Paper Currency: In What Do We Trust?

in #money7 years ago

I was at an antique store the other day and found these two gems. If you zoom in, you’ll see that the gold certificate dollar is from the 1928 series, and the New York Federal Reserve note is from 1929. They are both collector pieces because neither one is useful anymore.

Yesterday, I wrote in my blog that I am interested in things that last. The picture of these two currencies that have not lasted a century, much less beyond 50 years, is a reminder to be mindful of things that endure. I do not want my grandkids to inherit junk to sell at a yard sale – I want them to receive value they can build upon.

Sharing Cryptoassets and Monetary History

More and more of my friends are starting to ask me about digital currencies, and what I spend my time investing in. The first thing I do is show them the picture of the two currencies from the 1920’s, and place the two items (a dollar, and a $100 napkin) pictured above on a table. I ask them a simple question. What is the common denominator between these 3 items?

When the light bulb starts to flicker in their eyes, I know we are in for a good conversation.

1

It is no secret that things are bad in this world. There has been a parasitic effort against our economic energy for a long time now- that is beginning to change. Education is the key to changing the destructive patterns we pass on from one generation to the next. It can be as simple as a few pieces of paper on a table. It can be as influential as a father sitting with his child and reading about courageous heroes.

There is hope in this world. That change does not happen overnight because anything of value takes work, time, and effort.

We remember great people for their sacrificial work that spans generations. That is time well invested – it is time spent building for the next generation. It can start now, and it can start with us.

Sort:  

I completely agree with you that there is hope for the future. Thanks to the Information Age, more people than ever are able to access information and form their own opinion on things.

It certainly does take time, just like most things. There has been a huge shift to people pondering digital currencies and it seems like it is only a matter of when, not if that they are adopted by the masses.

A matter of when, I like that. We'll keep working towards that adoption. ✊️

It's here already. We not using cash anymore.

And it is a beautiful thing.

That is all we can do!!

I am a big believer of crypto currencies :)
Hope that It will change the world for the better and free us being slaves of banks. Nice article thank you!

We'll shall enjoy the ride! Thank you for the encouragement.

You will be able to get a loan in crypto currencies from banks. So what is the difference? Spend what you can afford and you'll be fine. Don't need to be a slave.

Currently banks are creating money from nothing, if someone takes a loan. That will be not true in case of crypto currencies. So the question should be who does profit from money? If you have a fair amount of money in a bank try to move it away and check what left over...

I don't have any money in the bank, but banks and governments money is here to stay, like crypto. Banks will adapt and make a profit on both of them, not die. If we like it or not. That's was my point. I'm not a bank fan but we need them.

Great way to teach! I agree-crypto currencies (and precious metals) will hold and appreciate in value.

True money always wins. :)

This post pretty much summed up my thoughts into words. Keep up the great work!

That is nice compliment! Will do. 👍

yeah change does not happen overnight but yeah No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change the world.

Amen to that.

Haha I just laughed as I saw the USD and its ability to lose strenth due to crypto in the near future. A good post from you.
And thanks for your advise on how to be successful here on steemit which motivated me to write my latest blog post (i refrenced you there) , more success.

Competition is heating up. :)

You are always encouraging Charles. I'll be over to visit soon.

welcome and thanks for the great contents

FWIW I saw where in June, Mark Cuban called Bitcoin a bubble at 2900. Now he is backing a 20 mil crypto venture fund...two months and a 1000 later and now he is a believer lol.

Lol. It is amazing what a bull market will do for some folks.

a man's true wealth is the good he does in this world...

I like it. Is that a John Geddes original?

mm, no - Mohammed, I think

Fully agree, thanks for sharing your thoughts @lydon.sipe! Upvoted, followed, resteemed.

Thank you!

It is time to break the chains of slavery from the central banks. They have ruined the world. Nothing more than greed! Thank you for sharing.

Thank you for sharing Michael. You are always encouraging.

For how many centuries were we bartering using sticks with notches cut into them or a handful of beads?
Great post @lydon-sipe we don't want to leave our children a load of waste paper.
I like the analogy you used here. Brilliant my friend.
Upvoted and a tip! I still haven't figured tipu out yet? Buy I keep trying lol

For quite awhile, haha.
Thank you my friend. Indeed, we want to give them something of value.
Well, it keeps coming through on my end, lol. Thank you!

I waver between hope and discouragement...

Crypto is hopeful because it takes power out of the hands of bankers. However, the "powers that be" still, by and large, control the internet. If we lose the net, we lose crypto...

Some say that it's "too big" for them to pull the plug. Some days I wonder.

😄😇😄

@creatr

I still chuckle at John Kerry's comment that this thing called the internet is making it hard to govern. Then I wonder, could they shut that down? Still, Narnia awaits us as Aslan is on the move.

Governing is highly overrated. Needs to be abandoned. ;)

And I'm more than looking forward to going "further up and further in." :D

Amen. :D

there is a revolution comming and you know to what i am refering :)

So it begins. :)

That's an expensive napkin for the moment. It won't always be, however. People will be using cash as toilet paper and heating fuel.

Sounds like Weimar, Germany. :)

meep

This post received a 3.6% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @lydon.sipe! For more information, click here!

Great informative Post
thank you for sharing
upvote

This post has received a 3.77 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @lydon.sipe.

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment