My Super (Not) Secret Splinterlands Strategy Finally (5th or 6th time) Revealed

in #mene4 years ago

25D19875-6B3D-4173-B008-6AB584E05DE1.jpeg

Every so often @splinterlands players ask me why I have such a weird collection of cards, why do I buy the cards that I do, and what is my overall strategy.

Recently active splinterlands player @bafi asked just this question, and since its Friday night and I have a few energy drinks in me, I’m happy to oblige!

4B0560E0-D2E9-47B6-B53C-96DBF9ED8440.jpeg

I’ve been fully transparent with my strategy and written maybe a dozen articles on the topic. Here are links to a few: https://hive.blog/mene/@goldmatters/why-i-just-cornered-the-market-in-a-2nd-splinterlands-alpha-gold-foil-legendary-card

Before proceeding, I want to re iterate as I have in previous articles that I consider splinterlands to be the absolute highest level of speculation possible, having a double sky high risk as a crypto project and a start up.

This means that any money I put into the game I have already kissed goodbye and am fully prepared for the value to go to zero.

This wont be a popular opinion here, but I have the same perspective for any cryptocurrency investment. That does not mean however that I do not invest in crypto nor do I expect catastrophic failure... The truth is that I’ve probably been buying bitcoin longer than almost anyone reading this :)

Early adopters of the game were pitched the cards in a certain way with certain hopes and expectations that have framed most of our thinking. For the really old school players, they will know what I mean.

This is a high risk high reward venture and should be treated as such. It’s kind of like playing this guy:

B9D78DA6-00C5-498B-AA00-8BE53C89C67C.jpeg

So.

The strategy.

First.. I do not care whatsoever about BCX. I am solely focused on the number of units available in a card and the number of units that will ever be. In other words, known scarcity.

For example, I don’t own a single regular foil or untamed card, because (as a speculative investment) there are way too many.

Also for example, I would not purchase a card with a low number of total units that still had a large number of unopened packs in its set series.

Example:

12ADB12E-FF7E-4161-90A9-2FCC537ADCD2.jpeg

^not going to buy

While cards like these may be fantastic for hardcore players, and maybe be absolutely key to gameplay success, as a speculative investor, they are not for me.

This brings me to the next aspect of my investing strategy for the game:

I do not care at all about a cards playability.

Since I am simply acquiring the scarcest cards in the game, I do not care how good a card is on the battlefield.

Example:

3A86CE4D-F99A-4364-B193-D98EA4AFA827.jpeg

Example 2:

39E25606-95DF-4EFB-BDA9-98818D7FCED3.jpeg

Cards like the alpha gold foil lightning dragon and the promo gold foil red dragon may not be the best cards on the battlefield, but they have a mostly known edition and total unit size and are extremely scarce.

Future dilution will be minimal with these cards.

Another factor I consider is my long term exit plan. Let me be clear than unlike some other whales right now, I have no plans to sell my collection anytime soon UNLESS SOME UNFORESEEN situation happens.

I want be able to sell my collection as easily as possible and have a very simple sellable deck. Thats why you see these odd numbers:

C6A60401-A2FA-4BA9-839E-F19362A95414.jpeg

I want to be able to explain my deck in 30 seconds and be able to sell the whole thing at once to some future collector who wants to jumpstart themselves into the space.

This brings me to the final part of this piece of my strategy.

Some day, if I decide to sell my deck not as a whole but in pieces, I want to sell CORNERS and not just cards.

I want to sell someone 40% of the alpha gold foil chromatic dragons so they have a corner on that market, or 25% of the gfl frost giants.

These would be meaningful positions that a whale could own and have a real stake in the game very quickly.

Cornering markets is a very effective way to drive the price up of individual cards as the corner gains more and more price control as less and less other people are able to undercut you.

A3EF5FE6-7208-48C3-8A0C-A8D8F8E1CDD9.jpeg

For the record, so far this strategy has worked very, very well :)

So why in the world would I reveal my strategy you ask? Won’t other people now do this and drive the price of the remaining cards up that I DON’T own ?

I sure hope so!

In fact, I think other people are starting to catch on and doing a little cornering of scarce almost fully printed cards and it is helping drive up the price of the cards I and others own.

I’m perfectly happy to add to my collection when there is a good deal, but I’m also fine not making any more large purchases if the card prices starting running as they have.

In fact, while this is definitely not investing advice, I would be happy to see other people employ my same strategy and some have already done something kind of similar ala @mattclarke and the famous flesh golems.

Theres a bit more to my strategy and perhaps I will go deeper another time, but these are my current thoughts on a friday night with my energy drink wearing off.

If you enjoyed this article please consider signing up and earning $5 in Mene Jewelry credit here: ‪ http://mene.com/invite/JrT26p

It takes about 30 seconds to sign up and you would be doing myself and perhaps yourself a big favor.

0DDC8F14-3A0C-4A32-83D4-7E4AEBE713B5.jpeg

Mene is 24 karat gold and platinum jewelry sold by gram weight and looks like this:

<filmed by me and edited by @goldfashioned (contrary to popular belief we aren’t the same person!)

Thanks for reading and I will see you all in the area, on the marketplace, or in discord :)

GM

Thanks as always to @yabapmatt and @aggroed for this wondering opportunity!

Earn $5 in Mene credit for signing up for Mene with this invite link:

http://mene.com/invite/JrT26p

Join the Mene Maniac Community! https://hive.blog/trending/hive-111580

Or just scan this with your phone camera:

FAAA01A0-D922-436A-B68E-9CE62128C558.jpeg

C247AB9A-23F7-4B35-9268-969E22176274.jpeg

79CAAC64-1E6B-4479-83EE-A878C15E177F.jpeg

Investor Presentation: https://mene.com/investors/docs/Investor_Presentation.pdf

Check out my instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/p/BxcsiABhzzv/?igshid=ozavtepl1r2f

To sign up for a Goldmoney Holding start here:

https://goldmoney.com/w/goldmatters‬ ‪#gold‬ ‪#silver‬ ‪#platinum‬ ‪#palladium‬

Sign up for Splinterlands: https://steemmonsters.com/?ref=goldmatters

Investor Relations Presents:

Menē crafts 24 karat gold and platinum investment jewelry™ that is transparently sold by gram weight. By combining innovative technology with timeless design, Menē restores the ancient tradition of jewelry as a store of enduring value.

I am on a personal mission to spread the word about Goldmoney and Menē through any means necessary. Goldmoney\Mene allows individuals to empower themselves by protecting their savings by owning small or large amounts gold previously inaccessible to regular people like you and me.

The above references an opinion and is for information purposes only. It is not intended to be investment advice. Seek a duly licensed professional for investment advice.

See Steemians unbox Mene:

Sort:  

Hey @goldmatters! Thanks for the mention and explaining the strategy, is the same strat I'm doing with real Magic the Gathering cards, buying those reserved cards for cheap whenever they pop up.

That’s awesome! Thanks for motivating me to write this article and good luck with your cards :)

I'm a whisker away from 1/3 of the total supply. 17K of 51K. This recent dumping has been great; but I'm torn between stacking fleshies; and adding to my pile of DEC for the land expansion. If I understand correctly, land will allow monsters to be assigned to blocks of land for crafting purposes.
If that's the case, I'll need lots of land for all these idle hands.

I like the way you think Matt Clarke !

Great strategy for a card collector, especially when you have a big amount of money to buy those cards... I wonder where is your gold foil archmage arius which is the rarest of them all haha..

There's only one for sale in the market, for 9k usd..

20200704_153227.jpg

Indeed. If splinterlands has a black lotus card, it will be this one

Thanks! The gold AA is also part of this strategy:) He is currently in an undisclosed secure location

:reply:
True eyeopening. Although I am not investing here, but I do apply same bits of strategy without knowing this big picture. Nicely put all the pieces together to me.

:thanks:
Thanks for this wonderful post! And good luck.

Cheers!

Thank for reading!

Thanks

Thanks for reading!