Sort:  

People conveniently ignore when it happens to men. Same with domestic abuse/ violence. It's part of an unfortunate phenomenon one could call "No sympathy for men." With modern feminism, suddenly men are the perpetrators of all that is wrong with society. When men experience traumatic and abusive things, we are shunned and told to "man up." It's a main contributing factor to the very high rate of male suicide worldwide.

All of the above is why spreading awareness about the challenges BOTH MEN AND WOMEN face in our society is very important. Division through blaming men for the world's problems is not solving anything. And of course, vice versa. I hope our society will begin to cultivate more compassion for both genders and realize everyone needs love and healing.

I think that the problem could be rectified and that it starts with teaching children. People develop certain belief systems about gender and sexuality that are most often not valid. We have to have more open and honest conversations with ourselves about the roles of men and women in society and that SEX and Sexuality is not a dirty thing. Then we will be able to share what we find by having open and honest conversations with our children. I believe that this is the only way to break the cycle. I have had the opportunity to tell my story in front of large groups of people. The amount of people who approach me after and say " Me Too" astounds me. It happens way more than anyone wants to admit and until the truth is revealed the cycle can not be broken

That's right and I think that's what this campaign has achieved. I wasn't taught that no one has the right to touch me. In fact, I grew up in a household where I was taught the only thing I had going for me was what was between my legs.

If I was attractive, I was as successful as I was ever likely to be.

You're right! Both males and females have a right to be protected against sexual and child abuse. Perhaps, the abuse of males is a little overlooked by the society due to the fact by that males are expected to be strong and that sexual abuse of males is not that rampant. Also few males actually have the bravery to talk about it.

I remember when I was just a kid and my neighbour (a male who was years older) forced to well, do stuff for him and all. I vomitted and that was what saved me from the abuse. Imagine what could have happened. I could have given a guy a bj while I was just 4 or so and there are a lot of cases of fathers or brothers fagging their sons. It's really appalling. Abuse is abuse whether inflicted on a male or female. We need to get that straight

I know it does. This campaign was to show how many women it impacts - sisters, daughters, wives, mothers. I think it has been an eye-opener for social media.

When I look at the amount of views this post received compared to the amount of votes, that too tells a story.

I am sympathetic to the men and boys that are abused and assaulted, of course. This wasn't about gender as much as it was about numbers.

This however, is not the way forward in my opinion. I could have named those men and boys (and there are more) but I should also name their fathers, their brothers, uncles, grandfathers, ancestors.