Importance of Growing Steemit Userbase From Asia

in #markets6 years ago (edited)

South and South-East Asian markets are potentially one of the biggest growth areas for Steemit.com. It might not seem evident as some of these markets are at their cryptocurrency nascency. These markets will take a long time to mature. But we are already witnessing extremely encouraging levels of adoption.


Source

But, it doesn’t take a lot to understand that S.E. Asian markets stand as excellent candidates for onboarding new investors who can bring more value into the network by purchasing and powering up Steem tokens- which obviously benefits the whole network. On my part I’ve been onboarding and supporting users in establishing themselves from India.

The most recent of those activities was a meetup in the capital city of India. I’ll post about it tomorrow as I just returned home from Delhi and need a good night’s rest before I can write my thoughts on the matter.

On a recent meetup in Bangalore, we had a rep to a top exchange India attend and gauge the response to the growing interest in Steemit and Steem blockchain in India. Growing India is not the only thing on my agenda but without any direct support from makers of this platform my initiative had to begin on a smaller scale. But that’s fine for now and we’re off to a good start.

South-East Asian market with its high density of population and new purchasing power amongst its ever-growing middle class is gearing towards becoming the global centre for trade and commerce. This has ushered a wave of fresh money into the world of cryptocurrencies as the youth here are highly interested in emerging technologies and open to speculation in new asset classes.

Even if their government asks them not to.

Eventually, many of us will have to narrow down our focus in order to scale. A bird’s eye view of the platform is very important but communities are often smaller and need a personal touch.

Asian markets are adopting the Steem blockchain at a very fast rate. South-Korea, India, Japan, China, Indonesia, Malaysia and Philippines are currently some of the popular userbase on Steemit. There's a lot of activity from these places and users are warming up to the idea of a platform that rewards users to post content as opposed to free likes that offer no real world value.

In the near future I’d love to see tourist circuits such as Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam and Sri Lanka develop their communities on our platform. Pakistan and Bangladesh has a high number of bloggers and internet marketers and it would interesting to see if any community of users take shape from these countries. At the very least, new investors are welcome from any of these markets to speculate on the price of Steem.

As we move further into this year there is a lot of work that can be done to grow the communities. Features such as communities and SMTs cannot be here any sooner. I hope to see some of these features get added to the site sooner than we expect to see them. I'd love to see how it changes the dynamics of the site, user participation as well as price movements.

In the meantime, stay tuned for my update from the India Steem Meetup held recently at New Delhi. The last few days have been bit of a roller coaster and I'm finally home, settling down to writing some regular content again.


If you like my work kindly resteem it to your friends. You may also continue reading my recent posts which might interest you:

  1. Let's Watch This Fun Video From India Steem Meetup #1—Jaipur Edition!
  2. Let's Watch This Fun Video From India Steem Meetup #2—Bangalore Edition!

Follow Me: @firepower

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

S.E. Asian and Indian consumers are very tech-savvy, and there are now more than 300 million FB users in the region, according data from Statista. That is a lot of potential Steemit users!!

There is a need to promote Steemit in developing countries, especially in Asia, and I think that if people from these countries start blogging in their own languages, and they make communities, then they can flourish and Steemit can become one of the great social media sites in the world.

Yes, you are right. This region has so much potential.
I wish if we could have the biggest user base and good content creators from these countries.

Yes, facebook was banned in China, steemit is available now and has a great potential

The potential is indeed huge, especially in countries like India because of the big population.

One way or another, blockchain based social media will be more common with every passing month, and it will be a huge opportunity for people in countries that do not have much options to earn a living and participate in exciting things.

The global blockchain movement is just starting, and taking over the social media sphere is one key aspect for the long term success of this platform.

We have very exciting years ahead!

I completely agree. I think we are just at the beginning, it pains me to hear people saying they're too late to get in because this is like getting into the internet in the early 90s. They might've missed life chaining money but this is still very early in whats to come. The growth for blockchain is exponential.

Steemit Inc. should delegate steem power to you so that you can support new users from india but still you are doing great work.

The meet-up in New Delhi must have been massive. Looking forward to the video. South and south east Asian countries are a big opportunity move steemit forward. There are numbers in these Asian countries which will make steemit grow a lot bigger. These functions on steemit people will continue learning coz there are a lot more new ones coming.

Steem blockchain just started and i believe it taking over other social media.
Even me since i joined steemit i dont value any other social media.
Steemit is on it way to the top!

People of India are very kind and they have welcomed steemit in a very friendly manner some poor students also fund their studies with the help of steemit so being a Indian i feel proud that steemit is really doing good in our country

theres huge potential here and we all should try promotion this in our circle. Also the best part about steemit I feel is the financial independence by getting paid for whatever efforts you put here.

Steem Blockchain can provide basic income to the users from all these countries which dominates the rural population...

I need help getting people on my UBI list. I do think that steem could be a very useful tool for an easy to distribute UBI, so I'm running my own experiment. Not many takers so far.

how can we help?

At first I just made a few posts where I made the initial details, evolved them over time and just had people sign themselves up if they weren't a spammer/scammer. Now I realize that the network effect isn't that strong if individuals sign up because the math disincentivizes people from wanting to bring new people into the UBI.

So I've started manually going through user's post and comment history, and if they do not spam then I add them to the UBI list. I hope that this positive reinforcement of not spamming is some kind of incentive to stop spammers from trying to fight over a chance at a few cents a day from comment upvotes, but my voting power is not that large now. I have made some money on steemit so far, but delegations are very pricey so I'm hesitant to get more for now.

I'm not going to ask for delegations or real help until steemauto has a feature added to do this automatically and fairly, until then I will just run my UBI manually. I have enough funds to at least maintain 500 SP for more than a few months, and plan to buy more SP if the price drops. I've just been getting most of the revenue generated from comments/memes, lol, but as far as I know it's the first true UBI that doesn't require a buy-in, because I'm just using what I've raised personally by being a user of steemit. Plus, people are hesitant to help if they see that I have transferred SBD out, which is a fair concern, but I was worried about the price falling (I've sold some above or below the current price... sort of break-even approach so far) and can totally understand that I would not have anyone's trust until I buy back in fully with what I've made so far.

So basically, people could theoretically help if they wanted to help someone who hasn't shown much other than a few upvotes in a UBI so far, but I won't ask them to trust me until I give them good reason to in coming weeks/months.

Holy crap, sorry for spamming you with this giant text.

Also, I realize that I will need help in the future with people who speak languages other than English, as I would have a hard time verifying if someone writes original content if it's in another language. That too is a matter I will try to deal with down the road, although they are probably the potential recipients who would benefit the most from a UBI.

Thanks for your interest in my project though, you even asking that encourages me to press onwards.

Since Facebook is banned from China, and the general interest for cryptocurrency in Asia, I see a great potential:)

well said and all the participation from different placed of world give boost to our Seemit community. well as i am from India and there days many here also talk about steemit.

Agree with you @firepower that its extremely important that Steemit get more users from Asian countries. If Steemit can make sign-up process better than it will be great for new users. Couple of mine friends lost interest in Steemit, after they registered for steemit and even after weeks heard nothing back. No approval at all!

Exelent share.. Thank you...
Have a nice dream my brother...
Has been followed and resteemed...
Success is always for you @firepower

South Asia and South East Asia both have much human resources. Also the employment is low, it has much power to grow in these areas as almost half of world population is there.
I think steemit is a golden opportunity to these areas. Both the people as well as steemit has the potential to grow with exponentially if utilised properly.
As you people are spreading good word of mouth with proper planning and marketing it will be the best market in these regions.
Get on steem.

Asians come and become king :)

Recently I saw a graph that showed steemit is being searched for more than Eth in China.

WRT the onboarding @firepower. It is a bit of an exercise for a person to get onto Steem at this point. Do you know of any initiatives to make this process easier?

Also getting money into the system requires first getting another crypto. Any ideas if Steem will be available directly for fiat currencies?

I have an idea, a little crazy, that I want to implement that would involve a lot of people joining and putting a little $ into the system. One of the hurdles is helping them get the account, getting familiar with the platform and getting them to be able to purchase a tiny amount of steem.

Best

very good postin you i really like

buen post

When you copy/paste or repeatedly type the same comments you could be mistaken for a bot.

Tips to avoid being flagged

Thank You! ⚜

Hey, thanks man for spreading the word and onboarding a lot of people. Steemit is an amazing platform for everyone especially for poets, story writers, bloggers and artists who otherwise are not much valued in our society. I hope the platform can help broaden peoples perspective about others professions in our country(apart from engineer and doctor).

It was really great and very insightful meeting you in the meetup.

Was awaiting your post..!! that's awesome, I would love to be a part of the next meetup in Delhi as I reside here. No doubt that Asia is going to adopt Steemit and Dtube substantially. Looking forward to the bright days ahead.

Yes, I would expect that South East Asia will become a very important market for Steemit, it has a large population, a thriving economy and most of all a huge amount of people interested in crypto currency.

You are right, firepower. Let’s make Asian community greater!

Great post @firepower. I believe if Asia joins the steemit blockchain, it will go a long way in improving the Fanbase and firepower of steemit. Let's keep spreading the goodnews

Asia as a continent is known for its high usage of cryptocurrency especially Steem and Steem dollars, we in Africa are still coming up and we will soon catch up and possibly overtake Asia. I hope you will support Africa to achieve this dream.
Great post.

&#127863 Mind Blowing stuff & enjoying!

yeh it's really important but every government considering that cryptocurrency is fraud nothing else and clearly declared that cryptocurrency is illegal they will not accept that's way people's do not believe on cryptocurrency or cryptocurrency platforms like steemit @firepower

I totally agree with you bro.

Steemit would need to address the issue of interest on Steem Power so that observant Muslims would be able to opt out of receiving non-halal interest.

Just some hours ago I was thinking of a chat that shows nations per database chart, which am sure Philippines and Nigerians are going to take a very good share, still, Steemit has come to stay and we are relying on his foot soldiers for evangelization of it.

I am very seventh what you say, your post is very good I really like it

Asia might be the future - much more younger people there...

The more widespread we become the better the content produced for Steem! If we could get some built in translation features(like Google Translate) we might see faster growth.

Glad you're organizing meetups in India.
Being an Indian, this makes me very happy.
Not many people know of steemit here and India has the potential to make steemit even bigger.

here in India people live in slums and don't even have food for them at meals but most of all they are having a mobile phone and almost everyone here is using Internet activity, so if we introduce steemit to them hope they will earn most form it and feed their daily needs although India is a populated county, we are having a bright future in steemit just give it time and patience....

I am in Thailand but I am American. I have my girlfriend on the platform but the challenge is the language barrier. Not enough Thais speak English. Also the platform is much more complicated compared to what they currently use to tell stories. But the community here is growing and over time there are opportunities.

no matter what happens they need to be considered just because of the sheer number of them.

Steemit in India is on boom, I can see lots of users now and the rate of new joiners as compared to that before 6 months is very high. Its quite addictive too.. haha

great information.i wish your good success.

At first Thank you for share this important post , steemit in a very friendly manner some poor students also fund their studies with the help of steemit so being a i feel proud that steemit is really doing good in our socity...

interesting info, in my place there is also a lot of potential new steemian join in platform but still less understanding. I also feel the need to be directed to a better direction.

Yep, solid thoughts brother, I agree a 100% 💯

Would say its only a matter of time, coming years will be extremely interesting in this regard, Steemit's potential for improving peoples life's is massive, will love to see it blossom even more.

Thumbs up for good writing as usual 🙏🏼

impressive analysis frm you, wish for our beautiful community a better futur, together we are stronger steemit friends

Which ever thing manages to win the Heart of Indians, it becomes a sure shot success. Xiaomi is the best example for this. This company was nothing compared to now, before it started attracting Indians with lucrative specs in smartphone. We Indians have showered our love on it.

One another example i can give is of bitcoin. A small fake news originating from India managed to crash the whole crypto market down. Even the regular fuds from south korea could not manage to do that.

If steem manages to appeal to the masses in India, it can easily manage to outdo bitcoin. It will just like Xiaomi managed to out do samsung.

Hey I totally love the idea, we need more SEAsian buddies here :)

Most certainly the steemit population will also increase with time as Asia contribute to 60% of worlds population.onceit gets popular among sub-continent the steemit users will rise exponentially.

India. There are millions... No, wait a minute, billions of people there. And most speak English. Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Philippines all English speaking countries and with billions of people. Of course these should be target markets , not only for Steemit but for other platforms.... It would be nice if mainland China adopted English too.....

This ia actually a good thing for the entirety of steemit community. We're all aware of the fact that these region are of dense populations. And these is also beneficial for them since steemit pays you for whatever efforts you put into it thus in part alleviating some poverty palava... Thus to me I think Both parties win

There are 2 pages
Pages