11 Positives and 11 Negatives of living through a Lockdown

in #lockdown3 years ago

lockdown.jpg
Img source: pixabay

2020 witnessed the unfortunate CoronaVirus crisis and one key precaution governments of a lot of countries took, was to impose weeks or months long lockdowns.

Now that I have been through one personally like most of you have, I would like to list some of the positives and negatives of living in a lockdown.

First, The Positives

  1. You finally got time for yourself

  2. You can get back to your hobby like painting, singing, dancing, crypto trading, making NFT art etc.

  3. You can now give all the attention in the world to your pet, be it a cat, a dog or any other pet.

  4. Imagine, now you also have time to stroll in your garden, water your plants with ease, watch the birds and listen to them sing and chirp.

  5. You get close to your family members and get to spend some really good time with them.

  6. You can now spend as much time as you want on social media, meeting and greeting your friends and followers virtually, all day long.

  7. You can now exercise at home. No more excuses. You have all the time in the world.

  8. You can get to know if your boyfriend/girlfriend really wants to talk to you or not, as now they can't make an excuse like they were busy with work or something else.

  9. You can sleep the whole day. Yes, you can.

  10. No one puts pressure on you to work. Huh, you can finally feel free for a short-while.

  11. Lockdown taught you how to prepare for unforeseen circumstances and events. We all learned to store food and other essential items in advance. Our survival skills got tested.

Now, The Negatives

  1. You may get close to your family members more than required and as a result fights might break out. I know a few people whose homes got destroyed during the lockdown. Some husbands and wives got divorced even.

  2. Lack of work or no work, could make you lazy if you are not already a lazy bum. It breaks the momentum, especially of workaholics.

  3. You never go out, so it gets difficult for you to unwind and that might really add to your stress levels. It happened with me, so I tried to make good by having fancy foods, watching TV shows, Netflix or did social media all day, but nothing helped me. Going out is different and I finally understood its value.

  4. You can completely destroy your sleep cycle and routine. It might get hard to get back to your regular routine post the lockdown. I am still struggling.

  5. If you are a thinker, then all you do is, think even more. Not good for such people at all.

  6. If you are an extrovert, you might really feel suffocated indoors. I know a few and some of them started getting mental issues.

  7. Your vision of the life might change as your physical/visible world shrinks to next to nothing. Just your house. That becomes the world. This might really hit some people very hard.

  8. You might lose your job and a lot of you actually did and it is hard to find new income substitutes in a new normal quick. Some people did make a decent amount of money via Zoom Classes etc. I learned them, got the infrastructure ready but will only be able to use it in the next wave of lockdowns.

  9. If you end up working from home, it gets too distracting, especially if you live in a big family.

  10. Those with multiple sources of income take a big hit both financially and psychologically.

  11. The last point is really a dangerous one. As more and more people leanr to live in a lockdown, the more it makes them pro a virtual world than the real world. People may start to prefer virtual talks and meet-ups instead of real ones in the near future. We were already slowly physically distancing ourselves from each other due to technology, corona virus just gave that serious momentum.

These are some of the positives and negatives of living under a lockdown ans some of my thoughts about it from my first hand experience.

What was your experience like?

The seconds wave of Corona Virus is coming and the 2nd Wave of Lockdowns have already started in some countries.

How do you plan to navigate the upcoming lockdown in your city/country?

I believe this lockdown would be hard, as we had all the fun last time around.

-- Yellow

Sort:  

The first lockdown was hard on me because I was worrying about the economy and the future of the country, and was unable to meet up with my like-minded friends who share the same interests in science and weird stuff as me. I agree though, the second lockdown will be harder, because we already went through it, so any positives we got out of it will not be there to the same extent.

I like this stepping back and taking a broader view. Less dogmatic views are key to us all working together. In the rural area in which I reside, we don't get lockdowns so much as restrictions on public gatherings. Even then, that's only when we're tight on hospital space. I'm spoiled 😄

Yes exactly
its better in the rural areas
but in the 2nd wave if stricter
I guess it would get a lot worse than last time
as most people have lost their income source and spend some of
their savings. I hope there is no 2nd wave and if at it comes it is less severe.

let's hope for the best 😀

Congratulations @yellowdoodle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 800 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day

Saw this in a chat and thought it was spam. Turns out to be a nice little post

"spamming" :p

a quick look at the account would show the user barely posts let alone spam, but I get what you meant. Just a bit funny how the word spam has lost its meaning.

Ha, yeah, sharing promotional links in general chats should probably have a better word than "spam", I just don't know what it is. Downvote only shows up when the request is to remove is ignored in chat - usually because they only opened the chat to drop a link then closed it again

classic 😀

and yeah, downvotes are effective for attention in those cases, as long as people also remove them after the "spam" is undone like you did.

I agree
that was a mistake and instantly I removed the post from the channel

but as a new user of hive and for a original long article when you see a public tag "marked as spam" dents the persons reputation bad.

people who did not know exactly what I did would assume I copied content from someone's article for it to be tagged spam or something.

Fair point. If it comes up in the future, I'll be more clear about what happened, how to fix it, and note that the dv will be removed. Sorry if it freaked you out

Thanks
I feel better after the discussion :)
and glad you understand.

TBH I was never expecting a reply from your account here. I thought this was a bot that flagged it.

I was about to send this article to my friends on telegram but now the 1st thing they will see is that this is SPAM

I cant send them now :(

too bad

surely

my mistake to begin with.

Easy enough to fix. Just ask if something like this happens in the future. Most people around here are cool and not looking to make anyone suffer (give me 5 minutes or so and refresh)

I am glad you observed

my mistake though

haha

at first I thought I tagged too many people on twitter lol

we'll be working a bit more on the @poshtoken soon to render tagging people for attention to their posts obsolete, at least those who already are on hive. ^^

make sure to register so you earn posh tokens for sharing your links on twitter, there's a howto post with details on how earning works too!

I did register
but did not get posh I believe

I followed your instructions the last time.

Does seem like you're registered here, there's some requirements for amount of likes and stuff to get tokens, though. We should also add a way to search for usernames and total earned tokens on a better website soon.

You're registered at least so it should work!

sorry
that was accidental
I intended to post in the postpromotion tag

Thanks for fixing it. Flag removed

oh - thank you
that was unexpected!!!
I nearly deleted my HiveChat account lol
to ensure I did not make mistakes like these in the future.