How a Meetup Turned into a Cheerup!

in #meetup7 years ago (edited)

When you meet up with other Steemians, it's almost like a family reunion... if you've never met most of your family.

Since November and the last Steemfest I have only met up with @andrarchy, so it was really great when I received a message from @dreemit inviting me to meet up with several awesome Steemians, most of whom I was already following!

And so it was yesterday that I rushed to Father Demo Square, covered in a not subtle sheen of sweat, to meet everyone. Of course, I was running late because corporate life sucks but that's another story.


IMG_5622.JPG.jpeg

The Indomitable @dreemit

I want to thank @dreemit publicly for the invite, I didn't even realize how much I needed to be around other Steemians until I got there and the conversations just instantly flowed.

We discussed everything from the upcoming Hard Fork to the effort by @voronoi et al to build Steemit park (trying to bust my ass to get together the 200 Steem/SBD so I can be immortalized on a bench!).

And the funniest thing is that there wasn't even one awkward or silent moment. In fact, there were often two or three conversations happening at once!

Shortly after I arrived @andrarchy and party had to leave to meet up with @voronoi so me, @dreemit, @surfermarly and @knircky hung out for a while and let me tell you... @knircky is a huge man! Like a wall of human male with a friendly smile! We had a great discussion about taxes and cryptocurrency, namely bitcoin and Steemit.

@surfermarly made us laugh with her NYC adventure stories, and we talked about which authors we're following and which new ones are really promising and talented.

One of the most flattering and humbling things was hearing @dreemit share with me that she genuinely enjoys my work. If you've read @dreemit 's posts, you know what kind of compliment that is, and I'm very grateful that anything I've written could make someone happy.

@dreemit and I spoke at length about Northern NY State which was odd as I'm looking at maybe moving up there. We realized that if I did, I would get to see her brother jam on whiskey Wednesday! We also spoke at length about @meesterboom and Scottish man babies... we love you BOOM!

I wish we all could've had longer to spend time with each other, but such is life. I did learn that (hopefully) everyone who was there yesterday will also be at the next Steemfest, and that @dreemit and I may very well infiltrate the Scottish Moors in search of a Meester...

Work has been intensely busy these last couple of days, but I had to post about yesterday as it was the best thing that happened to me in 7 days.

This was me before seeing the Steemians yesterday:

giphy-9.gif

Thanks, Father Demo Square Steemit Meetup Group -- I was a bit in the dumps recently but all of you instantly changed that and had me laughing and smiling all evening.

Now I'm all:

giphy-10.gif

And it's because of the human beings on Steemit, people I had never physically met but who seemed to understand me better than most other people I see on a daily basis. Go figure.



One Love,
@prufarchy

If you like this post, please show some love and help me reach my goal for donating to Steemit Park and also so I can afford to get to Lisbon for Steemfest!
And if you want to join us in NYC sometime, make sure you're following @andrarchy @dreemit @hansikhouse because I'm sure one of these brilliant humans is already planning something!
Sort:  

I think I may try an organize a Steemit meetup in my city! Thanks for the idea @prufarchy. If anyone is reading this and lives near or around the Twin Cities in Minnesota, hit me up!

That's awesome! I believe @greatdabu is in MN!

Aw man look at you all! Awesome meetup! I can think of no better thing than this collection of steemians invading the highlands!

With him as my travelling partner, this idea suddenly became quite possible as well as incredibly awesome! I am really going to work on getting this done now!

Cor that really is exciting! I do hope it can be the case! :O)

I'm always in a traveling mood, and I've always wanted to see Scotland

Haha, indomitable, YES!! I just arrived home after a seven hour drive and the last few days has been impossible for me to be on here , I have serious catching up to do.

I am going to work my butt off to go to steemfest and absolutely Glasgow to see that man who makes me ruin shirts as I sputter them with liquid while I laugh, @meesterboom, and also chase down the brilliant and genuine @son-of-satire and his brother @tonyr. with you Oh my God that would be so much fun!! I'm itching to start making plans!
(And I won't allow anyone to feed you strange snacks....hahaha ;)

All of this! I'm dry steeming my kilt as I reply to this comment ;)

You mis-associated!!! @knircky is the huge man with the huge-r smile! Aaahahaa =)

hahah You're totally right!!! To the EDIT button batman!

That looks a fun crew of Steemians! Will you be at Lisbon?

It seemed like everyone there was going or were planning on trying to make it there. I definitely will! Will we get to hang again???

I hope so my friend!

Haha these animations are brilliant! It's been a HUGE pleasure meeting you, and our sweaty get together was definitely THE highlight of my trip to NY! Hope we will see each other again in Lisbon!!!
PS: Please excuse that I reply that late, Vegas has absorbed me 😎😆

Life is so busy, it's normal to reply late :) I hope Vegas was a blast!!

You'll definitely find me in Lisbon... Hopefully I don't wander off like I did in Amsterdam

The hardfork seems like it is good for the middle-class steemers, LOL . Anyone with 600-20,000 should that be who it best for?

Honestly, I'm not sure. To me, Steemit is best for everyone and each update and change will have its corresponding "winners" and "losers" as the ecosystem shifts in search of equilibrium.

This post received a 33% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @razvanelulmarin! For more information, click here!

True haha.. Upvoted and followed you @prufarchy

Great story thanks for sharing with us, keep on steeming

Really good text! Following! :D

Great job....Happy steeming:))

The human quality of this platform still amazes me. Thanks for sharing @prufarchy :)

The human quality of this platform is the most valuable asset it offers. Great to see you

Good stuff man! I'm from NY and I will be up there a few weeks in late July/Aug. Will def. meetup with ya'll if you guys do another while I'm up.

That would be great!

AAA I'm so jealous of you all!!
Great photo man!! Can't wait to see you again at SF2!!

Beautiful pics of the city and you guys. Great message! Nice to see steemians meeting one another! Thanks so much. Inspiring and I enjoyed.

I will be very glad to meet you all Steemians one day for hook up and share ideas, thoughts on our beloved platform. You guys are really great people @andrarchy, @dreemit, @surfermarly, @voronoi, @knircky, @meesterb