My First Steemit Meet Up! #TeamAustralia @ the Bavarian Bier Cafe in Sydney

in #meetup6 years ago

Yesterday we set off on a mission to attend our first ever Steemit meet up held at the Bavarian Bier Cafe in Parramatta. Having never attended any sort of meet up let alone a Steemit one we were a bit unsure as to what to expect... although I had seen some of the names here on Steemit and even chatted to a few on Discord we were essentially meeting up with a bunch of strangers !!

(That's @travelgirl happily posing for me in this photo haha)

Making our way there!

We took the train in, took us about an hour but it would've taken the same amount of time had we driven so we thought we'd take the train and make a trip of it - we don't usually take public transport so this was the definition of an adventure for us haha.

Arriving and meeting everyone!

The Bavarian Bier Cafe in Parramatta is actually housed inside an old Church so you'll find that in the background of my photos some lovely stained glass artwork.

We arrived and luckily @bearone nabbed a great table directly in front of the bar so it was easy to spot where we were...not to mention the two huge towers of alcohol (of course that was us!) and @rustle overseeing everything right in the middle of the table ;)

Who was there?

I actually had only previously chatted with a few people here so most were new faces and new Steemians to me but it was fantastic to meet everyone and I've got some great new bloggers to now follow.

We had @bearone and her husband, @stabilowl, @travelgirl, @ratticus, @quochuy, @chrisdavidphoto, my husband @ohboy and of course the guest of honour...

@rustle - he was looking pretty parched so I helped him out.

But first, let there be drinks!

I didn't plan to drink much if at all but @bearone was very convincing with her efforts to see who would take a shot and next minute...the bell starts ringing and on our table lands this long board of shots!!

We all got into it and it was a great way to kick off a fun afternoon!

I'm so hungry...you could say I was well and truly @phamished

Yes, someone went there and made that joke. Who...?

Yup, @ratticus lol. Someone had to right?!

Sausage platter for two - It's hard to believe they advertise this as an appropriate feed for TWO people?! It was enough for 4 at least!

Munich Brewers Platter which had Crispy Pork Knuckle, Pork Belly, Chicken Schnitzel and a variety of sausages.

Bavarian Tasting Platter - basically same as the Munich Brewers but without the Pork Knuckle.

Are there any foodies or bloggers here

Can you guys tell we had some bloggers at this meetup? Haha you could tell who were the keen bloggers and who was there to talk crypto in this photo!

Wasn't long before everyone was getting stuck into the meal! I have to say the Pork Knuckle was my favourite was it was juicy all the way through and still had that perfect crispy crackling on top.

Getting down to business

Whilst @bearone, @stabilowl, @travelgirl and I on this side of the table were mostly talking about ways to promote Steemit, gaming, food etc, the guys at the other end of the table ( @quochuy, @ohboy, @chrisdavidphoto) were getting serious!

This was @quochuy imparting some great wisdom on my husband @ohboy and providing all of us with some knowledge on how the witness server works. For a moment we all felt like we were in the matrix as we watched numbers and commands scrolling across the screen (well I did anyway).

So how was the first meetup and would I do it again?

As I mentioned before, I was a bit unsure what to expect but luckily, everyone was very friendly, enthusiastic and for most of us this was also the first meetup we had attended so we were all in the same boat. Not to mention there's nothing that a long board of shots, towers of beer/cider couldn't fix =P

It was great to put a face to a name and also even better to meet some new people I didn't even realise I wasn't following! I learnt a great deal and made some fantastic connections that have really enriched my experience on Steemit.

Would I do it again?

Definitely! I think it's one thing to sit behind a computer and comment and feel like you're connecting with someone. However meeting up in real life and getting to know them on a personal level just makes it feel that much more fulfilling when you jump back online and start reading their content again. I feel like everything is just that little bit closer to home because you've actually met the person whos blog you're reading.

Thanks for reading and again it was lovely to meet everyone yesterday, thanks for making the trip out and thank you to @bearone for organising! It all went very smoothly and made for a great afternoon.

On that note...

@rustle probably had one (or four) too many but I think he just didn't know when to stop and clearly wanted to join in on the festivities, I'm sure he spent the rest of the evening sleeping it off...

Catch you guys next time!

@phamished xx

Sort:  

it was great to meet you and your hubby! it was my first Steemit meetup and I hope we can do more of these in the future :)

Same it was great to meet you too! I look forward to seeing what you get up to on your blog. I checked it out and already love it - saw you went to one of my favourites recently Golden Century 😋

haha yah golden century is like a treat for us! btw, i just sent you a message on discord. talk soon!

It only just dawned on me the genius of @rustle.... if you're trying to find a group of people you've never seen before, of course it's easy to find our boy... as if any other table at any place will have a tipsy cockatoo... so clever!

Glad you got the ol husbo onto Steem too so he could enjoy the matrix-y aspect of it all... it looks like a few people had to travel super far for hangs, it's super impressive everyone made the effort. Well done NSW - crushed it!

So I'm like the poster-boy. Hard to compete with Ned's hair, but I'll do my best :)

This is literally my first ever vote by a bird. Thanks buddy.
You'll always be our 'Ned's Hair' to me!!

Buff, with an Aussie accent, in the States? The birds'd be all over you ;)

Exactly how I found the table 😊

Great post. I miss my buddy, but @bearone is feeding him beroccas today, so he's in good hands.
That sausage looks incredible. Did you all get through it?

I have just finished the leftovers. There was about 3" of the big one left, and a couple of bits of other sausages. Enough Schnitzel for me to slice up and make into a toasted sandwich, and I snagged about a third of a take away container (the large ones!) of sauerkraut. We left behind as much more of it, and probably more red cabbage and potato mash though. There was no leftover alcohol

Actually considering how much food was ordered, we did a really good job of finishing most of it. As @ratticus mentioned there were a few bits and bobs leftover but I wouldn’t say there was a ton left.

Who doesn’t love sausages right? Great choice for a meetup location!

There was certainly less than a 'platter for one' which is basically what we ordered extra to the plans when the waiter did an awesome job of getting us to upgrade one of our singles into a double.

That is a great write up! And you know what?! I want your camera! It rendered the indoor lighting and color just so nicely. What Brand and model is it?

Thanks @quochuy, high praise from you 😀. I didn’t have any cool GIFs so hadn’t to make up for it with some photos.

It’s actually a 5 year old P&S I was using! A Sony RX100 :) I agree so far it’s been the best P&S camera I’ve had I love the colour it produces. Better than canon in my opinion!

I have an old Nikon point and shoot and a DSLR too by have been lazy to use them. The iPhone is so practical, I can shoot, edit, resize, watermark and blog without the need of a laptop. So in the end I kind of accept average image quality in some cases.

It was great to meet you and talk with you about food (and anything else we were talking about.

So much food. So much leftovers!

Thanks same to you!

Looks like great food and company and a great day out. Looking at all that food makes me feel full already😅

It really was a great day out. I didn’t know what to expect at all but it turned out to be a good experience and yes there was plenty of food!

Great writeup and post. Interesting to see what everyone is getting up to. And rustle is becoming a real TA icon!

Thanks @scooter77! I agree it’s good to know a little more about what Steemians do in real life vs what they choose to share on Steemit.

Haha @rustle was having fun for sure and I’m sure he enjoyed the attention as the TA Mascot ;)

Arly the party animal egging everyone to drink LOL

She's got a pretty good grip on that arm twist :p

Lol but @bearone did it in a very responsible non-pushy way, it was more powers of persuasion I would say haha

Looks like fun. You guys are really good at writing these up too.

Thanks @choogirl! Haha we were all very proactive with our photos and made a great effort to document it so yay go team Australia!

Looks like you had fun and learning time.....keep on Steeming.

We sure did thanks for checking it out!

@Rustle was so drunk by the end of it

I know right? Four shots and a cider tower later...there’s only so much that small bird body can handle

Spewing I just found out about this, when's the next one?