be made from wood, cotton, or pertroleum (including plastics) can be made from hemp. There are more than 25,000 known uses for hemp!”

So what’s the difference between Marijuana and Hemp? They are both Cannabis, different genetic varieties of the genus “Cannabis” produce more THC (tetrahydrocannabinol) than others. A Cannabis plant is considered “hemp” if it contains less than .3% THC.

HempConference2.jpg

Here are 5 incredible uses for hemp:

Hemp fibers can be used to make paper. America’s founding fathers were hemp enthusiasts, the first 2 drafts of the Declaration of Independence were written on hemp paper! Using hemp fibers to make paper would save trees :) I’ve read that we could save around 4 billion trees per year if we switched back to using hemp for paper instead of fiber.

Hemp foods! The seeds and oil from hemp seeds are highly nutritious. They are high in Omega 3 & 6 essential fatty acids, which we’ll need more plant based solutions for as fish becomes less available. They also provide protein, fiber and trace minerals. AND hemp allergies are far less common than peanut or tree nut allergies!

Hemp is a loved fabric of fashion designers. It’s lightweight, absorbent and longlasting. It’s also weather resistant. It can be woven with other fibers to produce different types of fabrics, hemp/silk and hemp/cotton blends work well. Calvin Klein said “I believe hemp is going to be the fiber of choice in both the home furnishings and fashion industries.”

Hempcrete is AMAZING. It’s a building material that is breathable, mold & pest resistant, fire resistant and offers insulation, reducing heating costs!

And of course the health benefits of CBD (Cannabidiol) oil! Which is not psychoactive, reduces anxiety, reduces nausea, helps people with epilepsy, helps fight cancer...and so much more!

Great, now let’s make hemp fully legal everywhere and get to work making incredible things with it.

BTW I’ll likely be posting on hemp, it’s uses and benefits more because I’m super excited about it and I’m studying a lot, I’ll keep you up to date on what I learn and my journey with this amazing plant!

Read my intro post :)

Sort:  

I love my Hemp seeds. Super healthy. CBD oil is supposed to do wonders as well. I may have to try some once it becomes a little more readily available. Thanks for sharing. Looks like a fun trip.

I love eating hemp seeds too! I've been taking CBD occasionally, I appreciate it's calming anxiety-reducing effects, very gentle and feels good. CBD is easy to order online. In NYC you can buy it at the Alchemist's Kitchen. It's a little pricey, but I think it's worth it.

It's an amazing plant with so many uses....almost like it was put here for us to use naturally.

ahahaha totally agree! love the 👽

Hemp is so amazing! I really hope more people begin to realize its usefulness and versatility and get on the wagon!

Yassss me too! And I hope this crazy Sessions guy just stops, and we can all continue moving toward legalization!!!

You are very beautiful and yes, study hemp. & I totally didn't know Calvin Klein said that 😍💹

Thanks 😊 I'm pretty exited about the hemp studies! And crazy about Calvin Klein right?! I wish that brand (and all of the fashion industry) would utilize hemp more. I hope as it becomes more legal, and cheaper in the US, they will put it to good use.

So nice😄, check my channel and see my food posts🙏💘

Ok, will check it out. I love food!

The potentials are near limitless. It could majorly disrupt many industry - and for the better! The shortsightedness of many of these industry leaders about profits today over better more environmental products has been a huge driving force behind keeping hemp quashed. Hopefully we can get the representatives in Congress to wake up and industry leader to transition to this amazing product! And that is not even beginning to talk about the amazing potential in the medical field.

I wholeheartedly agree with everything you say here! I felt so positive and inspired after going to this conference in Maine, feeling a little less now with this Sessions guy, but I'm still hopeful and will continue to be a voice and activist for hemp!

As my father always reminds me - "Think globally, act locally" - Making a difference in ones little corner of the world has far further reaching impacts than we realize.

But yeah..... that guy.....

I live by that saying as well :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lizblake to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Great post! I think I'll try to join the Ganja Girl Gang.

Do it! I don't know much about them, but they all had cool products and services. One woman was doing ganja yoga :) Are you based in Maine?

No, I was kidding but I love their name. ; )